We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best chapati EVER!”
Review of Usman's Chapatis - CLOSED

Usman's Chapatis
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Fast Food
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best chapati EVER!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Last year we went to India and had chapati, but this place had much better chapati. They had a big selection of curries and our waiters spoke English well. We had a nice conversation with a man named Yuesuf, he was a friend of the owner and had traveled to many different countries. The restaurant had a diverse audience which is nice. It is a street food vendor, but is the best Indian food we've had yet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Myanmar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good and cheap chapatis!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I went to this famous chapati corner with a few friends for the first time. The road-side shop gave you a feeling of real Mandalay, and the food are nice and cheap! Very popular with locals as well as foreign backpackers, you should try it if you are in the area!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DL_sophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious, wholesome and cheap”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This street-side gem offers delicious, authentic (and very cheap!) food. The chapattis were fluffy and hot, and the curries were delicious with vegetarian options. The owners are lovely and will chat with you while providing endless refills of tea. This simple, tasty and wholesome meal was my Mandalay culinary highlight.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“The best value in Myanmar”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had read about the Chapati stand on the corner of 27th&82nd and headed there on our first night in Mandalay. We saw a line of locals waiting for tables and 'take-a-way' and instantly knew it must be good if there were so many people. And it was soooo good! Simple but awesome. Plastic chairs and tables on a street corner with jugs of hot tea. They have a small menu also printed in English. We ordered chapatis, briyani and lentils and it was all great. The briyani was the best we have ever had (and we eat Indian food a lot at home) and the fluffy freshly cooked chapatis are sensational. And how much for all this - 6000 kyats with soft drinks. Seriously the best you can get! Not to mention the great local atmosphere. A must in Mandalay!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Unbeatable value”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

If this is the place I'm thinking of (mine was on 82nd and 27th sts) I would totally recommend eating here - good wholesome food at an unbeatable price, and an authentic local experience to boot. Vegetarian friendly.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BVC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Usman's Chapatis also viewed

Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing