We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this Indian restaurant! ”
Review of Spice Garden

Spice Garden
Ranked #7 of 324 Restaurants in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Spice Garden, in Mandalay City, was designed with the purpose of providing great food at an exceptional value with friendly service to each individual customer. The elegant and chic Spice Garden restaurant, built in a French House Design building, has been serving the community for more than 10 years with experience specializing in Myanmar as well as Northern and Southern Indian cuisine.
Reviewed August 2, 2019 via mobile

The food and wine were great! We definitely indulged and really, really enjoyed! Loved the setting of the hotel too.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank HKtravellers2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 250 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2019 via mobile

Good food, great atmosphere, incredibly overpriced. We enjoyed our meals, service and atmosphere but were taken back by the high pricing. The pricing seemed to be out of keeping with the area. Breakfast was not worth $20 each. Dinner was good but not great enough for the amount we paid.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank C001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2019 via mobile

Our number one rule of dining out, was unfortunately already broken when we entered this UNOCCUPIED restaurant that adjoins the Red Canal Hotel.
The outside deck area overlooking the invitingly cold blue pool on a hot summers' night, was a perfect setting were it not for the tiny insects nibbling on our hot and sticky, vasodilated peripheries.
The next uncomfortable warning sign was the dollar signs next to each food item on the menu. Our rule of thumb foolproof method of judging whether a restaurant will be reasonably- or over-priced is the individual price of a roti or Naan, and at 3USD a pop, we already knew what we were in for!
However, we were surprised at the relatively more reasonably-priced vegetarian dishes, so we opted for a bhindi masala, a palak paneer, and a prawn masala curry.
The dishes were freshly prepared and tasty, however each dish severely lacked in heat, both in terms of spiciness, as well as warmth!
I was tempted to ask for my food to be reheated, especially since the gravies were almost gelatinous. However, sitting next to such a strong AC blowing on us, I deemed this to be a fairly futile request.
The bhindi was by far my favorite dish as it was perfectly cooked, with the right amount of stickiness.
The paneer was a bit chewy in consistency and the palakh was cold.
The prawns were of decent size and quantity and, bursting-in-the-mouth freshness.
On the positive side, the staff are very friendly, the menu offers a wide selection of Ala carte and set menus, there is a happy hour between 5:30 - 7:30pm, and there is free wifi available.
The overall bill with beers, came to 25 USD, still one of the most expensive Myanmar meals to date.
It was not the easiest place to find amongst the non-English-speaking tuk-tuk drivers, so when one tuk tuk driver eventually managed to Google it for us, we were very grateful just to find a place to eat!
A hard find, but unfortunately not the gem we were hoping it to be!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank MaresaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Aftet being here for 2 weeks, our expectations were dampened about dinner choices. However, the lettuce wraps were excellent, the farm raised salmon was nicely crusted but a bit over cooked for.my.taste. The view ovelooking the pool was romantic. Unfortunately,.the pool is too heavily chlorinated.by anyones standards and had to go to a clinic for relief. Aung was a delight to speak wth.nd his story and information helped return.the evening to a pleasant night out

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

Delicious Indian food in a warm setting. All the staff were great, and our server Khing was very friendly!

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank Zack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Garden also viewed

Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Spice Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing