We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a good hotel”
Review of Hotel Mandalay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #87 of 111 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Its a old hotel that locates very close to the railway. You may hear the sound from the train during the night. The room is big, and very clean when I stayed there. The downside of the hotel is its age, and the outside space. Your driver probably can't find a place to park when you arrive there late. In the mean while, the traffic in the city centre area is very very very bad because of the lack of traffic lights. You may need to spend more than 30 minutes to travel in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wangyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 73 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed for a night in this hotel. This hotel has a good reputation with the locals. However, I was pretty disappointed with the room and the amenities. The room was very spacious as well as the bathroom. However, the shower was so old, it actually looked like it was from a horror film. The entire shower faucet also fell off when I was about to use it. Free Wi-fi was also almost non-existent in the room. There were also a lot of mosquitoes in the room. mke sure to bring mosquito repellant when you visit.

Breakfast food was also dismal, with very few choices. There were also a lot of flies in the dining area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIAJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for just one night. It's location is good. Staff is also friendly and nice. But it's an average hotel and is ok for the tariff. Rooms have wooden floor, equipped with an LED TV, Free WiFi, Coffee maker, easy chairs and a study table. The flip side is the view on the rear side, where the windows provide a view of the run down neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sudhir47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and me just checked in this evening, and in the beginning we were a bit surprised if not shocked. I believe renovation is 15 years overdue. However, after a while the old design even starts looking interesting. Rooms are kept clean, they are large and have everything you need. The ones facing the street are a bit loud. The restaurant on the lobby level unfortunately only serves Chinese food, and the look on the menu is not quite inspiring, but it is for sure better than it looks and very cheap. The best part is the staff: very attentive, friendly and all speak good English. Basically this worn-out hotel is kept alive by its very motivated and friendly staff, and value for money is also OK. I do not see the advantage of the location unless you need a next-door supermarket with a large selection of import products.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k_dieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is a Chinese business men hotel conveniently located in the South of Mandalay. The rooms are huge and super clean, the water can be boiling hot and the staff is very kind. In the lobby you find a diamond travel counter where you can arrange travel stuff and exchange money. Next to the hotel there is on one side a super fancy supermarket in the other side a lovely corner dim sum place with local teenager heros and young couples. The closest sight are the gold workshops.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Paid SGD 145 per night for 2 pax including breakfast. The room was big but the hotel is definitely showing its age. But it was clean enough with a good hot and strong shower. Breakfast consist mainly of local food like rice, noodles and congee. Toast with jam and butter was also provided. Orange juice was more like orange coloured sugar water....better to stick to coffee or tea. A really good travel agency, Seven Diamonds, is located at the lobby. They helped arrange a full day tour to Amanapura, Inwa and Sagain for 55,000k and the agent also recommended a great place for BBQ dinner. Hotel is located at a rather quiet part of town, with only a supermarket nearby. So if you are looking for easier access to restaurants etc, better to choose somewhere in central Mandalay. But if you at just looking for a base to explore the sites, this is a reasonable option.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Drew_X79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed in over a dozen hotels across Myanmar of varying grades, from luxury to basic. This one is a good middle ground. The rooms are spacious and have simple divan beds and other hardwood furniture, all clean. Bathrooms are not luxurious but also clean. Wifi worked at good speed throughout the day. There is a lot of Chinese business in Mandalay and this hotel caters to that, a bonus as the Chinese restaurant in the hotel serves good, authentic food at a fair price. There is a helpful travel agency in the lobby which, despite our not having booked our travel with them, was willing and able to change the dates on our air tickets. A good business grade hotel which I would be happy to stay in again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMSCPSYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Hazel
Hotel Hazel
#58 of 111 in Mandalay
55 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Magic Mandalay
Hotel Magic Mandalay
#35 of 111 in Mandalay
10 reviews
2.6 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 111 in Mandalay
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#9 of 111 in Mandalay
633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 111 in Mandalay
946 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#15 of 111 in Mandalay
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mandalay

Address: No. 652 78th Str, Between 37th / 38th | Mahamaungmyay Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 111 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: $52 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mandalay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing