We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but needs a coat of paint”
Review of Nylon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nylon Hotel
Ranked #43 of 119 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed in Nylon Hotel for five nights in early December 2012 at the start of my Myanmar trip. I paid 25 dollars per night for one person in a double room with attached bathroom. The room had no windows and certainly needed a coat of paint. However, it was available and I was tired after a long flight from UK and needed a room. The attached bathroom was OK. The room fan and fridge worked well and were quiet.
The hotel manager was friendly and very helpul, like all the Myanmar people I met on this trip. He said the hotel is full every night from November to end of February.
Breakfast was adequate, with long waits for service on some days. Only one egg, two bananas and a couple of slices of bread, and tea or coffee. Certainly a cheap to make breakfast when you're paying 25 dollars for B. and B.
The manager pointed me towards the nearby very good Jerry's Bicycle Hire, Mann's Chinese Restaurant and the pickup truck station for Pyin oo Lwin, just three blocks away. I hired a bike for four days, great way to see the city sights.
The hotel has a good roof space, ideal for drying washing. It could be made into a nice sitting out area if they repaired the seat and put a few pot plants there.
Nylon Hotel isn't luxury living, but it serves its purpose well.

Room Tip: Arrive early, and try to get a room with a window. Rent a bicycle from Jerry's and see the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 169 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

Nylon Hotel is a Chinese-type hotel. There is wifi and a computer in the lobby. We paid $25/night for a room with 2 beds, AC, private shower. The water pressure is excellent! The toilet is clean. The room is also very clean! Breakfast is included. However, I would not stay here again as the location is a bit far from places we wanted to see, and the street it is on sells machinery equipment, which is not a pretty sight. It is true that the owner is not the service-oriented type, but if you don't care about that and just want a good shower (excellent water pressure!!) and a clean bed then this is it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surgasempurna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 in a room for 25$ the room was big with 3 beds a/c and fan above every bed the bathroom was small & standart we had to pay for Wifi but it was good we had free brackfact. The only thing that was bed was the hotel manager he was very rude to us unlike his stuff that helped us a lot although I really recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel has very good location for sightseeing and souvenirs and fruits shopping. There are clock tower, which marks city center, and fruit market in close proximity.
The hotel is not new, it works, but the repair wouidn't hurt. Ascetic interiors and exterior. Poor enough breakfast: eggs, toast, banana. But I find such price (20 dollars per night for the doubleroom) quite adequate for this level of service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This place really is a gem, the rooms are amazing, spotless clean, comfy beds, an amazing shower, friendly Staff and located right in the heart of everthing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dublinblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here one night based upon some recommendations but wouldn't have stayed at all if didn't pre-book.

Got in from the train at 10 pm and were just looking for a place to sleep but this place was a dump. The room we were given was beside a kitchen and had only had chipboard erected to block it from the kitchen. The beds were infested with bedbugs (the only time we came across them in our travels) so sleep was difficult. In the morning got woken up by the people cooking so moved out to The Silver Star which was same price but much much better.

When we left the front desk were unhelpful and when advised about the bedbugs just shrugged their shoulders.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tumbuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, the room was ok size but was very dated - it had a double and single bed in it ($25), the bathroom was ok (except for the cockroach!), shower pressure was good. They could do with new bed sheets and most definetly new towels! The breakfast was boring - egg, toast and banana, same as every other hotel in Myanmar!! The location of the hotel was good - could walk to the palace and it was near some nice restaurants. Most of the staff were ok (did not like one of the guys on reception-wouldn't give me a map unless I paid for it, bought one and then got another free in tourist info office!). Their rate of exchange is really bad (780 to the $). Overall would stay here again for the location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audsdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
#34 of 119 in Mandalay
172 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel G-Seven
Hotel G-Seven
#33 of 119 in Mandalay
39 reviews
2.4 mi away
Night Sweet Hotel
Night Sweet Hotel
#82 of 119 in Mandalay
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sunny Mandalay
Hotel Sunny Mandalay
#45 of 119 in Mandalay
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iceland
Hotel Iceland
#25 of 119 in Mandalay
38 reviews
0 mi away
M3 @ Sunwinner Hotel
M3 @ Sunwinner Hotel
#32 of 119 in Mandalay
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nylon Hotel

Address: A l_angle de la 25e et la 83e rue, Mandalay, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 119 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: $18 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nylon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Nylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing