We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveler rating
116
218
127
31
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
116
218
127
31
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar fish market puppet show happy hour shanty town flower market nice hotel top floor swimming pool good size local dishes large room air con very pleasant stay taxi driver couple of nights free cocktail
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 503 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2018

Hotel is rather tired, but serves its purpose as a place to overnight and to have dinner, although the latter is somewhat pricey by local standards since prices are all in USD. Breakfast was not bad either.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank TiGerLiLie1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thet_Htar_San, Manager at Ayarwaddy River View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear TiGerLiLie,

Thanks a lot for taking your time to write this review and dining at our sky bar.We will share the suggestion you did and the requirements you mentioned to our board of directors. Breakfast items are increasing and change day by day. Hope to serve you with a better situation on your next vacation to Mandalay and welcome your suggestion further.

Have a great day!

Best regards,

Thet Htar San @ Sara San
Assistant Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018

We spent one night here, choosing it for the river view and the terrace bar. Rooms are HUGE, and pleasant enough, and the airconditioning boosted up well and kept us cool. Overall the hotel is a bit tired, the terrace is covered in a fine layer of dust, the carpets in the corridors need renewing and the glass in the rooms needs to be made soundproof. We were kept awake by "The War of the Street Dogs" and the sand depository across the road.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thet_Htar_San, Manager at Ayarwaddy River View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Dear Andrea,

Thank you for being our guest and appreciating your feedback for us. Arranging rooms to be convenience is one of our service quality of our hotel.The suggestions you give us is important for us and all the things we can upgrade will be maintained soon We will also replace the glass window to be soundproof soon and you will not hear the sound from outside.Hope to see you in near future and we hope to receive your more feedback on your next stay.

Have a great day!

Best regards,

Thet Htar San @ Sara San
Assistant Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2018

We arrived at the hotel early in the morning but the reception was really kind to let us check-in. The room is big and nice, well-decorated. The bed was very comfortable.

The staffs there were extremely helpful. I bought some fabrics from Zeygo market and want to make skirts, the staffs fetch me to the tailor (on a motorbike) and back and went to get the skirts for me when they were done. It was just a simple service but they got my heart. I bought them lilies the next day.

The restaurant on the top floor is really nice. You can watch the sunset there along the Aryawaddi River. It was really nice and romantic. I love it!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Premkamon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thet_Htar_San, Manager at Ayarwaddy River View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Dear Gemma ,

Nice to hear that you satisfied on our heart felt service especially the front desk agents make you to fall with their kind support. We will share this information to all of our team member and assure that the front desk agent proud to serve better in future as well as the other staffs enthusiast to serve the best. The extra service are came from their heart and glad to hear that you love it.Hope to be our guest again and feel the romance sunset of Ayarwaddy River on your next stay. We always promise to try to fulfill the comfort stay for all of our guests and welcome the suggestions.

Have a great day!

Best regards,

Thet Htar San @ Sara San
Assistant Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2018

I visited mid Feb 2018 for a few nights, not busy. Rooms spacious though a bit glitzy/ slightly shabby if you look too close! The staff were more than happy to assist with the plans I wanted to make and were very friendly. The view from the rooftop bar is great, spanning 360 degrees. Saw a spectacular sunset one evening. Complementary cocktails for an hour between 6-7pm, with accompanying xylophone playing followed by a puppet show. Surreal atmosphere and completely makes up for the slight disadvantage of being a bit out of town

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DVM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thet_Htar_San, Manager at Ayarwaddy River View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Dear our valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your satisfactory with other persons and pleased to see the recommendation that our colleague are willing to assist for the plans to visit around the areas. The splendid view of our sky bar view is one of the precious for the guest and glad to hear that you caught the moment of spectacular sunset.We always offer the complementary cocktail within happy hour.Nice xylophone entertaining plan and puppet show are only between October to March. If you have a plan to visit Mandalay, recommended to choose this period so that you can enjoy all entertainment plans.Be our guest again and welcome for more further suggestions.

Have a great day!

Best regards,

Thet Htar San @ Sara San
Assistant Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2018

I'm not sure what happened but we seemed to have received an upgrade and had a large bedroom with an adjoining lounge and walk in wardobe! Rather luxurious and very nice!
Our room was clean and had everything we needed. Shower in the bath is never ideal though.
The rooftop bar in late afternoon is excellent with a great happy hour, super yummy cocktails and fabulous views.
Breakfast was great.

Room tip: ask for river facing room
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurplePower72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thet_Htar_San, Manager at Ayarwaddy River View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Dear our valued guest,

Glad to hear that your stay is pleasant as we provided a upgraded room for you.The recommendation is help to interest the other guests to us and much appreciate for that. Providing happy hour and the views are some tips to attract the guest and please to know you satisfied on that. Thank you for everything and being our guest on last stay at our hotel and we would like to be a preferred choice when you have to visit Mandalay again.

Have a great day!

Best regards,

Thet Htar San @ Sara San
Assistant Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews