We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good cheap food”
Review of Mann

Mann
Ranked #109 of 205 Restaurants in Mandalay
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
641 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“good cheap food”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went here several times during our stay in Mandalay. The food is good ( not great) and fairly cheap. Yes it is crowded and noisy but I tend to think of it as having atmosphere. There were lots of locals eating here and watching football on the TV which added to the energy level. At times the service was slow , probably due to the fact that the place was packed

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lonelobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    19
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our experience there was good. We went there on two nights and both nights our food was really good. The staff was friendly. The restaurant is nothing special, fairly basic but as long as the food tastes I don't mind the rest. The restaurant was visited by tourist (package tours/backpackers) as well as locals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BerlinGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Filled with backpackers but horrible food and service”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We decided to try it because it was supposedly recommended even though it was crowded. We thought, well give it a try, it must be crowded for a reason. We ended up having to share a table with another tourist who had been to Myanmar several times, and we ended up chatting with him. Ironically, he was scoffing at "tourists" but at the same time he was eating in a bad restaurant full of tourists! (instead of eating in one of the local tea shops) But then of courrse we had erred into eating here as well, so we know it's easy to be misled.

The food tasted like it came out of a giant pot that had been cooked the day before, and the waiter balked at bringing us plates, expecting us to spoon the food directly into our mouths from the serving platters. It was an extremely limited menu so I can't imagine why they couldn't cook the food fresh to order..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MangoMunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went here the first night after a tiring day out sightseeing in Mandalay and its surroundings, as suggested by our driver. It was within a two minute walk from our hotel.
I don't know what drove all four of us to ask for a table and actually sit down and order, probably tiredness and jetlag.
The place is, in a word, filthy! Very dirty, smoky, loud (the wall-mounted wide screen TV brodcasting a local soap opera could have actually been quite "local", if not for the noise that it emitted at full volume). It's probably want to pass as the typical, nostalgic backpackers' hangout for the foreigh crowds "living the dream" of newly liberated Myanmar but, maybe I'm too old for this...it really stinks.
The food is inedible, my fried rice with chicken was the most boring thing I've had in years; hospital food would have been more exciting...!
Prices weren't even reasonable for the level of food quality served. Needless to say, forget customer service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enryfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and cheap”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Went here both nights and enjoyed good, cheap food as well as the local ale. Power cut one night but all good. Lots of take-out alcohol and other stuff too, e.g. pharmacy,

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mann also viewed

Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing