We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in Mandalay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Mandalay, Myanmar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable stay in Mandalay”
Reviewed May 8, 2010

If you want 24-hour AC, great food, and a comfortable, “no surprises” room, Sedona Hotel is your ticket. As a regular business traveler, I choose Sedona Mandalay’s reliability, central location, good food, and staff responsiveness over couture ambiance. The breakfast buffet is filled with smoked meats, cheeses, fresh fruits and salads, an omelet station, daily Asian soup, 4-6 entrees and an array of delicious home baked breads and pastries and was well stocked, even when I arrived at 10am. The wait staff is always very friendly and attentive to my frequent coffee and tea requests.

Front desk staff was helpful in resolving my international phone issues and directing me to a shockingly good local hair salon ($6usd). Housekeeping responded immediately when I requested an extra pillow (love the fluffy down pillows) and vacuuming. Sadly, the gym is extremely small, exceptionally over used, and the changing rooms flooded by excessive showering. Avoid stays during school holidays as the pool fills with 60-80 kids, nannies and swim instructors. By western standards, the Internet is a meditative experience but ‘just about workable’. The computer staff was very responsive and helpful in resolving laptop connectivity and speed problems when possible. The generator back up system could be more powerful but it is better than other Mandalay hotels I have used.

Take an evening swim in the beautiful pool, have your cocktail in your room, and head down to dinner. With no happy hour menu or comfortable seating, the bar falls short of the usually welcoming and enjoyable Asian hotel bar and the pool bar seems to be permanently closed. The 250%+ wine mark-up is far higher than acceptable western standards and shocking compared to higher end Myanmar restaurants that mark-up 20-80% over locally retailed, imported wines. Usually, I prefer dinner at restaurants outside of hotels but to my surprise, Sedona’s ravioli, Beef Carpaccio, and Pork Scaloppini with ham and mushrooms are each superb! The roasted Pig’s knuckle and sauerkraut was melt-in-your-mouth divine (and I’m not a German food fan).The food is enjoyable tasty and very good at the Sedona Hotel Mandalay.The Chef is taking care of any Guest request or special requests.

Sedona is not the idyllic boutique hotel from which you never wish to step outside, but if you are on business or the classic three-day sightseeing schedule, Sedona is the ideal Mandalay location for good service, great food and a comfortable night’s sleep.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lissilloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    335
    131
    32
    21
See reviews for
59
302
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colares, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

The Sedona Hotel is very well located close the wall of the Royal Palace but has nothing special positive or negative to remember. Modern but not new, big. Seems a business hotel in a western country and you can change from here to another and you don't notice the difference.
The breakfast is good but the dinner buffet is poor.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We didn't actually stay at Sedona, but went to their spa for the day. Don't bother - the staff were rude and our 1hr massage was on a bed in one of the hotel room and only went for 1/2 an hour! I'm glad we didn't stay there, as you can get much better deals with smaller hotels. We stayed at Silvery Swan for $28 a night and it was excellent.

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DarwinAvidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Our room (on the front side of the hotel) had a great view. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is near most sights. The staff is very courteous and helpful. Communication with hotel employees was a slight problem since not many had even a basic knowledge of English. They, however, tried their best to satisfy our needs. The Spa is below par.

  • Liked — The view.
  • Disliked — The Spa.
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kap4kash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

We loved this hotel as soon as we walked in and were greeted with by attentive staff in the gleaming lobby. We were promptly show to our comfortable room with a fantastic view of Mandalay Hill and Mandalay Fort. The room was a little bit larger than average with clean floor-to-floor carpeting and confortable decor. An extra roll-a-way bed easily fitted next to our Queen size bed without cluttering up the room. There was a comfortable couch in front of the window where I watched the view. TV had CNN.
We ate at the lobby cafeteria, which was very European with coffee and pastries. My kids even ordered a pizza, which was the only good pizza they found in Myanmar.
The hotel also had a restaurant, which in the morning served a nice buffet breakfast. Some of the dishes were burmese and it was interesting to try them.
The hotel is convenient for sightseeing the temples and the fort and the Mandalay marionette theatre is just around the corner. It is not in the downtown area of Mandalay so there is no shopping nearby. You can easily get a taxi or a tuk-tuk to go sightseeing or rent a bike.
The hotel has a nice pool and attentive pool staff. The pool water was like a bath during the daytime and not very refreshing, but fun.
In the evening there was a free Myanmar cultural show at 7 p.m. in the lobby. It featured a boring half and hour musical song in the beginning and then marionettes.
We used the business center to go on internet. E-mail was blocked, but you could go to Facebook.
The staff was suberbly helpful and attentive to us. In fact, my child said "the problem with this hotel is too much service". A waiter or two stood by our table while we were eating, which was unconfortable at times, but very efficient service. Overall we were very satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank givemesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

- this hotel, located at one corner of the wall and a few minutes from downtown, is a modern and western-type hotel. Reading other reviews, we agree that the Sedona could be anywhere in the world, given the interior, room size and amenities. We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, its location and the very pleasant and helpful staff. It is true that it would have been nice had the hotel had more local colour and character. But it certainly met our needs for our visit to Mandalay. We have no complaints at all. Myanmar’s infrastructure is very poor and at times non-existant. In looking at other hotels in town, we were grateful for being in the Sedona, with its great pool and reliable air-conditioning, as it was 35 degrees during our visit. We probably could have stayed at a location with more local flavour, but it is doubtful that the air-conditioning and electrical supply would have been as reliable or even functioning. Large parts of Mandalay have no power for much of the day or night and generators are necessary to supplement the grid. The Sedona was five stars in this area.
- The breakfast was quite varied, although the buffet food could have been hotter (very common in hotels in Asia for some reason). But the selection of western and Asian food was quite good. The hotel is within walking distance of two very good restaurants serving Myanmar food.
- Our room was on the second floor with a view of Mandalay hill. We probably should have been higher up to reduce some of the outside noise. But after 10 or so, it was quiet outside. Check to see if the disco is operating – it can pound out the drums when open.
- Otherwise the Sedona is an excellent choice for Mandalay. The rooms are very clean, large and well maintained. The pool is beautiful and welcome in the heat. Breakfast is very good. It does not have a Myanmar flavour, but what the hotel provides far outweighs this oversight.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
0.7 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 110 in Mandalay
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
905 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 110 in Mandalay
398 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#10 of 110 in Mandalay
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Mandalay

Property: Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Address: 1 Junction of 26th and 66th Street | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#6 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedona Hotel Mandalay 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, Sedona Hotel Mandalay is strategically located in the heart of the city and faces the majestic Royal Palace and Mandalay Hill - sights that are a pleasure to behold. As one of the best hotels in Myanmar, we offer guests spacious suites and rooms and also a range of meeting, dining and recreational facilities to ensure an enjoyable stay. At Sedona Hotel in Mandalay, we enrich your tour of Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, JovagoAsia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sedona Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Sedona Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing