We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange place and Food Posioning ”
Review of Rainforest

Rainforest
Ranked #16 of 315 Restaurants in Mandalay
Price range: $0 - $3
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday night and there was nobody in the place and we today have realised why. There was two of us and we had different dishes, even though the food was passable at the time, thorough the night we have both had bad upset stomachs. A case of food poisoning. We won't be going back.

As well as that, the place has no ambience and there's something very strange about it. Not a pleasant experience whatsoever. Avoid!!!!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank COLLINUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 454 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2019 via mobile

Tasty food, nice venue, friendly staff,but we both got a pretty bad food poisoning. We passed by the kitchen which looked clean, so we maybe just were unlucky. I suspect de papaya salad.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Anne-cha7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

We went suggested by good ratings.
Food very avarage. Way too salty and way too mild as for Thai. Portions tiny comparing with other places.
Service nowhere near Myanmar standards , ended up clearing dishes myself from the table and taking them back to the kitchen.
Avoid fish at all cost - something resembling chicken nuggets at its worst.
Only plus really is the place its decor and pleasant terrace.
All in all - go somwhere else.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Euthanasiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019 via mobile

Nice decor and nice ambiance. However, service was woefully slow and portions of chicken larb and chicken with garlic were tiny and totally devoid of chilli. Beer only available by 330ml glass (at 2000 kyat a time). If you're into knitting your own yoghurt, drinking fruit shakes and eating only fried rice then maybe this will please. If you enjoy authentic Thai food, find somewhere else

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank NED541287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

Food ok, service ok, price ok. Not a high recommendations but for a single traveller you feel comfortable.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 941jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest also viewed

Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Rainforest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing