We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are comfortable, but watch the restaurant prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel is very comfortable, and I had a room on the 5th floor, looking over the palace, which was lovely. The staff are very helpful, and everything was kept spotlessly clean. All in all a very comfortable base for a few days in Mandalay, albeit one with a rather variable wifi connection (which was better in the lobby than the room). The restaurant, though, is very expensive - so we avoided eating there, which was easily done, as there are various restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
There are newer reviews for Sedona Hotel Mandalay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 686 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

this hotel was a pleasant surprise for our group in a three city tour of Myanmar. Definitely the best hotel in our entire trip. We were told that it has a four star rating. I have found some five star hotels to be worse off. First and foremost ... the hotel staff can speak reasonable English and nobody was getting lost in translation. the hotel is clean and the food is good. the breakfasts were international standard with sufficient variety. the hotel has a pastry/bake shop which was very satisfactory. a large swimming pool which seemed to be quite popular with the guests. the rooms were satisfactory though they did not have anything special to write home about. Many rooms had a view of the palace. my room had a spacious balcony overlooking the balcony. the turn down service was welcome, especially the fruits and the chocolates and pastries. bathroom was basic and clean though the hot water was not very consistent. location of the hotel is very good. i would rate this hotel as excellent-considering the fact that this is Myanmar and having experienced staying in other hotels during the trip. the laundry service was also very satisfactory as they got my shirt done and ready in about an hour after I checked in. overall...excellent by Myanmar standards.

Room Tip: get one of the corner rooms ... which have spacious balconies ... its a good sit out and overlooks t...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbuMetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent hotel with stunning pool. Too expensive to eat there, but it did stock tonic water (not readily available in other Myanmar hotels) so a G&T was in order - cost $3 just for the tonic!!! Some excellent restaurants just a walk round the corner, such as Green Elephant and Unique Myanmar. Excellent concierge, headed by very knowledgeable Mr Tony who helped organise an excellent English-speaking guide for us, Mr Moon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, overlooking the moat around the palace, with Mandalay Hill in the dista...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The lobby and entrance was impressive and location ...opposite the Mandalay palace is great but the rooms were a disappointment . Definitely need to refurbish furniture and linen . Breakfast too was ordinary .

Room Tip: Rooms facing the palace
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The room was good and the service was too. Our problem centered around money. They only accept US dollars or credit cards, if the lines are working. A US&100 deposit is required at check-in. On our first day we ate lunch, had drinks in the bar, and had dinner complete with a bottle of French wine. Our $178 Bill was charged to our room. The next day we received a letter formally demanding that we settle our bill immediately. After paying, I informed the manager that I felt insulted by the lack of trust in their clients. This is the first time in fifteen years of international travel that the bill has not been settled at checkout.

I will be suggesting to our travel agent that she avoid placing clients here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneAddictedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The setting and public rooms are lovely. The bar and dining room were excellent, with good breakfast and excellent service. The problem was the lack of hot water. OK, their boiler had blown up and we could see they were working on it but still, a hot shower is an absolute basic necessity and the problem went on for three days of tepid water.Tried to have a drink outside but was quickly chased back in by mosquitoes. Had to ask for extra blankets for a chilly night. Location good with attractive moat and walking path across the road.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R00catt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We booked two hotels for our stay in Mandalay, Sedona and the Mandalay Hill Resort, and this turned out to be the better one for us.

We arrived in the morning and the staff were quick to welcome us with warm smiles and efficient in handling of everything. The receptionist spoke probably the best English among all the hotel staff we met on the trip, while the gentleman from concierge went beyond what's required to help us plan our trip to Pyin Oo Lwin and our sightseeing in the city.

Breakfast was fairly good and probably the closest attempt to international standard we got in Myanmar.That's the thing I like about this hotel: we had stayed at various hotels across Myanmar and were at the last leg of our trip, this hotel actually felt modern and well-run despite its average rooms. In other words, this place most likely would not stand out anywhere else, but this being Myanmar, the sheer fact that it's run like a proper hotel did give us comfort.

Room was average, and I'm sure many would find the room overpriced if unfamiliar with Myanmar hotels' price level. It was spacious and adequate, but no charm or character. Bathroom was clean, but, like many have pointed out, hot water was sometimes only lukewarm. We liked how they prepared fruit basket for every night of our stay (we had the regular basic room).

Location was great, as there were many good restaurants within walking distance. We stayed at the Mandalay Hill when we returned from Pyin Oo Lwin and all restaurants were a taxi ride from there, which will set you back US$12 roundtrip. The hotel was right in front of the palace, and getting around would be no problem.

I would definitely consider this place again if I go to Mandalay--it's clean, modern, and centrally located.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schwarzerstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
0.7 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 110 in Mandalay
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
925 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#9 of 110 in Mandalay
612 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#17 of 110 in Mandalay
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Mandalay

Address: 1 Junction of 26th and 66th Street | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#6 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range: $167 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedona Hotel Mandalay 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, Sedona Hotel Mandalay is strategically located in the heart of the city and faces the majestic Royal Palace and Mandalay Hill - sights that are a pleasure to behold. As one of the best hotels in Myanmar, we offer guests spacious suites and rooms and also a range of meeting, dining and recreational facilities to ensure an enjoyable stay. At Sedona Hotel in Mandalay, we enrich your tour of Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sedona Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Sedona Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing