We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rupar Mandalar Resort
Nearby Hotels
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$54
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$37
$34
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yuan Sheng Hotel(Mandalay)(Great Value!)
$23
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Triumph Hotel Mandalay(Mandalay)
$58
$54
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
79 Living Hotel(Mandalay)(Great Value!)
$22
$17
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$55
$53
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveler rating
211
179
63
15
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
179
63
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier suitepuppet showteak woodlarge tvlovely hotelexcellent facilitiesfamily suitebig poolappointed roomsquiet areabeautiful poolstayed here for two nightsother hotelseach eveningbreakfast was excellentboutique hotellow season
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 473 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed here while on a tour of Burma Our travel company booked us into the hotel so we had no clue what we were in for. WOW! What a wonderful little gem. The hotel is relatively small for now but is undergoing a massive expansion project. despite the construction it had no impact on the wonderful service, the central facilities or our room. We never would have know anything was going on if it weren't for the signs.

Our room was lovely - but covered in gorgeous teak wood. after a hot day of shlepping around pagodas, we would relax by the beautiful swimming pool and enjoy the pool bar. The staff was wonderful and it was some of the best food we ate in all of Burma. The daily entertainment every evening was delightful. Usually a combination of puppet shows and traditional singing, we found it more sincere and authentic that the several other "cultural shows" we saw at different hotels throughout our stay. I would gladly recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vchittenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I also think that I enjoyed our five-night stay here best on our trip to Myanmar. It may be that it was so calming as we entered the grounds of this moderate-sized resort with the beautiful gardens and landscaping, after a day of sight-seeing around Mandalay. The staff was very welcoming on our return each day and helpful in providing fresh towels as part of the evening turn-down service.

The rooms were exceptionally large, done in teak wood, with a huge built-in armoire where tea/coffee making facilities were located as well as some samples of souvenir items that could be purchased in the shop. A fresh fruit plate was available and replenished as needed. The lighting was good and a spacious desk could accommodate our computer and the Internet connection easily. The feature amenity was the huge flat-screen T.V. with both BBC World and CNN News in English. The bed linens were of top quality and fit the king-sized duvet well. The bathroom was also spacious with a bath/shower combo.

Walking through the gardens to the breakfast area was a pleasure. We discovered new little nooks and areas with tropical plants and flowers along the way. We even passed the puppets on their storage rack on one passageway to breakfast. Puppet shows are offered for guests on some evenings. The pool is quite large and looked inviting, but we were too busy to avail ourselves of its use. The property is undergoing expansion, but as we were out every day sight-seeing, the construction noise was not a problem for us.

Service at the breakfast buffet was exemplary. A wide array of selections was on offer, featuring chef preparation of items on request. The tables are situated in a shaded garden where small birds chirp in the trees and flit among the shrubbery. This hotel is a good choice for independent travellers that have transport arranged for pick-up each day. There were very few tour groups at the resort and of these, very small parties. As we left on the next segment of our travels, we carried fond memories of our stay at the Rupar Mandalar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank canadakate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were not sure what to make of this hotel. Really fine well laid out and maintained gardens giving a spacious feel. Hotel buildings well proportioned with a restaurant offering inside and terraced tables. A fantastic twenty metre pool was complimented by an adjacent free form one; the area let down by having limited shade, no parasols and ageing sun bed mattresses. A pleasant spot all the same.
Room Cherry 3 was spacious and well equipped in the bedroom area but on going through to the bathroom it was if the money had run out at this juncture with poor quality fittings in a pokey room. Good veranda but one needed to get on with one's neighbours given their proximity.
Restaurant manager and staff could not do enough for you; a pity that their professionalism was not shred by the kitchen however. The breakfast was competent enough with an egg station and a reasonable buffet. However at night it fell apart. Both Asian and Western dishes were virtually inedible. A red vegetable curry looked anaemic and tasted of nothing with very soggy vegetables. A club sandwich arrived with the bread not toasted. When given a second chance, with me pointing out that the bread should be toasted, it still came not toasted and, this time, without the bacon! Restaurant manager very apologetic and offered complimentary coffee; which we declined. The reason that we were not offered complimentary puddings was that they had none save for vanilla ice cream. Everything else was 'off'.
Although reviewed as a boutique hotel previously it is not. The scale of the plot is too large for that. I cannot understand its' business model. There are too few bedrooms to support the operation and a massive, hardly used, Spa. They are currently constructing a block of further bedrooms with the construction due to finish at 16:30. On our second night it finished around 22:00 although we were not inconvenienced.
On balance we would stay again if in Mandalay. But readers need to be aware of the shortcomings of the restaurant and that any alternative is a taxi ride away.

Room Tip: Cherry rooms have big verandas.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My travel friend and I were warmly received in this hotel. I was thankful that we stayed for 3 nights. The room was at Cherry 8, three rooms away from the main road but it was quiet. There were 2 swimming pools adjacent to the breakfast room. When we arrived, there was a big bowl of fresh fruit (apples, oranges, grapes, bananas) on the round table. We had a bar with goblets, small refrigerator, a big flat screened TV set, bottles of wine (not free) , a safe and some souvenirs with prices on them. The floors and funriture were wooden (teak). The beds were comfortable. The room was tastefully decorated. So was the surroundings. There were lots of tropical trees including Alphonse Karr bamboo (yellow and green striped) and flowers, elephant statues and a huge piece of jade near the front entrance that cost more than a million Euros. There were swings around the areas and one by our front door. There were big bowls with fresh flowers floating in them by the entrance to our suite. There were,also, some Koi fished in front ofthe Cherry suites. We had a nice patio with chairs and nice teak floors but we had no time to sit there as we were always on the go. The lawn was taken care of very well.Breakfast was included in the accommodation and the food was adequate and tasty. It was held under the trees and it was pleasant. They had an omelet station, cart with different bread and rolls, several types of fresh fruit , fruit juices, coffee, tea and local fares like Mohinga, fried rice, egg noodles with meat and vegetables and porage. We were not used to the local fare because we ate those for dinner when we went out for Chinese or any ethnic food. Nevertheless, we tried them. I liked the Mohinga. Dinner was delicious. We chose the fixed plates which were either Chinese or Burmese. The presentation was atrractive and the food tasted good. We were given peanuts for appetizers and we were told htat they were Mandalay peanuts. They were delicious so I bought a package to take home when we went to the market. Prices of the dinner were reasonable. The puppet show , songs and dances were an added bonus. One does not have to understand the language to get a gist of what was going on. The staff there was not only good to us. They were, also nice to our tour guide and driver when they came to pick us up to tour. As soon as they saw us coming, the front desk people would run to open the door for us. They were very polite and courteous. I really enjoyed this hotel. They were in the process of adding a new building in the back of the swimming pools. I intend to go back to Myanmar and perhaps volunteer to teach English at one of the monasteries. If so, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TRAVELdglobenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Rupar Mandalar Resort is a beautiful, quiet resort just outside of the busy hub bub of Mandalay. The staff are excellent and the room we stayed in was simply beautiful. Our room was a room with the porch outside looking at the entrance driveway to the main lobby. The hotel itself is wonderfully quiet at night. Our group found the food at the hotel to be quiet good. There have been some comments about the puppet show each night. While the show may not have been my favourite item each night at dinner, I did appreciate the work and effort of the performers. If we wanted a bit less show, we just eat further back from the show and conversed during dinner. The staff could not do enough for you. Laundry dropped off in the morning would be back by early afternoon. Cost was very reasonable too. Wifi was free in he lobby and some of the closer rooms where the signal would reach.

We had to leave the Rupar on our last night for the Mandalay Hill in the city. In comparison, the Mandalay Hill was fine, but charmless. Any high rise Miami hotel would be the same. BUT BEWARE: we went to the Mandalay Hill in early December when the moon festival was on. The monks chanted on loud speakers ALL NIGHT. This apparently goes on for about a week at a time. The Rupar Mandalar was beautiful, food was great and staff very helpful. It was wonderfully quiet at night. A great sleep to get you on your way in the morning.

Room Tip: We had a room with a porch that overlooked the gardens and entrance driveway. Nice big room all in wood. Very nice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelgroup-CanAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews