We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #9 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Melbourne,Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Recent Stay”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I recently spent two nights in this hotel and must say I was impressed. My room was super clean and the hotel had great facilities. The position in Mandalay is very good and I also found the staff extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank B_Travel_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear B_Travel_7

Thank you for writing us this reassuring review.

We are happy you had a satisfactory stay with us and hope to welcome you back very soon again!

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    332
    130
    29
    20
See reviews for
58
299
38
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed for only one night and it was a lovely visit.

Upon check-in the staff was friendly and efficient. English spoken was very good.

The lobby was open and staff were busy helping guests. Not standing around avoiding eye contact. The koi pond outside was nice and the giant fish were waiting for food. I guess many take food from the breakfast buffet.

Hotel is central and near to many of the sites.

Rooms were clean, large and great entertainment unit. Good water pressure and great toiletries. Wifi was a bit slow. Good exchange rate for the American dollar. The bigger the note the better the rate. Two free bottle of water in each room.

Wonderful breakfast buffet and excellent service.

I would go back!

Room Tip: Great happy hour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luciab23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear luciab23

My team and I thank you for writing us this very encouraging and positive review.

We hope to welcome you back soon, do stay for a longer time on your next trip! There are many great sites to explore in our lovely city.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savtyon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our one night stay at the hotel was pleasant. Our room overlooked the palace, moat and Mandaly Hill. No better feeling than to look out over the charming scene. The beds and bathroom were clean and had many amenities. The pool was delightful as was the spa. The gift shop was also well stocked and the service very professional. The dining room offered a wide choice of dishes - in the evening the hotel offered a puppet show. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phyllis1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Phyllis1940

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for writing this positive review and we hope you will stay for a longer time on your next visit to our beautiful city!

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights on my 3rd night touring Myanmar with Bales World Wide (Virgin)

Modern Hotel that fitted all my requiremnts. Bedrooms on the front of the building have superb views of the Moat, the Fort and the Mandalay Hill. Clean Hotel and spacious bedrooms and bathroom. Happy hour in the Bar each night. Short walk to a variety of resteraunts selling Euopean food and local dishes. Has it's own Bakery and coffeee shop and one cake I had was delicious. The 2nd floor of the Hotel is booked for the Chinese. Lovely gardens and tennis/basket Ball court. Swimming pool enormous but why were so many swimmers, swimming to the end of each lap and then spitting into the pool, when there were clear signs advising 'no spitting in the pool.' at either end of the pool. In my 12 day tour of Myanmar with World Wide Bales (Virgin) the freedom to smoke anywhere did not diminish my stay or enjoyment of my stay here. Perfect place for a 2 night base. One couple from my tour complained about the lack of hot water (there mistake as one of them had not run the hot water long enough) and they were presented with a bowl of fruit in their room. I had a rose on my bed, placed on top of the evaluation questionare, and earlier in the evening I was presented with shortbread biscuits at my door. A pleasant and relaxing stay in modern functional Hotel. Choice at breakfast was exceptionally good and this Hotel had no intrusive background music.

Room Tip: A view of the fort or toward the Mandalay Hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JCB1132b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear JCB1132b

Thank you very much for writing us this heart-warming review!

We hope to see you again at our hotel the next time you visit Mandalay.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Looks good, although a bit dark at the entrance. While entry formalies were being completed for our group of 6 people, had to wait around the bar area. That place was full of not only cigarette but also cigar fumes. Very friendly reception staff i must say. We have a very nice looking spacious deluxe room, however too much noise from the wedding ceremony downstairs at the pool, understood window really does not seal to the frame and there is no handle to secure closing. Same applies to the balcony door. Anyway ceremony ends early at 20.30 and the curtains are really thick, so no major problem. We receive a very nice slice of wedding cake with the compliments of the hotel manager, very thoughtful. Later on the same night when we returned from dinner, another visitor with too many legs was trying to finish up the cake!! Then we attempted to go to bed, a stain right under the pillow to my wife's side! The gentleman at the housekeeping was attentive and very polite. The exceptionally good breakfast next morning, i am afraid, is not enough to classify the hotel as a proper 5 star!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank osman k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear osman k

Thank you for your review.

As Planter’s Lounge is ‘’smoker-friendly’’, we usually welcome guests at the lobby’s seating area instead. When the latter is full, guests are presented with the option of Planter’s Lounge, and we emphasize that it is a smoking area.

To cover ad-hoc food items which are not part of our room service menu, we are planning to order various food covers for guests’ comfort and convenience.

We thank you for staying with Sedona Hotel Mandalay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a lovely suite overlooking the palace, army barracks, moat and Mandalay Hill. Everything in the room worked and was clean. We had asked for a no smoking room, but a lingering ashtray odour permeated the room and corridor... really not nice.
We opted for a hotel transfer from Mandalay airport, which was expensive at $50 but worth while for peace of mind. It is about 45mins from the airport to Mandalay and our plane came in quite late at around 6pm. The driver was knowledgeable and helpful, he even assisted us with a local transfer the next day. I'm not sure if a Toyota Crown is more up market than a Landrover but who cares it got us there!
Check in was slow with some language difficulties but eventually some one said all they wanted to know was if we intended to pay via credit card, we said cash and were on our way.
The pool is a good temperature for swimming, but the tiles have a slightly slimy feeling, take your insect spray for the mossies.
Room service dinner was hot and yummy, reasonable range of local and international dining available.
There is nothing special about this hotel, it is just another 4 star hotel - and you could be anywhere in the world - but it is a good stop, clean and welcoming.

Room Tip: Mandalay Hill view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chirpchirp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear chirpchirp

Thank you for writing us a TripAdvisor review.

We apologize for the smell of cigarette smoke left behind and will ensure that our Front Office & Reservations teams work closely to allocate the right room requests.

We also apologize for the slow check-in as our colleagues took a while to explain the deposit policy to guests.

We hope you will give our hotel another try the next time you visit Mandalay.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
266 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I am surprised by the person who thought this hotel "wierd." We, too, stayed on the fourth floor, in a very clean, quiet room with an excellent bed; a friend was lucky to get a view of Mandalay Hill from her room. There was a problem with water, but the hotel was undergoing a renovation at the time, so presumably that is fixed. The swimming pool is beautiful.
We thought the hotel breakfast was excellent - you name the cuisine, you could choose your breakfast at the buffet. The fruits were terrific; there were cereals, muffins, eggs (and eggs to order), soups, Asian salads, whatever. Coffee was good.
We also ate at the hotel's special Saturday Singapore buffet, which had an extensive assortment of dishes from various Asian cuisines. It was very, very good.
All staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the front, facing Mandalay Hill and the old palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisABeaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear ChrisABeaune

Thank you very much for staying with Sedona Hotel Mandalay, and writing us this encouraging review.

We are delighted to hear of your satisfactory stay, and will continue delivering our best service to all guests.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
0.7 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
399 reviews
1.1 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 110 in Mandalay
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 110 in Mandalay
469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
887 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 110 in Mandalay
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Mandalay

Property: Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Address: 1 Junction of 26th and 66th Street | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#4 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedona Hotel Mandalay 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, Sedona Hotel Mandalay is strategically located in the heart of the city and faces the majestic Royal Palace and Mandalay Hill - sights that are a pleasure to behold. As one of the best hotels in Myanmar, we offer guests spacious suites and rooms and also a range of meeting, dining and recreational facilities to ensure an enjoyable stay. At Sedona Hotel in Mandalay, we enrich your tour of Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sedona Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Sedona Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing