We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Azeitao, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Very good hotel facing Mandalay Hill and the Royal Palace. The rooms are great and newly furnished. The breakfast is excellent with a lot of options.
The swimming pool is very nice. We had a fabulous burger for lunch there.
We refused to sign a blank visa for deposit so they asked us 100 USD which they returned during check-out.
There are several good restaurants walking distance (ex: Unique Myanmar Restaurant).

Room Tip: 5th floor, facing Mandalay Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xanoca63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    329
    130
    29
    20
See reviews for
58
298
38
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Location really good, service excellent. If you like a small boutique hotel then this is probably not for you. Breakfast probably one of the best we experienced in Burma. Confirm that we refused to sign the blank credit cardslip as in dollars, if you reuse to do so we did nit have a problem. Lots of good restaurants in the surrounding areas to be explored by on foot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel's location has to be the best in Mandalay - provided you are on one of the rooms looking out over the moat and palace walls and towards Mandalay hill with the Shan Hills in the distance.

We had booked a room on "club floor" and specified the view we wanted - thanks to Lonely Planet review. The view is just stunning.

However, getting the room we had specified was a bit of a challenge because on arrival we were first offered a room looking over the swimming pool. It was only after reading them the terms from our reservation that they gave us the room we had asked for and already prepaid.

The Club floor breakfast room food and service were good whilst the swimming pool is quite superb.

We were pleased with our choice

Room Tip: Get a room on 4th or 5th floor with a view over moat, palace walls and towards the Mandalay Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

this hotel is practical hotel - comfortable and clean and not more then that.
the food buffet was very good though.
the location is very good.
service was very good as well.
since this is the best hotel in the city you better use it

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AM3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

From check in to bar service to restaurant service this hotel is lacking in service awareness. One gets the impression that there is little to no training of the staff in how to provide proper service.
At check in they asked for use to sign a blank credit card slip which I refused to do since we had already prepaid for our room and have never been asked to do this anywhere in the world--after some back and forth we determined that this was a hold for possible miscellaneous charges and for $100 dollars only so we gave in while writing hold only on the credit slip. This took a long time which was not appreciated since we had arrived late in the evening. We had requested Palace view rooms but were told the rooms available only had queen size beds and they offered a suite instead with a king size bed. The suite was spacious but with only a view of the pool which was not worth the trade off of the Palace view. People were allowed to play ping pong very early in the morning at the side of the pool which was very disturbing because they shouted constantly as they played.
Service at the bar was a comedy. There were at least three people at any one time working in the bar but only one person able to make or even pour drinks. If they would allow the other staff to get simple drinks like beer and wine it would speed up service measurably but instead we noticed on several occasions that two servers just watched the bar tender make drinks while they did nothing. We had a similar experience in the restaurant where the manager seemed to be working very hard to get the meals out on time but again there did not appear to be others who were trained properly so that there could be more qualified help. This resulted in long waits for food to arrive. Breakfast was buffet style so it went much smoother but it was still hard to get coffee cups filled at times. Overall I was left with the impression that this could be a much better hotel with improved training of all the staff.

Room Tip: Book and get a confirmation for a room with a Palace view with a large bed. From other reviews I hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTampaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
627 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Some of the public areas in this hotel are a bit worn with frayed and soiled carpet, but the breakfast was the best we had while we were in Myanmar. Great fruit, lots of choices, a friendly and helpful manager - all positive comments about the restaurant where guests can choose to dine outside. The rooms were not up to par, however. They were quite large, one part a living area and the other the bedroom, but they smelled musty and smoky and needed updating. Our party had three rooms - the other two couples' rooms were ok but ours was dingy with the smell of smoke and really dirty, soiled carpet. We asked to be moved and the staff were quite gracious about it, so we went to a smaller but brighter and updated room - we were much happier with the second choice despite it being half the size without the living area. It overlooked a glorious pool. We told the other four of our party how much better the smaller room was, but they chose to remain in the larger suite rooms. Of the four hotels we stayed in while in Myanmar, this was our least favorite as far as hotel only, but it was the best as far as breakfast...so visitors to Mandalay have to make a choice about what they value most.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank teachers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
217 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel is modern with a very large lobby, with a bar off to the side and two interrelated restaurants on the other side. There is a very large and attractive pool in the back. There is also a small fitness facility, barely adequate . The location across from the palace grounds is pleasant but we were disappointed that our suite only overlooked the pool.
Our suite was very nice though it could have been anywhere in the world. Good air conditioner and good bathroom with bath and shower. The room had an odd layout though, for two of us to get clothes out of the closet and to place our two bags. Internet was really bad in the rooms. Although we had access to the executive lounge it was really not worth it at all, just quieter for breakfast but not open many hours! The bar was a pleasant place to have a glass of wine and the restaurant was pleasant enough though nothing really special.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago60604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
0.7 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#12 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Mandalay

Property: Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Address: 1 Junction of 26th and 66th Street | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#4 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedona Hotel Mandalay 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, Sedona Hotel Mandalay is strategically located in the heart of the city and faces the majestic Royal Palace and Mandalay Hill - sights that are a pleasure to behold. As one of the best hotels in Myanmar, we offer guests spacious suites and rooms and also a range of meeting, dining and recreational facilities to ensure an enjoyable stay. At Sedona Hotel in Mandalay, we enrich your tour of Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sedona Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Sedona Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing