We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of A.D.1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A.D.1 Hotel
Ranked #44 of 61 Mandalay B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed in Mandalay for 2 or 3 nights in August 2013. It was the hottest time in Burma and the electricity was cut, so the hotel became hot as hell. The room and bathroom is fine. Location is good. The hotel have linked with some motorcycle drivers and taxis. What i like about the hotel is its location, really close to a pagoda. I and my friend came to the pagoda in the afternoon and it was great, very relaxing. A lady who worked in the hotel put thanakha on our faces also :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11flyingfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    25
    32
    14
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
26
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The stay was pleasant and proportional to what we paid. Although the sheets seemed clean they had huge stains, I chose to sleep in my own bed sheet. The staff are polite. The breakfast is the best part! (Too many geckos)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patriciadjsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at AD.1 in Late July 2013 and the rooms we had were both clean and fully functioning.
The staff was friendly and sorted us out. Unfortunately for us we were sick for a few days and couldn't leave the hotel which made us a regular downstairs by the counter for buying water at standard Myanmar price.
The hotel is located close to a big shopping center with a decent restaurant (Shopping Plaza or something, not the one called Zeygo) if you're looking for (300 meters or so) something that tastes better than the average street food but still for a reasonable price.

They sort you out with ticket bookings and all and take a minor surcharge of 700 kyat for transport to the busstation, which is far less than a taxi would cost but they also drive around and pick up more passengers.

They speak good English so asking for directions or attractions was no issue at all.

Room Tip: Avoid towards the street since religious people will sing during the most annoying of ours. It wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cadier en keer
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after tyring trip by vip comfy bus from Nyaung shwe and arrived early in mrning 4 o clock.
They already let us stay in our 2 doubles of which one smelled like old sweat and urine.
The good thing was that we as a family could have a discount of 20 $ a room so 40 $ that night.Also the friedly staff let us stay in another double which was not smelling.
The ac and fan worked well which is relief from the heat and smogg in dirty Mandalay.
Tip: go the very good restarant with seventies interior and fine shakes, burgers and iced cappucino's at the airconditioned v cafe or sky bar, which i could not find on tripadvisor.
You can take a taxi for 7000 ky and he will wait till you are finished and bring you back to AD1...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herman p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mandalay hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

There is something unappealingly relentless about the way this place tries to save on costs. The breakfast fruit is inferior quality and there is not enough margarine to butter the toast, There is no toilet paper and the bath towel is a peculiar little synthetic rag. They need to ease up on the cheese-paring and be a little more generous to their customers.
The mattress is very thin and you will constantly have sore hips if you sleep on your side and the rooms generally are more dankly depressing than they should be in this price-range.
Air-con was constantly problematic but that was only partly their fault due to the constant blackouts. There is no air-con available while they are on generator power.
Staff are good and reasonably helpful but should be giving more advice to guests as a matter of routine.
There is an official-looking sign above the reception desk that states it is a one star hotel. That's about right!
It is a struggle to find anywhere decent to eat nearby but it is a lively area with the markets and a pleasant pagoda nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzylimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were taken to this hotel very early in the morning by a taxi driver. We loved the staff there as they were very helpful, welcoming and honest. Sure enough this is not Thailand nor Vietnam in terms of comfort and prices, but it is 100% genuine and this is why you come to Burma, no ?
Rooms are small but clean and working. Breakfast is on the rooftop and is good. That is all what we needed and we loved it !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senvatenguerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at hotel on our very last night in Myanmar as we were flying out of Mandalay. 15usd single/24usd double fan-only room (avg prices in Myanmar tourist cities) in a very dingy, poorly lit, cramped room. I felt like I was in a rental by the hour type of hotel. Bathroom was not clean, and walls were VERY thin. We stayed next door to a friend and could have a full conversation without raising our voices. Also no toilet paper or soap provided, must purchase from the hotel. Right outside is a temple and you can hear the bells and prayers all night. Also as a warning, dried fish and fish paste street is right outside. Only redeeming quality is the rooftop breakfast, though not sure if it's free. There are so many other guesthouses around the area that are priced similarly that I would definitely recommend skipping AD1.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fannypack86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.0 mi away
Nylon Hotel
Nylon Hotel
#38 of 109 in Mandalay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaung Myint Hotel
Kaung Myint Hotel
#16 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel A1
Hotel A1
#13 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
#29 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
ET Hotel
ET Hotel
#19 of 61 in Mandalay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fortune Hotel
Fortune Hotel
#33 of 61 in Mandalay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A.D.1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A.D.1 Hotel

Property: A.D.1 Hotel
Address: Between 87th. & 88th. 27th. & 28th. Road | Eindawya Sintada Street, Chan Aye Thar San Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your A.D.1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing