We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the snake give off creepy feeling.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snake Pagoda (Hmwe Paya)

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“the snake give off creepy feeling.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The pagoda is pretty far from the city but there are some local who are willing to explain the history of the pagoda to me. I feel like the staffs at the pagoda are feeding the snake drugs to make them stay. I might be wrong but the snake really give off creepy feeling.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Francis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    13
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“5 stars for mini Bagan next to snake pagoda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a great guide in Mandalay called Soe Paing (So So) Soe.paing246@gmail.com who took us to some great places and who had very good English. He was very reasonable $25 for a 12 hour day and $40 for a car all day. We would thoroughly recommend him.
We used him for two days but he couldn't do the second day but got a friend to cover for him. He took us to the snake temple which was pretty cool as we were the only tourists there and caused quite a stir with the locals as we seemed to be the attraction, not the snakes.
The best part though was when we went to the 325 or so stupas right next to the pagoda. It was like a mini Bagan and again we were the only tourists walking round it. We also walked through the local village and nodded to all the friendly locals.
Really great day out

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bigmikLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“gimme a break”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

really you cannot be bothered to go so far out of your way to see this place. not interesting, unless you are really really into snakes. if so, go to the zoo.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank J0nnyAppleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Shropshire
Level Contributor
192 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“The snakes are real”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

You visit this on teh way back to the airport. The snakes guarding the Buddha are real pythons (3 of them), and you can touch them. Probably more interesting is the village of Boleik which has alot of ruined temples and pagodas, a sort of ghost pagoda village.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NashJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Little snakes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

LP reviews this as having 3 giant snakes. I think the giant snakes may have passed away and have since been replaced with 3 not so large ones. The pagoda itself is rundown and dirtier than most. It was however nice to be the only foreigners there and the locals love their snakes. 2 were placed in a bath and washed and the 3rd is used for photos. Every local payed the fee to sit and pose with the snake, including parents with very young children. The locals were all very friendly and found my fear of the snake very entertaining. It was a nice side excursion.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snake Pagoda (Hmwe Paya) also viewed

Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Snake Pagoda (Hmwe Paya)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing