We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good for casual dining”
Review of Cafe City

Cafe City
Ranked #19 of 195 Restaurants in Mandalay
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A short walk from Red Canal Hotel but take a torch as limited street lighting. A great bistro style restaurant serving a large range if European (Try the Beef steak or fish and chips) and Asian food, main courses K5000 – K7000. A good selection of French and Australian wine starting from K12,500 per bottle. Fun atmosphere with fast friendly service. Busy on the nights we were there with mainly a younger local crowd so get there early for a table.
vietnam
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good for casual dining”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice buzzy place. Popular with yougsters and families. I had a burger and fries which was fresh, hot, and tasty.
If you're craving western food, this is your chance.. but there are plenty of choices on the menu for noodles or rice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank a_broadabroadVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    102
    40
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A bit pricey, but with it”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The chocolate milkshake was delicious. I had the boneless stuffed chicken. Even though I had to initially send it back because the stuffing was cold (it's obviously all precooked and then reheated as the food comes out very quickly after ordering), I would sill say it's the best food I've had in Burma.
A bit pricey compared to meals you can get elsewhere, but you get what you pay for.
(free strong wifi)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheProdigitalSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips or Pizza?”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

After 2 or 3 weeks of eating Burmese food it was great to have an opportunity to eat something we are more in tune to. The Pizza was great and apparently the fish & chips and steak were good too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JustTravelAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Comfortable Perch for Uneasy Westerners”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I ate Tempura here and it was okay. Others with me (including a Brit) had fish and chips and were quite ecstatic. If your nerves are jangled from the confusion of ordering in Burmese restaurants, this offers a comfortable setting for basic food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vlbvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had dinner here one night after a hard day of touring. Varied menu with western dishes. Amazed at the local upperclass which frequent the establishment. Appears that the youg crowd go there to be seen as well as to enjoy the fine food.. Food, drink and service was very good!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Token
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe City also viewed

Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Cafe City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing