We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
South Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Well what can I say stayed here in June & had an amazing holiday & after being home for one week we rebooked to go back in October! Just got back from another amazing 2 weeks!! Hotel all in all is beautiful and kept very clean at all times! Food lovely and alot of selection especially the chicken nuggets Reception staff & bar staff very helpful and always polite especially Bridgader Hosni in the american bar- such a lovely guy and always has a smile on his face! Animation team always happy & definately entertaining! Especially Mido, Mamado, Raoule & dido! Have been a great laugh & made our holiday! Wouldnt of been as good without you all!! Sad to see some of the team no longer there like Kiki, gogo and speedy!!! Loved being invited to Momos wedding! what an experience and lovely to have met the families & managed to see other parts of Africa.Miss you all but will definately be back to see you all!! Last of all would like to thank Mr Mark Vine for making it the best 2 weeks ever wouldny of been the same without you! Loved every minute of it with you and could not stop crying when we had to leave you!! Cannot wait to see you again! many more fun times and hardworking times ahead! Will be back very soon to see you again! Would definately recommend this hotel to everyone!!! Amazing holiday and cannot wait to come back next year

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarrisonRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    332
    221
    154
    175
See reviews for
668
270
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Was amazed at the size of the place, like a village, quite a walk from reception to there own beach,
You need to be selective when choosing accommodation as arround the main pool is noisy, arround the quiet pool is best and certain bits in between, on the beach is good but dark at night and a long walk to main areas, Beach bar and restaurant only open certain daytime hours.
ON THE UP SIDE
5 restaurants, both large and quiet swimming pools, accommodation OK, Water park is big, great if you are a good swimmer which I am not

DOWNSIDE
Food mostly cold as they only have cold plates and by the time you find a table the hot food is cold,
They charge for WiFi on a hour, day, or week basis, should be free these days, and only available near reception,
The Mediteranian restaurant was a waste of time, half the menu was missing,and in Tunisian,and the waiter could not speak english to tell us what things were,
Main complaint was the air con was turned off and a job to sleep, sat outside on a chair one night because it was so hot, was 33 to 35 during the day,
Drinks were beer, wine, whiskey, and gin, very small measure unless you bribe the waiter, and very often in a small plastic cup sometimes in a glass.
All in all if you are a bit switched on you can overcome the downside and have a good time.
Brian and Katrina Portsmouth brian35@uwclub.net

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the quiet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wave129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOrthamptonshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our first family package holiday and we thought that overall the hotel and facilities were excellent. The water park was brilliant, lots of variety and not too busy, our room was close to the slides but it did not seem that any rooms were that far away from all the facilities.
The hotel is actually on the beach and there were plenty of sunbeds available as well as a beach cafe and bar, alongside were also sports courts (and some water sports stuff for hire). The sea was clear enough for snorkelling and some rock pools could be found further along the sand. The beach was not particularly big when the tide was in and not immaculate, there were bits of rubbish here and there but this was in keeping with the general standard along the Sousse coast line.
The selection of pools meant the children had plenty of choice and the enthusiastic 'animation team' kept everyone active with dances and organised sports.
The staff were a real credit to the hotel, from the ladies cleaning the rooms to the waiters and bar staff all were friendly and chirpy throughout our stay, as many have noted in previous reviews, our mealtimes were brightened up by 'mr happy' who decorated the table each time and knew what we would like to drink before we did!
Mostly the hotel is very attractive looking, blending contemporary with local charm. The grounds in places look a bit tired, however they were cleaned almost all the time so we had no worries that underneath a chipped or scuffed surface was a very clean hotel. A lot of Sousse looks like it has seen better days, but from various bits of rubble are emerging some lovely looking new buildings.
The only thing that stopped me scoring this hotel 5/5 was the food and drink. Whilst not unpleasant it was just not right. Often the soft drinks were not mixed properly so they would either be too, too syrupy strong, or not carbonated enough, or too weak... you get the idea. The beer however was fine :-)
I think a lot of problem with the food was that it was not designed for our ignorant english pallet, perhaps this is reflective of the numerous guests from russia, germany and other places who seemed fine with it all. Whilst there are 4 different restaurants (main, tunisian/mediteranean, beach, english) all seemed to serve the same food, each mealtime we would tip up full of enthusiasm only to see it was still pizza, pasta, wierd meat and dodgy looking veg! As someone who is always keen to try something new, I did, my family are able to prove the adage that ignorance is bliss as I was the only one who needed to spend 4 days in close proximity to the lavatory! On a plus there was always freshly baked bread which was delicious and some biscuits filled with nutella type stuff so we didn't starve!
We were a bit disappointed to never find the snack bar mentioned in the brochure that served burgers, or the italian restaurant, and that the Moorish cafe was not open the whole time we were there, I think First Choice may need to talk over with the hotel what is in their brochure if people are going for the food, like I said we were happy enough with a few fizzy drinks and plates of pasta because we were too busy zooming up and down slides but without 4 energetic children I may not have been so satisfied!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreatMoleAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd time I've been to this hotel , back in 2010 the hotel was amazing but unfortunately this time i was very disappointed , the hotel appeared dirty and run down , no lights , soap or hand towels in any of the public toilets , pool toilets were dreadful . The food was poor and repeated daily , we ate out most days .

The American bar was nothing American no imported drinks, no ice cream available at all , plastic cups , no fridges in rooms , wifi was charged at 5tnd per hour . Interior seating Very dated and in need of a refurbishment and a deep clean this hotel Should be amazing as it once was the staff were all miserable as the hotel Closes in 2 weeks and they all loose their jobs .

The water park was amazing such great fun , the pool and grounds are lovely the bungalows are very nice but overall needs some tlc to bring it back to the hotel it once was .

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashflipside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel and grounds itself is lovely and clean.Room had a massive comfortable bed and balcony for sitting.Restaurant was fine but the chairs could be replaced as some were dirty,wobbly or in need of fixing or restoration.Plates and bowls were all chipped.Food was ok but after a week it became repetitive.Some slides in the aqua park were closed sometimes as there wasn't enough water flow and a few guests getting hurt.Lifeguards at the slides were leaving their posts and using the slides themselves rather than concentrating on the safety of the guests.Animation team too busy sometimes chatting up girls and girl in the dj booth with one of them.Young guests allowed behind bar helping themselves to drinks and causing problems for guests etc.Eventually security had to remove them from behind bar.This hotel could be really great with a little bit of restoration and some staff concentrating on their jobs.We had to wait a day and a half to get our safety deposit box unlocked so that we could use it.Disorganised in parts.Our waiter Abdessalem Rmili in restaurant was very helpful and friendly as was the young man in the american bar who made the special cocktails.Some bars would run out of drinks.we noticed a smell in the room sometimes a bit like drains and smell of drains in complex.Its a shame because with some changes this could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeniseLairdHerriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We didn't realise when booking, but this is actually a water park with loads of flumes on a lovely hotel complex! The grounds are nice, right on the beach, food and drink plentiful- you could probably eat 24/7, and the staff are friendly. Rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels, and sometimes fresh flowers! We didn't actually leave the complex- there was no need as we had everything we wanted on site!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are bungalows- some right on the beach and others nearer the hotel facilities. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is the fourth time we have been to this hotel and have just booked to go back again next year. It is in a beautiful location, and central to sousse, the main town and port el kantoui of which both are just a short taxi ride away.
I cannot praise the people of this lovely country enough, they are humble, friendly and cannot do enough for you. We have made some lovely friends and continue to be in contact with them on a regular basis. The hotel itself is lovely and well set out, the patio with its comfy sofas is a lovely area to sit and have a coffee or a cedratine with ice (like grand marnier, ... gorjus) The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, we have only ever stayed in the bungalows ,and this year we asked for one just near the pool which we got and it was so handy for everything. The entertainment staff work tirelessley day and night to entertain you, but you never feel pushed into doing anything if you dont want to .. They have some great shows with brilliant dancers, altho the comedy ones we felt were a bit dated ... different nationalities seemed to love them tho. just us british have more of a sarcastic or observational sense of humour. . Have to mention carlos who is like the white tornado dashing here there and everywhere, hyperactive and never fails to make you laugh, dido (our coffee break friend) gogo (our dear friend of 4 years, like one of the family) midou (the gentle one) with ace shoes ) raoul (quiet but always has a smile and fab dancer ) ) and speedy (brilliant dancer and non stop energy) we class these people as friends and hope to see them next year. The reception staff Hamed and Aymen in particular are lovely and such gentlemen, and always willing to help .. the waiters. well cannot praise them enough for the attentiveness, too numerous to mention by name but they work their socks off waiting on you hand and foot day and night in the searing heat and nothing is too much trouble .. It is things like this that all go towards making the perfect holiday. One early morning i was sat outside my room on the patio just reading, when a waiter just appeared out of nowhere (didnt think anyone could see me ) and brought me a lovely creamy coffee in a glass then disppeared before i could even get my money to give him a tip . That goes a long way with me and my husband. The beach is fabulous, and the security guards willl reserve you a bed wherever u want one (a small tip goes a long way) we went one morning and there were two beds right next to the sea (we asked to be there) and a table in the middle .. felt like royalty walking past everyone to our alloted beds hehe.
If i had to pick any bad ponts it would be to say the food wasnt always great. some days it was like school dinners, but it had started to improve towards the end of our stay, and i am assured that by next season plans were being put in place to bring this back up to scratch; we have been other years and it has been fabulous, so much choice and beautifully set out so am looking forward to seeing this again , also the air conditioning in reception wasnt always turned on making it very uncomfortable at times. The guest relation officer MARK VINE was a dedicated professional whom made it his prioroty to ensure the guests needs and any problems were attended to promptly and this was especially good because he was english and understood the needs of the people .. we had many nice chats and he was always available and willing to talk and we miss that. In 2014 it will become a thomson splash hotel and the rooms are being upgraded and additional ones being built so we are excited to see the outcome of this. The water slides are sensational, the area is seperate from the main pool so that is good if you just want to chill, but they are really beautifully laid out, and even if you dont want to try them it is fascianting watching others. All in all this was perhaps the best time we have been to this hotel, I cannot praise it enough, there is an excellent shop/small boutique on site with all the usual gifts you would find, toiletries and beach wear etc if you didnt want to venture outside the hotel ;(which would be a shame) and marcel and the staff work 12 hours a day and speak several languages of which has to be admired. There is also a health and beauty spa which offers massages, turkish baths, manicures, pedicures etc at very reasonable prices., there is also a small gym and an indoor swimming pool in addition to the other pools , one of which is a relax pool where it is lovely and quiet and away from the main area. This hotel is suitable for families and couples, Ignore any negative reviews, you have to go and see for yourself and you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the pool/ main bar area bungalows 107 to 115 (family room) are your best opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank denisechadburn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SENSIMAR Scheherazade
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#13 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark

Property: Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011, Sousse 4039, Tunisia (Formerly LTI Thalassa Sousse)
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an unbeatable situation on a golden sandy beach along the Mediterranean Sea, just a few steps from the vibrant city of Sousse, this luxurious hotel offers the perfect choice for holidaymakers eager to explore something out of the ordinary and spice up their sun holidays with a range of outstanding services. Close to El Kantaoui Marina and just a 30-minute drive from the Monastir International Aiport, the comfortable rooms are spread over 3 floors. Those travellers wishing to enjoy full privacy may prefer the comfortable bungalows overlooking the pools or the beach and providing its own terrace. Guests staying at this establishment may find a wide range of dining options including international cuisine, Tunisian specialities and different bars offering the best place to share moments with the family or friends. The magnificent water park offers the young ones the best place to have a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Travelocity so you can book your Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Thalassa Sousse Hotel Sousse
Lti Thalassa Hotel Sousse
Sousse Lti Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing