We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We were able to book at this hotel through Agoda while we were in Myanmar so it was a great way to save cash! The lobby, restaurant and pool areas were very nice. The room, although in need of updating was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with a good selection on offer, even Burmese Chai! The Sedona is a standard business hotel with no surprises.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
There are newer reviews for Sedona Hotel Mandalay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 686 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

Hotel lobby is very promising, but in the rooms have old furniture and in corridors and irooms impatient to mold odor (it is probably due to the fact that all the corridors and rooms have 100% covering with carpets and eventually carpet pulls together all the dirt etc.). We booked a non smoking room, but their terms this means that just aired the room prior to your arrival. However, the furniture still smells of tobacco :(
Pool was mainteined. So I could not swim in pool. Sun chairs was broken.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liisi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is a well run, well located, comfortable hotel with good amenities. The rooms are a bit plain in comparison with the attractiveness of the lobby and other common spaces, but if you get a north-facing room with a view of the palace walls, the moat and Mandalay Hill, you won't notice. There's a very nice pool on the other side, but it doesn't make for as interesting a view. Internet was reliable. If only they would take credit cards!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel in Mandalay. It was very comfortable and a nice place to come back to after long days of sightseeing. There are good restaurants within walking distance as well (Green Elephant and Little Bit of Mandalay).

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking toward the palace.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This was another aged business hotel. It was in need of some updating. It was in a decent location and it was they did have a decent breakfast. The staff was friendly enough, but the hotel was not very comfortable or homey.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berlydallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The hotel is situated at the southeast corner of the palace. In fact, you can see the east and south moats from in front of the hotel.

It is a typical business hotel with decent rooms (and bathrooms). Most of the rooms either face the swimming pool on the south side or the palace on the north side. The breakfast was very extensive and had the biggest variety of fruit (including pomelos and passionfruit), even better than the two higher end hotels that I stayed in Yangon during the trip. Breakfast starts at 5am so good for those who have to catch an early morning domestic flight. Granted the centre of town is southwest of the palace, so don't think about roaming around the town at night. However, for places to have dinner, A Little Bit of Mandalay and Green Elephant are both within 3 minutes by foot away. You just have to exit the hotel, turn right, and right again at the intersection and walk one block south, turn left. At the next intersection, you either continue ahead for Green Elephant, or turn right for A Little Bit of Mandalay. There is even an internet cafe on the way. If you have a laptop, there is free wifi at the hotel lobby. Connection is not fast (in Myanmar in general), but enough to send a quick email to home to let family know that you have arrived safely.

The swimming pool is relatively large and good for unwinding after a day of sightseeing. The water gets cool at sunset though.

Quite interesting that at least 30% of the space at the hotel has been let out to a couple of oil/gas companies as their offices and staff sleeping quarters, given that there are no real office buildings in the city.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zhaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

The hotel is well located by the reconstructed palace and we certainly enjoyed the sunset view along the lake.
The hotel itself is a largely characterless business hotel that delivers the essentials but nothing else particularly memorable. The room was a good size but a little dated and we had to call maintenance to sort out a broken toilet - which they didn't actually fix. The room was supposed to be non smoking but smelt like an old ashtray.
To compensate, the service in the hotel was generally excellent and the food was good, if not fantastic.
Our stay here overall was not bad, it just wasn't memorable like other hotels we've stayed at in Myanmar.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Club_Street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
0.7 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 110 in Mandalay
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
925 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#9 of 110 in Mandalay
612 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#17 of 110 in Mandalay
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Mandalay

Address: 1 Junction of 26th and 66th Street | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#6 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range: $167 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedona Hotel Mandalay 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, Sedona Hotel Mandalay is strategically located in the heart of the city and faces the majestic Royal Palace and Mandalay Hill - sights that are a pleasure to behold. As one of the best hotels in Myanmar, we offer guests spacious suites and rooms and also a range of meeting, dining and recreational facilities to ensure an enjoyable stay. At Sedona Hotel in Mandalay, we enrich your tour of Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sedona Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Sedona Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing