We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, basic accommodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rich Queen Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rich Queen Guesthouse
Ranked #18 of 59 Mandalay B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
731 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 613 helpful votes
“Clean, basic accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We ended up in this guest house after our booked guest house lost its licence and could not accommodate us (see my review of Yoe Yoe Lay Guesthouse). This was the most basic, and at $25:00 for a double, the cheapest accommodation we had in Myanmar. It is quite basic. However, the rooms were quite clean, the AC worked well, there was plenty of hot water, and the internet worked well in the lobby. The location is quite good just outside the market. They also organized our taxi driver for our city sightseeing, U Bein’s Bridge day trip as well as our Pyin Oo Lwin Gardens day trip. The driver they organized was punctual, knew the sites well and spoke excellent English.
On the negative side, there was a “concert” going on just outside the hotel the first night we arrived. It went on till quite late at night and it felt like it was happening right in the room itself. There was no housekeeping unless you specifically asked for it. The breakfast was very basic: tea, banana and bread and jam.
Still a very good value for the small amount they are charging.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    66
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
2
43
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We arrive to Rich Queen based on TripAdvisor, this was great choice, place is new and therefore clean - good value for the money,
but looking at burmese way of cleaning I am afraid it wil not be so nice next year, the breakfast was awful, tost bread with jam but never even heated, not expect tosted, cold fried eggs and bananas.. no enough comfortable space for eating,..
but this was greast place to sleep, clean at the time we were there for 30usd for double.
not soi bad location 87th street beetween 26th and 25th, close to market and 10 minutes walk to food areas,
the sleep quality would be prefect if only neighbour's dog would't fight with every dog/cat appearing during night and monks wouldn't start their praying approx 0430am, which was good waking service

Room Tip: make reservation via phone earlier
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

It’s hard to be critical when you pay $25 a night for a double. But there were a few simple things that brought this rating down. The hose for the toilet had a leak so the bathroom floor was constantly wet, and the rest of the room was quite dusty on the floor – which wasn’t a big problem, until you kept going in and out of the wet bathroom. We had a room with a nice balcony that overlooked the street below but the night we turned up, there were some sort of celebration in the street and our room basically vibrated the whole night and it sounded like the “singer” (I use that term very loosely) was sitting on the end of the bed. Bar the celebration, the street was always pretty noisy, and the neon flashing sign just outside the windows also didn’t help, as it was on the entire time. My review isn’t helped by the fact I was pretty sick one afternoon so didn’t leave bed… the TV had a good selection of channels BUT we were watching a movie and ¾ through, the channel suddenly changed to something different (as if changed by a central remote?) which was a bit disappointing.

Location wise, we were near some markets, and a short walk from the clock tower. For those with a decent level of fitness, it’s a good solid walk to, and around, Mandalay Palace. Not too many restaurants within walking distance – we did go to Min Min’s Chinese but I very very strongly discourage people from eating there. Breakfast at Rich Queen was a jam sandwich, coffee and some basic pastry things – no other options, and apart from a few tables outside, which were already taken, we ended up just sitting in the foyer.

p.s The Agoda link still takes you to the wrong place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. Check for a leaky bathroom before accepting your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeStrachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mandalay hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Clean rooms with an air con, hot water and fan, free wi-fi in the lobby and good breakfast is included. Really cool atmosphere with friendly and helpful stuff, they will help you about anything, even to organize your trip outside of Mandalay, to find bus tickets etc.... I would stay here again :) !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PavlovT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

we stayed 3 nights in a private room with bath (after checking many options (incl walkin) in Mandalay)

+ nice hostel with friendly and helpful staff
+ free and reliable wifi (we skyped), even in our room on the first floor.
+ good aircon
+ very good breakfast included
+ great value for money in Mandalay
+ not bad situated

what could be improved in our view:
- provide remote if there is a TV and make sure that the channel does not change in the room, when you change it at the lobby
- make the room every day (you seem to have time anyway)

our conclusion: recommended, we would stay here again! and bargain ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swisscouple1983-rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in double room and payed 20usd per night. We had aircon, fan, hot water. Room was clean and with a nice view. They helped us to organize trip to.outside of mandalay. The breakfast is huge. Very good choice in mandalay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I walk in this Guesthouse at 4 am.
I took motor bike bus station to town after checked 3 guest house all full.
Even not on high season Maybe on femurs Buddha day Visakabucha.
I wok up the staff in middle night he still sleepy but with smiling face.
He let me early check in so i can sleep till morning take early tour at 9.30am.
Room just fresh paint new room with all new stuff.
He gave me discount with AC room maybe on promotion.
I met him for 3 days 2 night he always smile and good service.
Gave me free meal for the first early check in with breakfast
Thank you very much for kindness.
this guesthouse not far from night market and local market.
Quite good for a rest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaeprakhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 107 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#6 of 107 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel A1
Hotel A1
#12 of 107 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 107 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
#27 of 107 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
ET Hotel
ET Hotel
#17 of 59 in Mandalay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rich Queen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rich Queen Guesthouse

Property: Rich Queen Guesthouse
Address: Number 52 87th Street Between 26th And 27th Sts, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rich Queen Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing