We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not ideal” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Queen Mandalay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Queen Mandalay
Ranked #53 of 106 Hotels in Mandalay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not ideal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Big but slightly tired room. Not really near anywhere you'd want to go. Restaurant/ breakfast just ok. Staff v friendly and helpful. Nothing wrong with it but left me wanting something more. Mind you, I felt like that about Mandalay generally!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jman345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    61
    50
    14
    9
See reviews for
12
67
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
old bar
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel is a little more expensive than others I stayed in on my recent trip but in the dusty, hot city of Mandalay to come back each night to a big, well appointed room with effective air conditioning and a great shower made it well worth the extra dollars. The bed was large and comfortable, the breakfasts great and the service was very good.

Room Tip: There is some building going on at the top of the building so try to stay away from the higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldBarNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

My group of 11 enjoyed our four nights at Hotel Queen. The food was very good, the lobby a comfy place to hang out, and the rooms had everything we needed. It is located in a relatively quiet area, which we also thought was nice. In the evening we walked to the Night Market--- small but friendly---- some good bargains in longyis if you want to look like the locals. I don't understand what some of the other raters are critical about. In this price range, my own belief is that this is a very good place and the front desk people are so kind and helpful. We really loved Mandalay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkerbeeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Unfortunately, this was one of the worst places we stayed during our three week trip to Myanmar. The rooms were very cramped, had an awful smell, was noisy and overall, lacked character. The wifi did not work. The staff were not very friendly either, and made no real effort to help us. The breakfast was terrible, with very limited choice (even for meat eaters). We informed the hotel beforehand, that we were vegetarian, and we got nothing. The only thing to eat was the fruit, and the quality was appalling and the worst we came across in the country. I couldn't eat it. A positive was that the rooms were clean. However, the rooms are also quite overpriced according to Myanmar standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nnoodles12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelqueenmangement, General Manager at Hotel Queen Mandalay, responded to this review, June 3, 2016
Dear valued customer,
Greeting from Hotel Queen Mandalay!!!!
First of all ,we would like to say we are so sorry about your inconvenient breakfast (vegetarian)stayed in our hotel.Our hotel breakfast was full buffet provided with various choices for our valued guests.We are trying our best to do service for all of our valued guest,but unfortunately we are not gained our service target at you.Please give us a chance to serve you again and thank you so much for staying in our hotel.

Thanks and best regards,
Hotel Queen Management
Email.reservation@hotelqueenmandalay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mandalay hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed there 2 times - therefore we can judge, that the rooms are very different- some of them had been renovated recently.
The breakfast is very poor and the coffee (almost) not drinkable.
The stuff is very helpful and friendly - if I could decide: Its worth 2 or 3 stars- not more.
There are nicer hotels in Mandalay- but I have to admit- that most of them are always fully booked.

Room Tip: ask for the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felixprivat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a great stay at the Queen Hotel. We had a suite on the 5th floor and paid $65 per night. I think this room was great value and am shocked that other reviewers have not had good experiences. I really thought this was great value. Plus points are : clean, spacious room; fast reliable wifi; taxi rank with friendly, knowledgeable drivers and nice cars (for Myanmar) right next door; relatively quiet street; mini bar (we used it as a fridge); decent tea making facilities; very good choice at breakfast (the cappuccinos are even passable)- the watermelon juice and poached eggs were great. It is not in the very centre of town but as you have to navigate around the huge palace complex to get most places anyway (and therefore take a taxi) I dont think it makes much difference. Incidentally, it's very handy for the train station. We arrived at 5.30am on the train from Yangon (not advisable, so bumpy you will not sleep a wink) and were able to check in 7hrs early without any additional charge. Sure, the decor is a little '90s' but in our room this was more a style thing than anything being actually worn out- at this price and saying for what you get, I would not complain about the decor at all- everything was matching plain colours with pale bed sheets and curtains in our room. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our Queen Suite was spacious, clean and with newish furnishings. I have no complaints about this roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanna_mountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a quiet area not so far from the left south corner of the royal palace.

It's an old hotel and you can easily realize it from the lobby and the furniture of the rooms.

Rooms are big and decently cleaned. A bottle of water per day is complimentary.
Breakfast is 90% made by Asian food.

The staff is ABSOLUTELY friendly and helpful.
It's lovely to come back after a long day of sightseeing and find so nice people welcoming you.





Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank popamiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Swan Hotel
Silver Swan Hotel
#52 of 106 in Mandalay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yuan Sheng Hotel
Yuan Sheng Hotel
#14 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#17 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel 82 Mandalay
Hotel 82 Mandalay
#10 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sunny Mandalay
Hotel Sunny Mandalay
#36 of 106 in Mandalay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden City Light Hotel
Golden City Light Hotel
#86 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Queen Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Queen Mandalay

Property: Hotel Queen Mandalay
Address: No. 456 81st Street | Between 32nd x 33rd Street, Chan Aye Thar Zan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 106 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Queen Mandalay 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Queen is your second home . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and JovagoAsia so you can book your Hotel Queen Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing