We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's had it's Day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,351 helpful votes
“It's had it's Day”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Fourth visit to the Sedona Hotel and the standard has gone down fast! The service quite arrogant and at the pool, non existant. For three days we had no hot water at all and no appology offered!
There are better hotels in Mandelay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenttraveler031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Frequenttraveler031

We are sorry for the unsatisfactory stay you had with us.

Our team constantly provides quality and attentive service to our guests, and we are disappointed that you did not experience this. We will look into improving ourselves to prevent such incidents from happening again.

Please feel free to contact me at sedona@kepland.com.sg

We really hope you will give us another chance the next time you visit Mandalay.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    334
    131
    32
    20
See reviews for
59
301
38
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were in Mandalay for 2 nights. There are only 2 International Standard Hotels recommended in Mandalay. We selected Sedona due to convenience. We can easily walk around in the city and along the moat of Mandalay Palace. Staff were good. Rooms were good. Breakfast was good. Dinner was so so and could be a lot better. Beware of mosquitoes in the elevator and lobby. Again, I just wish they could improve on quality of linens.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maymyatmonwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Maymyatmonwin

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your encouraging feedback on TripAdvisor.

We will look into revamping our dinner menu and linens, as well as more ways to improve the comfort of our guests when the mosquito season is here.

Hope to welcome you very soon again!

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a very large hotel catering to special events at times; our stay coincided with an incredible wedding reception for a local bride and her obviously well-off American groom. All guests received dessert treats delivered to their rooms courtesy of the groom’s parents and, I think, to compensate for the noise of the party in the garden area. However, our room was on the street side of the hotel so we heard nothing; we did have a fabulous view of the old palace wall and Mandalay Hill.

Our large room, #550, had a king bed, a loveseat, and desk. The television’s only English language station appeared to be an Indian version of CNN. We had a nice bathroom with thick towels.

Off the lobby was a gift store with a few pharmacy items and a nice coffee/pastry shop. Breakfast was served in the large café off the lobby. Service was supposed to begin at 5 am but they really weren’t ready at all; my guess this was due to all the work for the wedding reception the night before however. The staff looked very tired. There was a large selection of warm pastries and eggs were available cooked to order.

The staff was very nice but only a few spoke much English.

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor facing Mandalay Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear comcox

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor.

As English is not a first language for many on our team, we attend courses to improve communication skills.

We hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Mandalay.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

we stayed at this hotel with our travel group. it is considered a luxury hotel, but probably 4/5 stars on a western scale. the staff were warm and accommodating. the free breakfast was awesome and worth at least $20 anywhere else. We paid $150/ night which seems much cheaper than the prices listed online. We paid in crisp american bills and had no issues. We didnt have a view of the palace but others did. The bed and bathroom was big and comfortable. I would recommend it to others looking for a western style hotel in mandalay.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwexelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear bwexelman

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

We are happy you had a satisfactory stay and hope to welcome you again when you next visit Mandalay.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel was the best we saw in Myanmar. The view from our room (406) was right down the moat surounding the Royal Palace. There was a balcony where we had coffee and watched the sun rise over the surrounding hills.
Breakfast was lavish affair including Asian and Western options. Lots of fruit, juice and pastries. Coffee strong and good.
Walk out the front door and take a stroll anround the Palace or use the exercisee machinea that are put on thye sidewalks for public use.
Great hotel property.

Room Tip: Ask for Palace view on upper floor. 406 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cechef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Cechef1

Thank you for your compliments!

We hope to see you very soon again, and may you have an equally (or even better!) satisfactory stay with us next time.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a standard big chain on western prices, in impossing location and the best pool in a three week trip around the country.
Tip: If you need to get extra cash out take an advance charge on your VISA on the mini bar when you check in and spend a limited amount of it. They will give you the difference back in dollars which is helpful in a country with few ATMs.

Tip: Very nice vegetarian restaurants at walking distance.

Tip: If you want a taxi for the day pick it up in the street rather than rely on the hotel (40$ versus 80$)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrusselsBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear BrusselsBubble

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We hope you will visit our lovely city again and explore more scenic areas!

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provence
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a big impersonnal hotel however it is in a good location opposite the old palace and with a good view of Mandaly Hotel.

The bar has a happy hour though it is not a very pleasant place to sit.

We found the staff helpful.

We did not use the hotel restauranr but went to The Taste of Mandalay just around the corner which was excellent value.

Room Tip: Get a high room facing out towards Mandalay Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boucheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear boucheboy

Thank you for writing us a review.

We are proud that our teams provide great customer service! When our refurbishment plans are completed, we hope you will visit us again and have an even more enjoyable holiday.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
0.7 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
406 reviews
1.1 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 110 in Mandalay
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 110 in Mandalay
478 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
896 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 110 in Mandalay
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Mandalay

Property: Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Address: 1 Junction of 26th and 66th Street | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#5 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedona Hotel Mandalay 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, Sedona Hotel Mandalay is strategically located in the heart of the city and faces the majestic Royal Palace and Mandalay Hill - sights that are a pleasure to behold. As one of the best hotels in Myanmar, we offer guests spacious suites and rooms and also a range of meeting, dining and recreational facilities to ensure an enjoyable stay. At Sedona Hotel in Mandalay, we enrich your tour of Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sedona Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Sedona Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing