We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austere and creepy”
Review of Myit Phyar Ayer

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Myit Phyar Ayer
Ranked #89 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel is way passed its prime. The staff are very serious and cold as is the whole hotel. I am guessing it is a government establishment as it has no soul and is not maintained. There is mould on the doors of the bathroom and walls, this could easily be wiped down.

Though not on Trip Advisor we saw a website that said it had a rooftop pool which was the clincher for us. We went up to have a look and it was really creepy, just old mattresses and furniture, what was once a conference facility and the pool had been concreted in. Why??????

We weren't expecting much for $50 or maybe $60 per night but we have stayed in a lot better for the same price in Myanmar. We moved out the next day to Gold Yadanar which was so much nicer, friendlier, clean and modern for $70, well worth the extra!

The breakfast was pretty sad too, mainly only Asian which I like but it wasn't very flavoursome, the coffee could hold a spoon upright it was that thick and strong.

There are plenty of better options in Mandalay

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
There are newer reviews for Myit Phyar Ayer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 10 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

During my trip to Mandalay, one of my nephew drive me to this hotel downtown on 80th Street (China Town). Not far from Central Railway Station and near a Chinese Roman Catholic Church. Like the location very much as you can take a stroll in the evening and have tea at nearby good tea center with free wifi and a big TV screens showing international football matches.
The hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. One afternoon, after a busy meeting when back to the hotel but the hotel is no power and I was sweating from the Mandalay scorching heat, the hotel immediately run the back up power for air conditioning. Appreciate for their good attentiveness. Thanks Myit Phyar Ayer!
Complimentary Breakfast is provided western or oriental (or) Burmese style. I chose to take toast and butter and nice brew coffee and a banana.
Although the hotel is downtown but at night the environment is very quiet, you can sleep peacefully.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank San Min P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Room was okay. Bathroom was not very clean but usable. Breakfast was burmese buffet and it was quite good. Location is also okay. Staffs are friendly and service was good too. Free wifi in the lobby area.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dr0idman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A new hotel, typical of a Chinese style place with a rather strange bathroom (shower in the middle of the bathroom and a bath tub on wheels both draining directly onto the floor with a drain in the corner of the floor--careful, very slippery floor when wet). Nice staff, decent breakfast buffet, free Internet and overall clean. There is not much choice for hotels in Mandalay so in the grand scheme of things, acceptable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbp59716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

when we were stayed at the hotel it is very comfortable at night. coz at night very quiet. breakfast was myanmar buffet style. myanmar food is very nice. all staff was politely and helpfully. we can use a internet wifi free in the hotel. i think Myit Phyar Ayer Hotel is the one of the best hotel in our trips.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WillianChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

When we arrived there they had made a mistake with our reservation but they did their best to correct their mistake. They even sent fresh fruit to our room to apologize. On the last day they even opened the breakfast room one hour earlier for us. Breakfast offers also nooddles, sausages etc, a laptop with free Internet wi-fi connection is available in the lobby. Beds were very confortable, bathroom very basic but with very good shower. We paid 45 usd (which is a lot - but hotels in Myanmar are terribly expensive for what they offer)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank italia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Not so good even by Myanmar standards. I got a bunch of bug bites on my back from the bed. Another couple saw red dots on sheets and were scared of bedbugs. I never saw any though. Good location, decent internet, and average service. I think Royal City Hotel is nicer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YellowEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
923 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 110 in Mandalay
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
0.0 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 110 in Mandalay
493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yuan Sheng Hotel
Yuan Sheng Hotel
#13 of 110 in Mandalay
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myit Phyar Ayer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myit Phyar Ayer

Address: 568 80th St Bet 33rd & 34th St, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: $19 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Myit Phyar Ayer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing