We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
BirdmanTraveler
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

Centrally located

Review of Nylon Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 2, 2013
Hotel prices have doubled in Myanmar so for its price (USD$30) it is not value for money compared with similar accommodation in Thailand. However its central location allows you to have a reasonably priced and tasty meal at the nearby Min Min Muslim restaurant run by a Chinese muslim and then dessert at the Nylon ice cream parlour opposite the hotel. But around it there are many small noisy businesses that many may consider it a seedy area. As in most Myanmarese hotels a decent breakfast of fried eggs, toasted bread, tea/coffee and fruits is served. However one has to be patient with the workers as I encountered all over Myanmar.
Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
$17
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $14
  • Vio.com
    $15
  • Expedia.com
0.3 miles from Nylon Hotel
Free Wifi
Trip.com
$47
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $46
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
0.8 miles from Nylon Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$30
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $30
  • Trip.com
    $27
  • Vio.com
    $27
0.6 miles from Nylon Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
$30
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $34
  • Agoda.com
    $28
  • Hotels.com
    $34
1.0 miles from Nylon Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
$70
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $71
  • Trip.com
    $47
  • Agoda.com
    $55
0.4 miles from Nylon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$69
  • Expedia.com
    $92
  • Agoda.com
    $59
  • Hotels.com
    $93
2.1 miles from Nylon Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$51
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $51
  • Agoda.com
    $51
  • Vio.com
    $51
0.7 miles from Nylon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$115
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $94
  • Vio.com
    $82
  • Hotels.com
    $95
3.0 miles from Nylon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Chambre de luxe
Booking.com
$22
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $22
  • Agoda.com
    $17
  • Trip.com
    $20
1.1 miles from Nylon Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$43
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $44
  • Trip.com
    $35
  • Hotels.com
    $44
2.0 miles from Nylon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mandalay
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
26
49
68
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
26
49
68
20
10
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 173 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

very good location, central in the city, friendly employess, decent room for the prices, very good shower, very clean and pretty big room with huge bathroom with bath-tub., good breakfast. walking distance to good restaurants and palace. I would recommend others to stay in Nylon hotel... I will stay here again on my next trip.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jian z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

They Nylon hotel is centrally located in Mandalay and walking distance to the Palace/moat, the market and a few restaurants.

Pros: Wifi (not in rooms, just in lobby), amazing hot water showers, bathtub (our daughter loved it), and walking distance to central sights.

Cons: No great eating options nearby and needed to take taxis to eat most places; aircon unit made so much noise we coudn't use it; with no lift, you have to hike yourself and your luggage up numerous flights of stairs.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed in Nylon Hotel for five nights in early December 2012 at the start of my Myanmar trip. I paid 25 dollars per night for one person in a double room with attached bathroom. The room had no windows and certainly needed a coat of paint. However, it was available and I was tired after a long flight from UK and needed a room. The attached bathroom was OK. The room fan and fridge worked well and were quiet.
The hotel manager was friendly and very helpul, like all the Myanmar people I met on this trip. He said the hotel is full every night from November to end of February.
Breakfast was adequate, with long waits for service on some days. Only one egg, two bananas and a couple of slices of bread, and tea or coffee. Certainly a cheap to make breakfast when you're paying 25 dollars for B. and B.
The manager pointed me towards the nearby very good Jerry's Bicycle Hire, Mann's Chinese Restaurant and the pickup truck station for Pyin oo Lwin, just three blocks away. I hired a bike for four days, great way to see the city sights.
The hotel has a good roof space, ideal for drying washing. It could be made into a nice sitting out area if they repaired the seat and put a few pot plants there.
Nylon Hotel isn't luxury living, but it serves its purpose well.

Room tip: Arrive early, and try to get a room with a window. Rent a bicycle from Jerry's and see the city, but do be careful on the bike.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Nylon Hotel is a Chinese-type hotel. There is wifi and a computer in the lobby. We paid $25/night for a room with 2 beds, AC, private shower. The water pressure is excellent! The toilet is clean. The room is also very clean! Breakfast is included. However, I would not stay here again as the location is a bit far from places we wanted to see, and the street it is on sells machinery equipment, which is not a pretty sight. It is true that the owner is not the service-oriented type, but if you don't care about that and just want a good shower (excellent water pressure!!) and a clean bed then this is it!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surgasempurna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 in a room for 25$ the room was big with 3 beds a/c and fan above every bed the bathroom was small & standart we had to pay for Wifi but it was good we had free brackfact. The only thing that was bed was the hotel manager he was very rude to us unlike his stuff that helped us a lot although I really recommend to stay there.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews