We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and pleasant atmosphere”
Review of Rainforest

Rainforest
Ranked #7 of 201 Restaurants in Mandalay
Price range: $0 - $3
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Nice food and pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We landed here by chance and were very pleased with the outcome. We had a table on their nice terrace on the top floor and enjoyed the authentic thai food and chilled beer. The prices are quite reasonable and the quality is high.
The owner is married to a thai lady and is an antique dealer so the front of the place is full of interesting artefacts. For us it was the nicest dinner in Mandalay.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    159
    37
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food! Cute interior.”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We decided not to have Myanmar food for dinner at the Lonely Planet recommended Too Too across the street, because the food had been sitting out there all day. We should have gone there for lunch instead when it's fresh. Rainforest was a lifesaver! Not only was the interior adorable (with lots of wood antiques), the place also rents motorbikes, and our prawn pumpkin curry, pad thai, and fried okra was DELICIOUS!!! Also, you must have the fresh squeezed juices. The owners are also very friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sdchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Good, but not amazing”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

On a side street directly opposite Marie Min (and seemingly owned by the same people), we had a very pleasant, if not overwhelming meal at this restaurant. Unfortunately the upstairs was full, so we had a less scenic downstairs inside table.

The food was very pleasant, but it did arrive rather spaced out for different people. There was not much kick to the curries. The banana fritters were a nice end to the meal.

The staff were very friendly, and afterwards arranged for taxis to take us back to our hotel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fartoomanyusers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canggu, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Food...(Its amazing)”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

As we walked and investigated our own way around Mandalay, we found a very nice looking restaurant. We decided to try it and it turn out to be the best Thai Food we ever had.We loved the antique decoration around it and the atmosphere.The service was very good but we specially loved the juices and soups.They were really nice and honest to their guests.We were amazed and was very interesting to see.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank berawA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Thai Place... Try It!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We visited this place during our stay in Mandalay more than one time. Food was always delicious, especially the Tom Yam Gung and the Haw Mok. We've also enjoyed the Banana Fritters for dessert very much and the fruit juices. The service is good, they really take care of their guests. Similar to the nearby Marie Min restaurant also here you can drink cool drinks without being worried. Also cold dishes like papaya salad are no problem, we've had them more than once. Very cool is also the fact that the antiques shop in the same building has some items displayed in the restaurant... lastly: One table had a glass surface under which there were a lot of old images. Very interesting to look at them! Really good place, this is a full recommendation!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lavitaebella_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest also viewed

Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Rainforest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing