We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but a few things let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but a few things let it down”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel and grounds itself is lovely and clean.Room had a massive comfortable bed and balcony for sitting.Restaurant was fine but the chairs could be replaced as some were dirty,wobbly or in need of fixing or restoration.Plates and bowls were all chipped.Food was ok but after a week it became repetitive.Some slides in the aqua park were closed sometimes as there wasn't enough water flow and a few guests getting hurt.Lifeguards at the slides were leaving their posts and using the slides themselves rather than concentrating on the safety of the guests.Animation team too busy sometimes chatting up girls and girl in the dj booth with one of them.Young guests allowed behind bar helping themselves to drinks and causing problems for guests etc.Eventually security had to remove them from behind bar.This hotel could be really great with a little bit of restoration and some staff concentrating on their jobs.We had to wait a day and a half to get our safety deposit box unlocked so that we could use it.Disorganised in parts.Our waiter Abdessalem Rmili in restaurant was very helpful and friendly as was the young man in the american bar who made the special cocktails.Some bars would run out of drinks.we noticed a smell in the room sometimes a bit like drains and smell of drains in complex.Its a shame because with some changes this could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeniseLairdHerriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    333
    221
    154
    176
See reviews for
672
270
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We didn't realise when booking, but this is actually a water park with loads of flumes on a lovely hotel complex! The grounds are nice, right on the beach, food and drink plentiful- you could probably eat 24/7, and the staff are friendly. Rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels, and sometimes fresh flowers! We didn't actually leave the complex- there was no need as we had everything we wanted on site!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are bungalows- some right on the beach and others nearer the hotel facilities. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is the fourth time we have been to this hotel and have just booked to go back again next year. It is in a beautiful location, and central to sousse, the main town and port el kantoui of which both are just a short taxi ride away.
I cannot praise the people of this lovely country enough, they are humble, friendly and cannot do enough for you. We have made some lovely friends and continue to be in contact with them on a regular basis. The hotel itself is lovely and well set out, the patio with its comfy sofas is a lovely area to sit and have a coffee or a cedratine with ice (like grand marnier, ... gorjus) The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, we have only ever stayed in the bungalows ,and this year we asked for one just near the pool which we got and it was so handy for everything. The entertainment staff work tirelessley day and night to entertain you, but you never feel pushed into doing anything if you dont want to .. They have some great shows with brilliant dancers, altho the comedy ones we felt were a bit dated ... different nationalities seemed to love them tho. just us british have more of a sarcastic or observational sense of humour. . Have to mention carlos who is like the white tornado dashing here there and everywhere, hyperactive and never fails to make you laugh, dido (our coffee break friend) gogo (our dear friend of 4 years, like one of the family) midou (the gentle one) with ace shoes ) raoul (quiet but always has a smile and fab dancer ) ) and speedy (brilliant dancer and non stop energy) we class these people as friends and hope to see them next year. The reception staff Hamed and Aymen in particular are lovely and such gentlemen, and always willing to help .. the waiters. well cannot praise them enough for the attentiveness, too numerous to mention by name but they work their socks off waiting on you hand and foot day and night in the searing heat and nothing is too much trouble .. It is things like this that all go towards making the perfect holiday. One early morning i was sat outside my room on the patio just reading, when a waiter just appeared out of nowhere (didnt think anyone could see me ) and brought me a lovely creamy coffee in a glass then disppeared before i could even get my money to give him a tip . That goes a long way with me and my husband. The beach is fabulous, and the security guards willl reserve you a bed wherever u want one (a small tip goes a long way) we went one morning and there were two beds right next to the sea (we asked to be there) and a table in the middle .. felt like royalty walking past everyone to our alloted beds hehe.
If i had to pick any bad ponts it would be to say the food wasnt always great. some days it was like school dinners, but it had started to improve towards the end of our stay, and i am assured that by next season plans were being put in place to bring this back up to scratch; we have been other years and it has been fabulous, so much choice and beautifully set out so am looking forward to seeing this again , also the air conditioning in reception wasnt always turned on making it very uncomfortable at times. The guest relation officer MARK VINE was a dedicated professional whom made it his prioroty to ensure the guests needs and any problems were attended to promptly and this was especially good because he was english and understood the needs of the people .. we had many nice chats and he was always available and willing to talk and we miss that. In 2014 it will become a thomson splash hotel and the rooms are being upgraded and additional ones being built so we are excited to see the outcome of this. The water slides are sensational, the area is seperate from the main pool so that is good if you just want to chill, but they are really beautifully laid out, and even if you dont want to try them it is fascianting watching others. All in all this was perhaps the best time we have been to this hotel, I cannot praise it enough, there is an excellent shop/small boutique on site with all the usual gifts you would find, toiletries and beach wear etc if you didnt want to venture outside the hotel ;(which would be a shame) and marcel and the staff work 12 hours a day and speak several languages of which has to be admired. There is also a health and beauty spa which offers massages, turkish baths, manicures, pedicures etc at very reasonable prices., there is also a small gym and an indoor swimming pool in addition to the other pools , one of which is a relax pool where it is lovely and quiet and away from the main area. This hotel is suitable for families and couples, Ignore any negative reviews, you have to go and see for yourself and you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the pool/ main bar area bungalows 107 to 115 (family room) are your best opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank denisechadburn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed at the thalassa from August 28th for 2weeks, from the second we entered the hotel we were welcome with open arms, the hotel manger mark was fantastic throughout the holiday, the hotel maids were excellent, all staff made our holiday what it was, but the animation team were absolutely fantastic, if it wasn't for all the animation team our holiday wouldn't not have been as fun or entertaining, we spent the 2wks becoming friends and even had a taste of Tunisian culture with their help, if the same team are at the hotel In 2014 then we will be returning, the events/excursion azziza team on site were 100% above boRd and legal and made our holiday that little bit extra special with their trips and excursions, a must see/do pirate ship, camel riding, quad biking. The hotel Food was good, hotel spotlessly clean and pool area and water park were very safe and top quality, I can not wait to return in 2014 so a big thank you to every one at thalassa and see you all soon xxxx

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoesouthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was one of the best holidays I've ever had. My sister and I traveled with Thompson and had no problems at all with the flight. We had a late evening flight, so arrived about 11ish and it took about an hour to reclaim our luggage. We had arranged a taxi transfer from the airport to the hotel (good idea to spend a little extra), which meant that we left before the coaches. When we pulled up at the security gates outside the hotel, my heart sank a little as it looked a little rundown. But once through the main gates, we were greated with a bright and clean reception. We were shown to our room, by the very friendly porter and left to settle in.

The rooms are basic, but very clean, plus how long do you actually spend in your room? We received clean towels, had our beds made and our bathroom and floors cleaned everyday. We tipped the chambermaid 1 Dinar a day and then 10 Dinar on our last day.

We ate in the main restaurant and our waiter 'Mr Happy' was very attentive. He likes to have english people in his section and he will remember your names and what you like to drink, whether you tip him or not. We also ate in the English restaurant, where again the staff are very attentive, especially Freddie the waiter and Ben the Manager. It's worth trying the Mediterranean restaurant, lovely food. You can literally get food and drink 24/7. We tipped our waiters 5 Dinar for lunch and dinner. The food was good, but it's a bit of a rush, when the main restaurant first opens. We prefered to have a later sitting.

The animation team were brilliant. Not only are they trying to keep everybody entertained throughout the day, whether you are poolside or on the beach, they put on a show every evening as well. They are always happy and their enthusiasm is infectious.

We chose to spend our time on the beach. The security staff on the beach will help you find sunloungers and if you tip a couple of dinar a day, they will reserve them for you in a spot of your choosing. They also keep all the sarong and trinket sellers away from you, if you're not interested in buying anything.

All the bar staff treat you like long lost friends and always want to talk to you. As soon as they see your glass is empty, they will bring you a fresh drink.

The Thompson rep Chloe was very nice, helpful and always happy to see us. She answered all our silly questions. We also met Mark Vine, the Guest Relations Manager, who again was very happy to help, answer questions and also have a chat.

As our flight home, wasn't until 11.10pm, we booked a late checkout. Worth doing as we kept our room until 6pm. We spent our final day on the beach and were able to shower and get ready for our trip home. We put our cases in a side room, once we'd checked out and then had dinner. When our taxi arrived to take us to the airport, the porter came to find us in the restaurant. Because of the taxi transfer, we got to the airport before the coaches and were actually waiting for about 15 minutes at the check in desk before it opened. We didn't have to queue to get through passport control or anything.

Only change your money (you can do this in the hotel) little and often as the hotel will not change it back for you and if you have any dinars left, try to spend them before you get to the airport as security will only let you take 5 dinar through each and they will take the rest of the money off you. If you want any duty free, you can pay in sterling.

Overall, I have never been to a hotel where the staff are as friendly as they are here and I would definately book in here again and I have already recommended this hotel to friends.

I haven't rated the children's activities or the spa as we didn't have kids with us and we never used the spa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our first family holiday abroad,and I wouldn't fault it.The hotel in itself was clean and laid out nicely. There's 2 swimming pools (main ones) and a fantastic kids pool. For the adults and bigger kids there's big slides and a daring slide called the tsunami...that is a must!!!
rooms were really spacious and clean. Beds were made daily and towels changed too. We stayed in a bungalow facing the med sea and totally loved the view.Food was great as there's other restaurants you can book yourself to eat in. i.e there's an English restaurant and a Lebanese one which are all inclusive if you go all inclusive).
very polite members of staff you liked to call some us their friends and we had a giggle with them too.I would recommend anyone with kids to go to Thalassa as the aqua pools keep them busy.
the only downside is we had to come back home...wish we'd stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I can not stress how amazing this hotel is. PLEASE READ!
Upon arrival we were a bit worried, arriving late on the night with no rep we felt a little abandoned but as soon as the porter showed us to our room we felt settled in.
Easy to find your way around, especially seen as this is the first time without parents abroad and in a hotel resort we were a bit nervous.
On the Monday morning, the staff were welcoming and friendly, couldn't do more for you.
On the evenings we spent all our time in the beach side bar, chatting to the staff who were so nice we soon felt like they were good friends.
My biggest shout out goes to the Animation Team. From day one, they were going around talking to everyone, getting people involved and having a laugh with the guests. If you go to this hotel, you must meet Go Go, KiKi, DiDo and Speedy, they always had a smile on their faces, were great with all the kids and when leaving it was heart breaking to leave friends behind.
I don't know where the Animation team get their energy from (although they sat and had a few coffees with us so they would have helped) If they were dancing by the pool, playing volley ball, water polo or darts they were dancing around and playing tricks on the guests. After all of that, GoGo would shout "SHOWTIME" and they would dance, do comedy shows and games in the dome theater. I have fallen in love with the staff at this hotel and would gladly go back just to see them again!
The aircon was a little on and off and the initial welcome a little strange but once after the first day i couldn't have been happier with our choice.
On our last day, we were not leaving until 6 on the evening but checkout was by 12. So, checked out, stored our suitcases and continued our relaxing time by playing darts (Strangest darts game i've played!)
There was some rain on the Saturday and Sunday, the lightening was really beautiful but nothing stopped the team from running around like crazy.
Just got home earlier this morning and already i miss being there and the friends i made. I truly recommend this hotel for families as you won't find more caring and playful team members to entertain them, giving you that bit of a break.
I have so many fond memories of my time here and although just back, can't wait to return.
I will warn you though, if travelling with Thompson don't expect much from the rep, i didn't find her helpful in the slightest, only thing she did was book the excursions and exaggerate a little about what they included.
The bar staff are lovely, we tipped on the first night and after that were looked after. Look out for the guy i named "ILOVEYOU". He is there on the afternoons/evenings, always has a smile on his face and tells everyone that he loves them.
A BIG BIG BIG thank you to all the staff and animation team, you truly made my holiday amazing and i hope you're all there when i return next year!!
PS - Please ignore the negative reviews, when booking this trip i saw them and if anything it sounds like people just enjoy moaning. You're on holiday, just relax and don't let little things get to you.
PSS - Little advice about the flight home! There is a reason we left the hotel at 6 and didn't get through all the security until 9! If you are travelling with a Travel Company, get the coach as they time it so you have just enough time to get through. If you plan on making your own way there you do need at least 2 hours to get through the security and that was with quite a small queue infront of us!
Try to change your money, little and often to save time changing it back at the airport. We had 20 TND left and gave it to GoGo for his birthday and as a thank you (He bullied me all week :P)
Erm, anymore advice..
Tip the staff for good service, talk to the people who work their, they are the loveliest people i've met and work hard to keep everyone happy.
There is a photographer on site, lovely guy again. (Try to mess up his hair, the reaction is so funny!)
Oh! ON the last night we left our key in the room by accident, reception sorted it all out pretty quickly though. You get one key per room, bath towels, hand towels, shower gel/shampoo and sheets changed daily but it might not be done until 2 in the afternoon i think was the latest i returned to grab something and found a cleaner in there.. Big of an awkward moment. :P
The waterpark is great, not just for the kids either! On the hottest day, i sat by the bottom of a slide just to get splashed every now and then by someone flying down them full speed.
Definitely try to go to the shows, the dancing is amazing, things go wrong but in a funny way rather than curtain down wrong. Also! If asked to go on stage for one of the games, throw your inhibitions away and just do it. You'll love it!
Rambling slightly but I'd hate to miss something.
I'll just finish by saying this hotel is for all ages. Plenty of shade, sun beds, activities. On the night, after a full day of running around, then the animation show, the entertainers go to disco's, foam parties and beach parties! Don't know how they do it, really don't.

ANYWAY!
BIG BIG THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF AT THIS HOTEL, HOPEFULLY SEE YOU NEXT YEAR!!

From, as you kept calling us - The Crazy Girls. :)

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room of a night, i'd suggest getting one nearer to the beach. We were in a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
1.6 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark

Property: Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Address: 2011 Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4000, Tunisia (Formerly LTI Thalassa Sousse)
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an unbeatable situation on a golden sandy beach along the Mediterranean Sea, just a few steps from the vibrant city of Sousse, this luxurious hotel offers the perfect choice for holidaymakers eager to explore something out of the ordinary and spice up their sun holidays with a range of outstanding services. Close to El Kantaoui Marina and just a 30-minute drive from the Monastir International Aiport, the comfortable rooms are spread over 3 floors. Those travellers wishing to enjoy full privacy may prefer the comfortable bungalows overlooking the pools or the beach and providing its own terrace. Guests staying at this establishment may find a wide range of dining options including international cuisine, Tunisian specialities and different bars offering the best place to share moments with the family or friends. The magnificent water park offers the young ones the best place to have a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Thalassa Sousse Hotel Sousse
Lti Thalassa Hotel Sousse
Sousse Lti Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing