We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I went on holiday with two friends in June. We choose this hotel because it was cheap, and we all felt it was good value for money.
Our room was small and basic, but everything was clean. The facilities were all great- there is a very large pool, and then a smaller adults only pool (one of my only complaints is that there were still children around this pool, which was annoying). There was sometimes competition for sunloungers, but I think this happens everywhere.
There was a wide selection of food. Some dishes were better than others, and it did get a little repetative, but we never went hungry. The desserts were lovely and the a la cart resturants broke up the routine.
The animation team were lovely, very friendly, they ran activities in the day and performed in shows at night. I don't normally like shows, but I enjoyed them as they were really funny.
If you go with Thompson, and you are bored of sitting round the pool you should definitnately book the 2 day Sahara trip. This was an excellent trip, which sounds a little pricy (about £120) but well worth it for what you get.
Overall, excellent value for money and we had a great week.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    337
    223
    155
    183
See reviews for
685
273
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Please do not worry about the bad reveiws about this hotel as it is truly amazing. you are not worried about time, yes upon arrival you get a card telling you your lunch spots but no one checks these and we went into dinner and luch at what ever time. the hotel itself is emaculate,, its cleaned everyday and your room is also very clean. the cleaner will leave pretty decorations and flowers in your room which is lovely. the room was basic with just a desk , chair, bed, cubord wardrob and bathroom but there was platly space and very comfortable. the food here is also brilliant there is a wide variety and every luch and dinner there is always spagetti and pasta availible for the not so food adventers :) and there is also a kids food section available which is just plain food like chicken nuggets and chips. breakfast is pretty boring as in tunisia they dont do bacon or proper sauage so its pancakes ! the pool is very clean and the slides are really fun. the animation team are brilliant they are alway doing activities and games to keep everyone entertained and they always promote them as best as they can, the staff in general are really really friendly and treat you as an individual. the only fault about this hotel is the night time entertainment as it started too late and wasnt really very good but there is a bora bora club down the road and the taxis to the nearest towns which are port al kantoie and sousse, the taxi fares are only 6 diners which is £3 and there is a night market and a fun fair in the port every night so there is plenty to do. also you have to get up early to get sun loungers which is always a problem wherever you go. the hotel also always makes sure you have botteled water availible as the tunisian water will make you ill. there are many excurtions avialible such as the beach sports which is part of the hotel my partner and i did paraguilding, jet skiing and bannana boat for 90dinars which is £45 therfore £22 each ! thats only £7.50per activity !!! also ther is quad biking avaible this is brilliant it is £25 each but its for 3 hours and you see of the farnimal and allot of the farm lands of tunisia which is great!!! all in all i would recomment this hotel to anyone and had the most amazing holiday !!!!
ignore all bad reviews, bad reviews are put on here by people that dont look at the whole picture and are negative.
AMAZING HOLIDAY !!!!!!!


also shopping AND SIGHT SEEING is great and CHEAP !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieHowkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Just come back and to be honest l didn't know what to expect after reading the reviews but l was pleasently surprised!
Even l wouldn't say it was 4 star, it was clean and the staff were very friendly even with the long, long hours they work and still smile. It's true, give them a tip and they will look after you, not even having to go to the bar as they will bring it to your lounger, which was great.
Animation team made the holiday, without them it would have been boring, day and night, they were better during the day playing games with the holidaymakers, at night they put on shows, not brilliant but ok, as nothing else to do unless you went out.
Going out is cheap, as taxis only 6 dns to each nearest resort, and eating out and drinking also cheap, as the exchange rate is 2.2 dns to our pound!!!
Rooms very basic but clean but quite small the numer of people using them, but then you only sleep in them.
After going on all inclusive holidays for over ten years, this as to be the worst, and l would not advise anybody who likes going out alot to go, because if you miss your food slot you get NOTHING. I think its disgusting that you go on an all inclusive holiday and get told when to eat, and you don't get a choice, just handed a card on arrival with your times on. I had to complain as l didn't want to eat my dinner between 6.30 and 7.45pm, so they gave me another card. What is the point of going on a relaxing holiday when you have to work your daily activities around set meal times, l have never seen anything like it in my years of travelling. So because of this, there is a herd of people waiting for the resturant doors to open at their set time, and when they do open its MAYHEM, hands grabbing at anything and everything edible, l advise anybody to wait at least 20min after slot time to go in.
I found the whole holiday experience very regimental, everything based around time, so you were clock watching more than relaxing. Again kids ice cream only available at 4pm so its was a herd of people queing again, not the type of holiday l would ever want to experience again from an all inclusive holiday, again you "get what you pay for", in this hotel not alot!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2010

If like me your heading out to this hotel and are a little bit worried about the reviews on here, then dont be. What a hotel!!! Im only home about 6 hours and Im desperate to go back. So where do I start? The bar staff perhaps? They are great! Our glasses were never empty. Even laying beside the pool, the barman would come with a tray of drinks (two lager & two cocktails). Ok, we did tip at the start of the week and I don't necessarily think this is the way to go because you should have to provide a service to be tipped but remember your in Tunisia and a few dinars go a long way. Also, please and thank you help things along. I noticed most other nationalities were very rude and you could see the staff weren't impressed by this. Next, the "Animation Team". Absolutely fantastic! These guys made the holiday. Starting work at around 9am and not finishing until 11pm and managing to keep a smile on your face the whole time. These guys were very enthusiastic, trying to involve you in all of the games and activities throughout the day. Things like darts, archery, football, water polo, French bowls, dance lessons etc. Without these guys our holiday would have been pretty boring as we only went on a few excursions while we were away. Dont get me wrong, there are plenty of things to do on the beach. Banana boats, para sailing, jet ski etc but im not really one for water sports. Next the food. Im not going to lie. Its not great. Mostly catered for the French/Italians. I managed to find something to eat but my fiancé struggled to find thing she liked. But if you dont like the food there are plenty of places to eat outside of the hotel for really good prices. There's a cracking steak house about 5 minutes walk if you turn left when you come out the hotel entrance. About 70 dinars for two 3 course meals! Anyway, I could bang on about this hotel all day. All I can say is, dont be put off by the bad reviews on here and go and enjoy yourselves and I hope your trip to the Thalassa Sousse is as good as mine was.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithdeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I've just come back from a week at the Thalassa and must say that i was a bit anxious before i went after reading some reviews posted on here. What i would say right from the start is ignore all of the terrible views because they're just not justified.

Firstly, lets get the facts straight. It's a relatively cheap, 4* Tunisian hotel so don't go there expecting The Ritz because you'll be disappointed. Secondly, Tunisia is a developing country so don't expect the sort of mod cons usually taken for granted in more Western locations.

We arrived into Monastir Airport at around the same time as another chartered flight and the arrivals hall was, to be frank, chaos! It's hot, disorganised and the staff to seem to be extremely surly (more on this later). We later found out that they're in the midst of building a new "super airport" further north of Monastir and all tour operators will be flying into the new airport by next Spring. However, if you're going this year then be prepared for a queue!

Once through the queues it was onto the coach and off to the hotel. Usually the journey from airport to hotel is fairly scenic, not so with Tunisia. Be prepared to see half built/half derelict houses, stray dogs, rubbish on the roadsides and a general feeling of uncivilisation but remember, it's still a developing country and was a third world country not too long ago.

It all changed upon arrival at the hotel thought, we were met by porters who immediately took our cases whilst we went through to a massive, bright and airy reception area. Check-in took a matter of minutes and we were taken directly to our rooms. Due to a bit of confusion (lost in translation) the rooms weren't idea for the party we were travelling in, but a 2 minute chat to the duty manager changed all that and the rooms we got were exactly what we wanted. They're not luxurious but they're quite spacious and very very clean. Do be warned that the rooms only have 2 sockets (one in the bedroom where the TV plugs in and one in the bathroom where the hair dryer plugs in). To be fair, me and my friend had hair dryers/straighteners/an ipod speaker and various phone chargers but we really didn't find it too much of a problem! But if you do, then again, speak to reception and ask for a multipoint adaptor and it won't be a problem!

The hotel itself is lovely and having stayed at quite a few All Inclusive resorts i can safely say that this was well above my expectations. It clearly wasn't designed and built as an all inclusive resort as it's just too nice but i'm not complaining! The hotel does offer a kids club and has various activities for kids, however they clearly don't major on this and as party of 4 adults we were very pleased to see that the place wasn't overrun with children!! There is an advertised adults only pool but this rule seems to be disregarded as there were always kids in the pool but the larger pool is the one with the music and the slides so this is where most of the families tend to congregate. Be warned, the loungers get reserved very early. We were out by 8.45am most mornings and found that the majority of the loungers already had towels over them!!!! There's also a gym and indoor swimming pool but i didn't feel the need to visit!!!

The resort has the main buffet restaurant and also 2 A La Carte restaurants but we found the range at the buffet to be excellent so didn't bother with the other 2 eateries. Breakfast is pretty standard, with meats, cheeses and pastries in the continental fashion and many of the usual british breakfast standards. Be warned, we didn't see bacon on offer but then it is a Muslim country so this shouldn't be a massive shock. The omelettes and pancakes are prepared to order and are lovely. Lunch and Dinner both comprise a huge range of foods including pasta and sauces, pizza and chips and also a low fat "dietary" offering. The rest of the food is pretty varied but i don't imagine anyone struggling to find something nice! Many guests did seem to take the All Inclusive element as an excuse to pig out which i find rather greedy but each to their own i guess. Make sure you check out the veranda buffet section as they often have freshly cooked meats which during our stay included fresh Swordfish and Tuna carved directly in front of you by the chef! I've never seen this sort of food at an All Inclusive Buffett!! To cut down on crowding during meal times they split it up into 2 different sittings and this is made known to you at your initial check in. The sittings are either 12.30pm-1.30pm for lunch and 6.30pm-7.45pm for dinner or 2pm-3pm for lunch and 8.15pm-9.30pm for dinner. We were on the later sitting which suited us perfectly and also reduced the number of kids running arounf the place. If the sitting that you're given doesn't suit, rather than whinge, just go and speak to reception because they will change it round for you. The staff in the restaurant seem to like you to sit at the same place for each sitting, this means that they can build up a rapport with you and means they're more likely to get a tip. This may seem a bit presumptious but the average full time wage in Tunisia is 350 Dinar per month which is less than £175 so i think they probably rely heavily on their tips just to survive. Similarly, all of the bar staff will make the effort to remember your drinks orders and will carry out table service and are so grateful for any tips. Tipping is a way of life in Tunisia as it is in many middle Eastern countries.

As far as entertainment goes, there is some sort of act every night in the Amphitheatre and although we didn't go, they did seem very popular judging by the reaction when "showtime" was announced!! This did mean that the lovely out door lounge/bar area got very quiet so getting a seat was never a problem!

We did go to the Medina in Sousse and it is an experience, but it can be quite intimidating as the locals try to tempt you into their shops! Cheaper than Asda Price and Cheaper than Primark seem to be their favourite phrases! However, if you go with an open mind and don't mind a haggle then it's a good way to spend a couple of hours! We also booked a half day excursion to El Jem to see the Colleseum which, for £20 each was well worth it.

All in all, i had a fantastic week at a beautiful hotel and can't wait to go back. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone but please feel free to email me if you want more information!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazzy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We really did enjoy our holiday however the hotel really did give it more bad points than we would of liked and we definatly will not go back to this hotel or to this part of tunisia.
The rooms were very basic, the staff were rude and not helpful at all (there was a handful of staff that were very pleasent but they were only on for a few hours in the day). With it being winter everything was shut. The enterainment was ok but we didnt sit through one whole show, locally there was nothing to do and we didnt feel comfortable in sousse we much prefered port el kantoui, we were hassaled on the beech every time we went out so opted to stay by the pool. The biggest issue for myself was the food, it was the exact same every other day it was cold and not appertising at all. I found a burger place about 10 mins away from the hotel and it was the nicest thing i ate lol. The internet/computer never works there, you are given drinks in glasses that last for two swallows and there isnt much choice in drinks, there was nothing to eat inbetween meals, however towards the end of our trip we found out that a small platter of left overs were being put out inbetween brekfast and lunch and then after supper (about 11pm) it was a small platter of not stuff i wouldnt give to my dog to feed hundreds of guests! if you wanna go to Tunisia go to Port el kantoui defintaly not to this hotel unless you wanna go hungry!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sami08697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We had a brilliant time from the moment we checked in. All staff including the animation team were brilliant. Thank you all.

From
Shonah and Allan

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
1.2 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,123 reviews
1.0 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,010 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark

Property: Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Address: 2011 Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4000, Tunisia (Formerly LTI Thalassa Sousse)
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an unbeatable situation on a golden sandy beach along the Mediterranean Sea, just a few steps from the vibrant city of Sousse, this luxurious hotel offers the perfect choice for holidaymakers eager to explore something out of the ordinary and spice up their sun holidays with a range of outstanding services. Close to El Kantaoui Marina and just a 30-minute drive from the Monastir International Aiport, the comfortable rooms are spread over 3 floors. Those travellers wishing to enjoy full privacy may prefer the comfortable bungalows overlooking the pools or the beach and providing its own terrace. Guests staying at this establishment may find a wide range of dining options including international cuisine, Tunisian specialities and different bars offering the best place to share moments with the family or friends. The magnificent water park offers the young ones the best place to have a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Thalassa Sousse Hotel Sousse
Lti Thalassa Hotel Sousse
Sousse Lti Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing