We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Royal City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal City Hotel
Ranked #23 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is a bit dated but it's clean, comfortable and in a good location. We stayed at this hotel on two occasions and both rooms were fine. They're not huge rooms but they were clean and the beds were comfy and the hot water good.
The roof terrace is a nice place to enjoy a beer as the sunsets. We also enjoyed breakfast where you could have western style food or order a local dish the evening before. There are also restaurants close by.
The staff were excellent with great knowledge of the area, the trains, buses and share taxis.
Like all of Myanmar there were blackouts but the hotel had generators so it was never a problem. The wifi was good in the foyer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    87
    42
    8
    1
See reviews for
9
64
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Royal City is located near the downtown area and is fairly close to the palace grounds as well (but far from the entrance to the palace grounds). We walked to most places in the downtown area where there are some popular food options (Mann restaurant and the Chapati Food stall).

Our room was large and clean (but a little run down). The room comes with an AC and the bathroom had hot running water. Breakfast is served on the roof where there is a great view of urban Mandalay.

The staff is friendly and can help arrange taxi's and book tickets. We were pleasantly surprised when they gave us a packed breakfast when we left early in the morning to catch our flights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dblR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
99 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Be careful. Not sure, but I think they may have bed bugs here. I got about 50 bites all over my body with the classic "bites in a row" that bed bugs give (I only experienced this 1 time before and that time I actually woke up and saw them all over my body). IMO, better hotels for comparable prices around the corner. Rooms look dated. There's a notice about maximum electricity usage per room which I have never seen before either (odd). Near the royal palace and market so those are pluses. Wifi only in restaurant downstairs and not in room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvtotravel2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

had a twin bed room with my friend and overall experience was good although slightly pricey for what its worth. location might not be the best because its practically near to nothing, except for a nice european style restaurant/pub round the corner called bbb which is 5mins walk away (ask the staff for walking directions) rooms are generally clean and spacious. no complains there. wifi only available in the lobby, so u might get wifi in your room if u stay at the 2nd storey. hostel provides descent breakfast of toast, egg, tea/coffee and bananas daily. staffs are generally helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: choose 2nd storey rooms to get wifi in your room because they are nearer to the router placed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lamnan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights, payed 15$ for room 501 with airc,which has a bathroom outside in the hallway. It was a shared bathroom, but room 501 was the only one which didnt have a private bathroom. So i had the bathroom for myself.

In terms of value for money this was the best for me in Myanmar. Breakfast was basic, staff very friendly. Room was clean.

Room Tip: If you're on a budget try to get room 501, shared bathroom, and you're the only one who uses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yens_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port macquarie
Level Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

acceptable mid to lower priced accommodation seems difficult to find in Mandalay. My room had been flooded somehow from a previous occupant or a plumbing accident. I was arriving late on the boat which was stuck in the river on a sandbank and I suspect they thought I was a no show and only put a sheet of vinyl over the wet carpet with windows open fans and aircon on to try and make it acceptable for me. usual wet bathroom and is an older building. ft if the power is on.. not sure how you get out when the power in Mandalay seems to be lost multiple times a day. the hotel has a generator they kick on when the power doesn't come back on soon.usual brekky.. fried, scrambled or omelet, coffee , toast and fruit. good position close in town. same owners run royal guesthouse which confuses taxi drivers. room has fridge, aircon.. i think tv but i didnt try it lots of power points and wifi only in lobby.

Room Tip: book confirm and reconfirm to be sure to get a room.. ring them you are coming
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moriac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslindale, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at RCH for one night prior to an early boat ride to Bagan. The hotel itself is a good price, and though the rooms are a bit drab they are overall comfortable and clean. The major standouts for us were the (hard to find in Myanmar) free Wifi in the lobby and lovely sunrise/sunset views from the rooftop lounge/breakfast area.

The hotel is near an excellent vegetarian restaurant and the Mandalay Marionettes--though bring a light if you are walking around the streets at night! The neighborhood outside the immediate vicinity is a bit dark.

We left too early in the morning to have breakfast, but the hotel did pack a decent breakfast to-go for us to enjoy on our boat trip. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_and_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.4 mi away
Tiger One Hotel
Tiger One Hotel
#17 of 110 in Mandalay
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#20 of 110 in Mandalay
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
79 Living Hotel
79 Living Hotel
#36 of 110 in Mandalay
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Emperor
The Hotel Emperor
#18 of 110 in Mandalay
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaung Myint Hotel
Kaung Myint Hotel
#15 of 110 in Mandalay
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace View Hotel Mandalay
Palace View Hotel Mandalay
#27 of 110 in Mandalay
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal City Hotel

Property: Royal City Hotel
Address: 130 27th Street | Between 76th & 77th Street, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, JovagoAsia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal City Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing