We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't believe the nah sayers!! GREAT hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I read all the reviews on this place before we went so I felt well prepared to get the best out of it and to not be too disappointed by the worst. The hotel looks great when you arrive but please please don't prejudge the hotel by any little negatives on your arrival with regard to how they organize the main change over day here.
We did feel a tiny bit lost and uncared for when we turned up because our flight was extremely early, so we arrived late morning. However they don't check the rooms out till after midday and they need cleaning, so no rooms are ready before 2pm. We made the mistake of being still dressed for our 3am check in in the UK and in hindsight I would have made sure I had my swim wear/ towels etc handy in my hand luggage to change into, so I could have made the most out of our first day.
As it was, the staff were all flat out and even though the Lovely Marc ( the hotels English Liaison manager ) did his best to get round to everyone and try and get us all orientated and give us the info we needed, without a room to land in and freshen up and with all the staff flat out sorting check outs and in's, you can feel a bit at a loss. Marc did say to just go a get ourselves some lunch and he'd get us into our room as soon as it was ready. However we went to the English restaurant downstairs and were a bit disappointed with the lunch on offer as they only have a small selection down there and not much for the veggies like me- but I had the lentil soup which was delicious, but my husbands chicken cordon blue had gone a bit soggy.
That being said- that is the only negatives you'll hear from me in this review, and it's all stuff that can be overcome, so take the benefit of my hindsight- so you don't get this issue if your flight gets u there before 2pm: take a cool change of clothes/ swim wear etc in your hand luggage. All your luggage is kept outside the lobby, ready for the porters to take to your room, so you can get to it any time. There's toilets on the far right of the lobby so get changed in there and freshen up and my advice is to head straight into the big main restaurant just off the right of the lobby if its lunch time, as they have the biggest choice of food there and there is something for all tastes available. If lunch isn't ready just get your swim wear on and head straight for the pools, grab a lifeguard ( in red ) and they will find you a sun lounger and show you around.
Please, Please always tip everyone that serves you, even if its just a few dinars. You'll find as the holiday goes on that it's the staff team here that really will make your holiday that extra bit special and they work so damn hard, so don't be tight, tip/tip/tip you won't be disappointed by the wonderful service you receive from these lovely friendly staff. My husband and I nicknamed our favorite little team of staff who seemed to adopt us- as our "professional locals"- and I kid you not - they made our holiday!!!
So once the lunch and slight delay getting into our rooms was done with, everything else from then on was great. We'd emailed ahead in French ( great free app called Babylon will translate anything you write into any language) to ask for a bungalow with a pool or sea view as advised by other reviews on here. However a lot of those reviews said don't get one round the main pool 'cos of the music and animation team noise starting at 10am. Well ours was right behind the animation team hut and we loved it there. If you're a bit of an old fuddy duddy who doesn't like fun and a bit of music then by all means go the the quiet bit closer to the sea. But I loved being close to the action and the hotel bars etc. All the french doors on the bungalows are double glazed so the sound is barely heard anyway, and they've only got one fairly small speaker so it's not overpowering anyway.
Do take the time to meet your chamber maid and ask her name. We had the delectable Mme Fouzier, (our bungalow was 304) she was one of the staff who made our holiday. My husband is not an early riser so she had to always do an afternoon run to clean our room; but she never once stinted on the beautiful towel art and what I called Bed'jazzlin, (sheets arranged with flowers etc), It was always such a lovely surprise every day to come back to our room to see how prettily she'd done it, We got into a habit of doing a little tip art in return,where we'd use the flowers to rearrange a little decoration around her tip every day. We only usually left 2-3 dn a day or 5 if she'd really excelled herself, but left her 20dns and a thank you note on our last day, she always had a laugh with us if we every came back while she was cleaning our room. A little bit of interest and respect for the staff team is so appreciated by them they will go above and beyond to look after you, so take the time to get to know them and always be nice and friendly because they deserve it.
They tell you at the airport transfer to please tip as people don't stop or take breaks over there and work really hard and Tunisian pay is minuscule as they don't seem to have the same protection and labor laws as we do here.
You barely need to think you fancy a drink or something and one of the waiters will be there anticipating it.
Our favorite waiters ( our A-team professional locals):~ Agmed ( pool bar), Nassedine ( whose usually doing the 6 o'clock cocktails and does a really mean Mojito) and of course the lovely Haikel, who can be found manning the Moorish cafe and does the Hubble-bubble hookahs and peppermint tea, are all absolute stars and deserve medals for going above and beyond.
For example, my hubby and I got into a lovely little ritual of having one (or several) of Nassedine's yummy cocktails on the terrace at six, then going into the main restaurant for dinner, then down to the Moorish Cafe (below the terrace and outside the English restaurant for a hookah and tea. Even though I don't smoke and am usually a very vocal anti-smoker, I did love the hubble bubble, as it doesn't taste of tobacco and didn't make me cough even a tiny bit, and just seemed the perfect civilized way to sit out in the warm twilight- sometimes watching the electrical storms flickering lightning out to sea, letting dinner go down and just chillin'. Well Nassedine and Agmed were very, very good at making sure we always had a drink, and would come and find us where ever we were. One time we were in our usual spot enjoying our evening smoke and tea and Nassedine came to find us as usual and we ordered our drinks, but before he came back with them we got scooped up by Mamadou -one of the animation guys to come and watch their Grease rendition show at the animation amphitheater. We were sat right at the top and the back but bless him.. Nassedine had hunted for us high and low with our drinks and came and found us there. Now thats what you call good service!!!
The pools and water slides are so much fun, kept my hubby happy- he's such a big kid at heart.
The second day we both had the couples Turkish bath and massage in the hotel spa- which is only 200 dn ( about £80) bloody bargain! I'm a massage therapist and we paid a bit more to extend the 1/2 massage that comes with that package to an hr and glad we did because it was very good - if u like a deep massage just ask them. For those that don't know whats involved in a Turkish bath- or hammanet ( not sure if thats how u spell it ) it's like a glorified sauna with extras. You have a shower then still wet you get put on these lovely heated beds in the vaulted sauna type room, which opens all yours pores. Then the lovely lady there comes in and gives you a good all over rub with an ex-foliating hand mit ( great to do at the beginning of your hols as it gets all the dead skin off so you'll tan evenly) then another shower off then covered all over with mineral mud to condition the skin, then another spell on the heated beds, another shower off, then out to the relax room for a herbal type tea, and then your massage. You literally float out 2 hours later. Great way to start the holiday, so good in fact we had another one to finish it too.
I didn't do any of the excursions even though I wanted too as we just had so much stuff we wanted to do at the hotel- next year we'll do 2 weeks as one's simply not long enough, but my husband did the quad biking and had a good time but felt they should have split the group up into people with more experience and less, as he felt held up by total novices in the group.
We spent one day fully on the beach doing the water sports. My husband did the jet skiing, and had a blast, we did the paragliding in tandem and thats well worth doing as it's just so relaxing and the view is great, but I wish they gave you a bit longer up there - and the giant inflatable sofa you get towed in behind the speed boat is insane ( well it is when you have a husband that tells the boat driver to floor it ) great fun, but my forearms ached for 2 days from hanging on so tight. But if you don't like it too fast don't worry, I think they normally go quite gently. Well worth getting the photo montage CD from the beach photographers only 35 dns.and if you do all of the sports they'll put it all together on the same cd for you.
Now to the food: I have to say there are a lot of reviews on here that say negative stuff about the food and eating experience at the restaurants at Thalassa. Now our first meal in the English restaurant was a bit disappointing and to be fair once we'd been up to the main restaurant we only really ate there, except for the odd lunch at the beach cafe which is pasta and pizza with the Italian Chef, and if you want to stay by the pool the 2 snack bars under the big water slide towers do a mean sandwich for a packed lunch. You can also book into the A la carte restaurants either the beach one which does a big meat grill at night, the Tunisian ( which we did) this is a fixed meal of soup / cous cous etc, which I liked but my husband didn't cos he didn't like tomatoes and everything had tomatoes in and no other choices. But the place was beautiful and was one of the nicest evenings we had and even my husband enjoyed it as he had my meat and I ate his tomato stuff so he liked some bits. And finally the Mediterranean restaurant, which we didn't try. But you do need to get up before 9am as you have to book these places the day before at 9am outside the main restaurant in the lobby and they are popular so get there in good time or they book up.
Overall I'm a total foody and did put on weight on this holiday because I enjoyed the food and there's plenty of it. But I wouldn't be totally honest if I didn't say that the food is the one thing that needs improving and is the reason that I did um and ah a bit over whether to give the full 5 rating for this hotel. There are plenty of comments on here about how the food is samey, and how they reuse stuff and up to a point that is true. However there is a lot of choice. Big salad bar for starters, a grill where they do the nights choice of grilled meat, a pizza/ pasta bar which also does the croissants and danish for breakfast, a big stir fry area with a couple of giant paella pots ( now these are where u can find the veg from the day befores' salad eg: the tomatoes etc reused in a big pasta or cous cous dish, but so what? Like you wouldn't do that at home? I always had a big dolop of the wok food as it was often a big veggie mix and always tasted yummy. I didn't get an upset tummy all week. I can't vouch for the meat and neither can my husband cos he's a pizza and chips kind of guy. It is mass, all inclusive catering so its not going to earn any Michelin stars, but it was ok and I found plenty of stuff as a veggie to eat every night. But could it be better - then Yes absolutely. But I decided that the hotel overall deserved the full 5 rating for 2 main reasons - the staff and the fact that it was one of the best holidays I had in years, Tunisia really grows on you and if you are respectful to them they are generally really nice back.
Even in the Sousse Medina I didn't get hassled as a western woman and the shop keepers didn't hassle us, Don't get me wrong they'll try and get you into their shops but at no point did any of them make a nuisance of themselves - with one exception ~ a guy trying to sell my husband a watch in a shop on the corner of the fountain courtyard in port el Kantoui who was very rude to me when we'd had enough of his haggling and walked away, but that was the only time. Whether it was because my husband is 6'10" i don't know, but we found them all to be lovely, friendly and helpful, My hubby had a proper cut throat shave in a traditional barbers and they even threaded my eyebrows for me which was done brilliantly and I wished I'd done at the start of the week as I'd forgotten my tweezers. One shoe shop keeper tried so hard to find my husband a pair of shoes to fit his size 17 feet, and only gave up grudgingly, but then came and found us 10 mins later in the barbers and said he had arranged to get us a pair of leather flipflops made for us in this little back street tiny leather workshop. Bless them they turned him out a pair in an hour for only £40. Not bad for a bespoke pair of XXXXl shoes.
So all in all a fab time, To the hotel staff a huge thank you.

To the hotel management some hints at possible improvements: the pool bar would be great as a full time cocktail bar with proper western alcohol which people could buy as a change from the local booze, which is ok, but I would have loved to have a real Jack Daniels or be able to buy a good bottle of Proscecco. Even in all inclusives, having the option to buy an even better quality should be available. The central hut bit the animation crew use in the middle of the pool would be awesome if you lowered the inside and made that the pool bar with under water bar stools so you could swim up to and sit in the pool for a cool drink. The food could be a bit better. Finally, although we didn't really get involved with the animation team as that sort of thing doesn't interest us, I do think there was a bit of a lack of things to do in the evening. We enjoyed our night out with Mo-Mo and the animation guys at the Metalica nightclub so much it was a shame the hotel disco bar is under used and could be made into a great hotel nightclub. Most people had their hookahs outside so I never saw anyone in the inside bit of the moorish cafe, so that area could be incorporated into the nightclub bit which would just give the hotel that real extra wow factor and drinks could again be sold there as an extra if u want better quality wine etc, I also think the tables outside used for the hookahs pipes would be great if they had some board games inlaid eg: chess or backgammon, I would have loved to have my relaxed evening ritual of smoke and coffee in the Moorish cafe enhanced by a good game of backgammon. Like I said these are not criticisms just some constructive advice on possible improvements. I will be back and would be delighted if any of these ideas are taken up.
And finally: to our special crew of professional locals and to Marc a huge thank you- you made our holiday very wonderful and hopefully we'll be back with all our mates next year if we can persuade them all. Cheers !

Room Tip: 304 area nice
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna Om P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
There are newer reviews for Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

spent a week at the Thalassa Sousse 25/8 - 1/9/13 and thought would share the following. Having read many poor reviews, we weren't at all sure of what to expect but am hapy to say I am not sure where any of the negatiivity came from, we had a wonderful time.

Reception

As you arrive at the Hotel, the first thing that hits you is the outside heat and then how hot it is in reception!!!! There are loads of ceiling air conditioning units in reception area but for some reason they do not seem to blow out much cold air. we struggled with this a bit while sitting in reception to fill in our details for the room but within 2 minutes a waiter arrived with some nice cold drinks. Over the week you do get used to it but it would be good if the Hotel turn the air con up a bit in this area.
Most of the reception staff were pleasant but one or two were not customer friendly, especially the guy operating the Bureau de Change who had a fit every time we asked to change 10 or 20 dinar notes into smaller coins for tips. This is a problem as you aren't allowed to take Tunisian Dinar into the country so are stuck with whatever notes the reception give you when you arrive. If, like we had read, you want to give out some tips, then getting change was quite difficult. The Hotel could really do with sorting this small issue out please.There is a shop next to reception which they direct you to for getting change but they aren't too happy to either. Unless, like us, you buy quite a few bits and pieces!!! The best place for changing cash was the waiters who are getting coins from visitors and would gladly swop for notes.
Mark on reception was extremely helpful and pleasant and gave us good advice about changing our Dinars at the airport. Whatever time you fly, you can change your money back at the airport no problem - the Hotel do not have the facility to buy back Dinars. Please note you cannot take ANY dinars back home with you so it was best to change up small amoutns of sterling as you went. Buy back commission was approx 3%

Rooms

We had a bungalow room as opposed to a hotel room and loved it. They are very big with double wardrobe space, 4 very large shelves, TV, table in front of a large mirror, safe, extra billows and bedding and a large size bathroom with window, hairdryer, socket for straighteners etc. A dinar or 2 tip (40/80p) a day seemed to keep the maid happy and we got loads of soft fresh towels every day. Bungalows are dotted around the grounds and can be seculded, by one of the pools or right by waterpark/slides. we have read a few people say their patio door overlooked a waterslide but I can't see how that would be a problem unless you were having a lie in after 10am as the waterpark doesn't open until then. Rooms have a locakable patio door with table and seating outside and a line to dry costumes etc.

Waterpark

This was part of the All Inclusive and was fab!!! 16 slides ranging from very gentle to the more adventurous, single or double rings or sat down type. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and went straight out and it was fairly busy as it is open to non residents who probably all come at the weekend, but for the rest of the week there were no queues at all, not even on the Saturday. The lifeguards operate it well and like to have a joke around with you. Rides open at 10am and close 6pm on the dot.

Outdoor pools

all 3 were lovely, one being a kida adventure playground with water games, one a relaxing quiet pool and one which was like a small lake. The pools were cleaned daily and lovely and warm. Unlike some resorts we have been to, there are hundereds of sunloungers dotted around the site that you do not need to set your alarm at 5am to bag one!!! We got up and out for 8am, reserved the 6 we needed as quite a big group, and came back to them after breakfast at 9am. For a 20 dinar deposit you can hire towels which you can give in just before 6pm each day and get a nice dry one back ready for the next day. Deposit is refundable at the end of the holiday. Saved trying to dry towels in our bathroom.

All the pool had lifeguards who would hep with securing sunbeds where you wanted them and placing large sun brollys where you wanted them. We did see people tipping the guards to do this but we never felt the need to. We did have one lifeguard who was a bit of a problem with moving our towels for people who did tip him but we soon sorted that out!!!

We were lucky to have a brilliant pool side waiter, an older guy who wore a straw hat. he deserves a special mention a he was so attentive. We had read about giving a 5 dinar tip for the first round of drinks that you get and people were right - this secures you the service of that particular waiter all day. Every time we finished our drinks, he was back asking which ones we wanted next and often said he would "surprise" us with a differnet alcoholic mixture, some of which were def double measures!!! We started off by not having ice in drinks as we had been told but were soon drinking it as everyone has ice, but you can ask for it to be left out of all drinks.

Beach

The beach is a lovely area with sunbeds and fixed umbrellas dotted around, backed by a restauarnt serving food and drink with a seating area. There are sellers on the beach but a pleasant no thanks you is enough to stop them pestering you. There are many activities operating on the beach - paragliding, banana boat etc and we tried several things, which were all excellent value. There is a picket you can purchase which gets all the activities at a very discounted rate.

Weather

It was extremely hot which inevitably brings the odd bit of rain, though this goes quite quickly. It was funny seeing rain come down and others all packing up and running for cover - we were all wet anyway, so we simply stayed in the pool until it passed. The heat buold up does cause thunderstorms which are nothing like we have evern experienced, with Friday night being the 6 of us sat down at the beach bar watching an amazing lightning display.

Eating

For breakfast we first tried the English restaurant on the lower level of the Hotel but have to say we were not impressed. There is no atmosphere down there and the service is awfully slow. we were sat for ages before even being asked for drinks etc. As we got our food I did hear the English Chef David tell the staff off for not seeing to guests quickly. We ate here on our first night but left halfway through to try the restuarant up on the reception level. This is not for you if you hate a massive restuarant full of lots of different nationalities but downstairs was too quiet for us. The food is as we have found in most All Inclusive places, nothing to write home about but certainly nothing to complain about and we were always stuffed. There were salads, lots of different dressings (still don't know what half of them were) differnt breads and rools, soup, vegetables, rice, pasta dishes, chips, chicken, beef, fish, grills and other themed food which changed each night, along with loads of desserts such as cakes, ice cream, sorbet, mousse and pancakes. If you are lucky enough to get Mr Happy as your waiter (he seems to look after all the English) then you will have very funny meal times. He made sure we never had an empty glass which may explain why most of our evening holiday photos we look sozzled!!!! He is certainly a credit to the Hotel along with some of the other waiters who we talked to for breakfast and lunch as weel as the evening meal.

We used this place for breakfast every day and for some lunches and most evening meals.. For other lunch times there were shacks dotted around the park although the choice here was not very varied, serving mainly rolls, pizza and pancakes.In the Arabesque restaurant you could get a variety of pasta for lunch and also at the Italian on the beach was pasta, salad and pizza.At 4pm, by the main pool, they cooked frsh pancakse with jam, sugar and chocolate sauce, which were lovely. For evening, othe than the main restaurant, was the English restaurant, a seafood place (which we didn't go to) and the Arabesque, which laid on a set Tunisian 4 course meal. This consisted of a small Tunisian sald, soup and roll, main course of mixed meats with veg and couscous and Tunisian cake all wasjed down with unlimited soft drinks and beer. I would highly recommend this evening but just to say it is outside, in small divided up sofa based sitting areas, and we have never been so hot. The use of some ceiling fans would be a huge asset!!!!

Drinks

We had read that drinks were not much good but have to disagree. There was beer, soft drinks, red, white and rsoe wine and many unusual cocktails made by the staff which seemed mainly gin or vodka based but which were all lovely. there areseveral bars and none were over busy at all.

Rest of Hotel

The indoor pool was lovley and our boys used it once. There is also a fully euipped gym (we didn't use this) and the hotel offer a full spa and treatment programme for adiitional cost but which all worked out very good value compared to here.

The animation team are amazing and work like mad. After reading reviews, we had this image of being pestered by them all day but that is not the case at all. Yes, they do come over and say hell each morning but they are quick to identify the ones who love getting up and dancing around the pool, doing yoga or joining in games (just not us) and can tell the ones to just say hi to and leave at that. They were great with the kids and took ours off several times for water polo, kayaking, archery and team watersliding which gave us a lovley kid free time. They were back on again int he evening for more entertainment and seem to put in laods of effort, with the week ending in a beach party run by them with flashing light, lots of loud music, a bbq and alcoholic or soft drinks.

I changes £100 and got 250 Dinar and ended up changing half of it back. The hotel shop is very good price for chocolate and pringles etc and for a variety of other goods. We did not venture outside the Hotel not do any of the excursions.

If we had the money we would be booking to go back next August and that is coming from lifetime Spain fans!!!!

Room Tip: we didn't use the Hotel rooms so I can't really comment on them but the bungalows are spacio...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank plymfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Thalassa Sousse Hotel from the 14th - 28th of July (bit late review.) In my family their was me and my husband, my 3 children - 2 Boys (23 + 20) and my daughter whose 16. During our stay it was ramadan and so was pre warned that the staff may be a bit grumpy, however this was not the case. They couldn't of been more helpful and friendly bringing us drinks to our seats for only a few dinar a day. In particular the older waiter with a straw hat on, who is situated round the pool, was always bringing us drinks and remembered our orders and would even bring them to the boys if they where playing table tennis. Also I think his name was Safe, he was the evening pool waiter, was very friendly and he made all the family laugh and laid out flower petals on a table on his last night before taking his 10 day holiday.

The food was of a normal standard, it wasn't the best quality food but you don't expect to go to a different country and get the same food you would in England, and we aren't fussy eaters and so we could always find something we wanted. We went to a few of the a la carte restaurants during our 2 weeks and always had good food, and came out stuffed. However we went to the BBQ restaurant (fish place by the sea) on our last night and was disappointed as food was undercooked.

The animation team was good as they always had activities to do during the day, but they wont be too pushy if you say no. In the evening the shows aren't the best but it was a good laugh and gave us something to do in the evening. Gogo was by far the best person from the animation team, he would always be happy and make sure you are ok. Kiki is also very good at making you laugh, he would always come over to talk to you about anything. My 2 sons went out in the evening with some of the animation team and thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

The rooms where to a decent standard. We had no problems with it being untidy, we tipped the maids the first day and then everyday after that we had clean towels, sheets, and the bathroom was kept clean. Our room was situated next to the slides, which made it very easy to get to know the lifeguards and have a joke around with them as we walked past, at least a few times every day.

The water sports on the sea where very cheap for the package deal, and we got extra time on the sofa, just for giving the driver a few extra dinar. Their was professional photos that are taken on the duration of the water sports, and we got all the photos taken for around £18, which was very good value for money.

Mark and Chloe (the Thomson rep) where very good and always their and willing to help. Mark was just brilliant at his job and made us feel very welcomed when we arrived. He would always come over to talk to us, and see if everything was ok and if it wasn't, he would go and sort the problem out.

Overall this hotel is very good, we where a bit sceptic before we left for Tunisia, as we had read the bad reviews on here, however we noticed no bad points about the hotel.It was such a good hotel my daughter wants to come back next year with just her and her friend.

Room Tip: Bungalow family rooms seem to be the best.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mags R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markvine, Guest Relations Manager at Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi There

Thank you so much for the great review. Its so lovely to hear what you have said.I have

Passed on all the comment's to the staff.

We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We returned about one week ago from Thalassa Sousse, we really enjoyed our holiday. The hotel was so nice, the staff where amazing, always super happy and always bringing you a drink for a small tip at the end of your stay!! There was plenty of food to choose from in all restaurants, if you cant find something you like thats your problem not theirs!! The entertainment wasnt the best and abit cheesy but the kids enjoyed it and loved the mini disco :-) Mr happy in the main restaurant is brilliant, always saved a table for us and on our last meal decorated our table with petals and flowers and made us feel really special!! The water park is amazing and even though the hotel was full we never had to wait for more than 2 mins to go on slides!! The only issue we had was that it could do with a lift in main building for prams!! You wont be disappointed unless you are super fussy and moan about everything!! We would definatley recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HayleyTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markvine, Guest Relations Manager at Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi There

Thank you for your great comment's. I have passed them on to Mr Happy for you . The water park is very busy but it's great to see so many people enjoy it.

We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a week stay at this hotel and we both could not fault it. We had one of the rooms about 10 metres from the beach -which was brilliant. The rooms are to a decent standard -not amazing but certainly not bad. Overall I found the hotel to be very clean there was never any rubbish lying around and the staff were always seen to be cleaning. The water park is also fantastic plenty to do for kids and adults a like. There are a fair few restaurants on site we ate in the main one and our waiter was mr happy -beautiful table displays every night and would come out straight away with drinks we tipped him around 4-5 dinar a day which is only about £2 and he couldn't do enough. Food wise it does get a bit repetitive, but then again we are quite fussy eaters but we never struggled for things to eat. There are lots of fresh salad, freshly cooked meats, chicken, chips, pizza. There really is a wide choice of food. I really struggle to understand what more people expect - no, you're not going to get McDonald's and I believe it's these sorts of people who have the problem. If the freshly cooked meat doesn't look cooked enough then ask for it to be done a bit longer -they really won't have a problem with it. The American bar is open from midnight until 6 am and you can get all inclusive drink as well as the snack bar serving pizzas and chips into the early hours. This I believe is above and beyond the all inclusive service.

Me and my partner sat up at the veranda every night and the waiter we had was fantastic bringing us out drinks all night. We tipped him a couple of dinar every night and he was very cheerful. The staff really are brilliant and they do work hard if you drink and eat at the same place then giving them a few dinars everyday will ensure you get tip top service! Some people are just really tight and dinar tip and its those sorts that were the ones queuing for drinks and moaning about food. The hotel is a 3 star plus rated by thomsons I would easily give it 4 stars. We had a brilliant week and couldn't fault the place especially considering what we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldwideuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markvine, Guest Relations Manager at Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi There

Thank you so much for your great comment's. I have passed these on to the staff for you.

We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Its going to be hard writing this review as a few certain factors do not deserve the 3/5, but overall this hotel cannot be given anymore in my opinion.

Myself and my girlfriend stayed for a week dating August 25th to September 1st. Everything started off nicely for the holiday until it took us 1 hour 20 minutes from walking into Enfidha airport to clearing passport control. The airport has zero organisation skills and to have to wait that long when you've just stepped off the plane is a joke (Granted this is nothing to do with the hotel but just pre-warning future travelers what to expect).

The next ball ache was arriving at the hotel around 11:15am and being told we couldn't check in before 14:00 due to the rooms being cleaned. Ive never had this issue before so I dont know if its a mess up between the tour operators flight times clashing with check outs for departing guests but the last thing you want to do when arriving for your holiday is wait for a room. By this point it felt like all we had done since landing was wait!

BUT.... its not all bad. The English customer relations rep Mark needs a big mention. Extremely friendly, goes out of his way to help and he alone deserves a 5/5. Don't be afraid to ask Mark for help, he will be happy to help anyone.

Now we were given a beach bungalow. It was pretty basic but we expected that from past reviews so this didn't bother us. Although outside the balcony doors just before the beach was a patch of low greenery growths which were full of litter and cigarette ends. Its wasn't exactly pleasant to walk over to get to the beach which was literally 3 meters away from the balcony doors.

The cleanliness of the hotel wasnt great either. Spots of blood around the pools from cuts, left over drinks scattered around from the previous night. I was in Egypt in April and the pool area was cleaned and perfect before 7am.

The next problem was the people who shared the hotel with us. First the Russians! I experienced these rude vile animals in Egypt and unfortunately they are at large in Thalassa aswel. Be prepared for rudeness, pushing infront in queues and horrible mullet hair cuts that seems to still be in fashion in Russia.

Also a big problem is the fact that the hotel is now a water park and the locals can pay to use it by the day. Now I don't want this to come across as being racist but expect religious families sat right next to you on the pool side nearly fully dressed and wanting the big umbrellas up which will cast shade on your sunbeds. I'm English for Gods sake, I go to this Thomson hotel FOR THE SUN!!!! Not to sit in shade.

The last problem of note is the food. Dont get me wrong its edible but its not great! And this is where I have to give the chef of the English restaurant, David, a mention and once again a 5/5. He does the best he can with the budget he has been given but its simply not enough. It seems management dont care too much for the food.... one of the biggest parts of an all-inclusive! That said, David cooked up some dishes as best possible with the poor local ingredients and some dishes were nice, but breakfast is pretty much a no go unless you like hotdog sausages and pork crackling (their version of bacon). The main restaurant isnt much better, and your 5 times as likely to bump into one of those vile animals ;) We ended up eating out for 2 nights.... once down in the Mediterranean in the Marina which was amazing and in Sousse at a place called Bonarpark (or something like that) which was equally as nice and not expensive.

A mention to the staff. They ALL smile to you and talk to you. The waiters at the bars, around the pools etc will bring you drinks to youre sunbeds all day for a small tip of 5d (£2).

And lastly the entertainment. Its not the best but they do try. Kiki is a cheeky little monkey who is hard not to love. I think they need to put more thought into nightly entertainment as there isnt really much to do on a night there.

I dont think Id return to Tunisia, and if I did Id book at one of the more reputable hotels like a Riu.

I hope youve enjoyed my review. Ive tried to be honest without moaning. If you have any questions then pop me a message.

Love Rich and Sam

xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tidyboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have just returned from Thalassa Sousse, after reading the reviews on here I was very worried about what to expect and I can honestly say I cannot understand the comments on here regarding this resort.

In our party was myself my partner and our 8 year old child, our room was in the main block of the hotel on the 2nd floor and was of a fair size with a queen size bed and a single for our child, the room was clean and basic but had everything you need, wardrobe space was a bit limited but I have found that in lots of holidays we just doubled up on the hanging space (think most ppl always take too much anyway) there is only one plug socket in the main room but this was not a problem for us as the bathroom had a hairdryer and a socket for GHD's or anything else you need it for plus the light was better in the bathroom for doing hair and make up, The room has a TV should you choose to spend you holiday watching French TV (which we did not) the room has a safe which we used for passports and money there is a charge for this but it was not much the sheets and towels where changed every day and the floors where kept clean along with the bathroom, on a couple of occasions we forgot to lock our iphones and camera in the safe but it was still there on our return to the room.

The many pools and pool areas were great my daughter really enjoyed all of them there are "big slides" and smaller slower ones too, so there was something for everyone we never had a problem getting three sunbeds together no matter what time of the day we decided to visit the pool the life guard was always ready to help us find a place and would move sunbeds around from different areas to fit us in, the grounds of the hotel are very beautiful great for photos and the staff work constantly to keep them clean and tidy. The beach was just a small walk from the main hotel maybe 3/4 mins max and we found the beach perfect again we always found sunbeds with help from the security guards that patrol the beach to keep the sellers away from you, on a few occasions the beach did have a fair bit of seaweed on it nothing that bothered us and it was only on maybe a few days and more so in the afternoon, there is bar service on the beach should you need it even though the bar is only just behind you. we visited the beach most days of our two week stay and on one occasion my partner and daughter got stung by a jellyfish this was not big deal and the onsite hospital was always on hand should you need them. The beach water sports are very good we had a go on the jet ski and the ring prices are very reasonable and for a extra tip you get more time.

The hotel food :- breakfast was from 7.00 till 10.00, and lunch (didn't go to) and evening meal from I think 6.30 with two sittings, there are a number of snack bars that provide rolls with either cheese or chicken or fish and pizza and around 4pm they make pancakes. We did try most of the restaurants, the "English" restaurant was ok a lot less hectic than the main restaurant but the waiter service wasn't great and we had to wait a long time for drinks so we choose to eat upstairs, plus the "English" restaurant we found to be more for the fussy eaters (there was always chips in there) I really enjoyed the food and so did my daughter and partner (we are not fussy eaters and do not enjoy nuggets and chips and freezer food) I cannot understand why ppl do not like the food in this resort I honestly could not fault it, We found the best food waiter in the resort was "Mr happy" whos section of the hotel is the top part of the main dinning room, he went out of his way to get you a constant supply of drinks or anything you needed and he would decorate your table each evening with flowers, He spoke very good English and I guess that made it easier for the ppl who struggled with having conversations with the hotel staff, maybe you could try your hand at there language as you are visiting there country and not only expect them to speak "your " language we had no problem with understanding most of the staff, The main restaurant is hectic and all the nationalities are a bit pushy and like to q jump, but hey that's life and that's what ppl are like and anyway whats your hurry what are you rushing off to do.. you are on holiday, we found it laughable really you cant blame the hotel for human nature you get that everywhere.

The evening entertainment was ok for what it was if you were rating it on effort the animation team would get 100 per cent they really work hard to do their best, we attended a few shows and we really liked the Grease one and it was what it was not the best but It was funny these are not professional entertainers and they do their best, I think for children my daughters age the evenings where a bit boring but once she found a English speaking friend they made there own entertainment (thankfully)

My daughter was ill on this holiday (nothing to do with the food or the cleanliness of the hotel) at 5.30AM we had a doctor visit our room within the hour who provided her with the medicine she needed the cost of the doctors visit was around £28 pounds maybe £30 with the medicine which was a better service than you get in the uk (obviously we expected to pay for it) this did not in anyway affect our enjoyment of the holiday kids get sick all the time, I did pack the normal tummy upset medicine we thought we might need and calpol, and if I returned to Tunisia I think I would probably take some hayfever stuff and maybe some eye wash, even I did get hayfever like symptoms while we where there, but hey you live and learn, I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat overall I would rank this as a one of our best holidays (last year we were in Disney Florida )

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markvine, Guest Relations Manager at Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review. from all the staff here we will welcome you back any time.

I have passed all comments on and the staff are very happy .

We look forward to seeing you again very soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.9 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
982 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#19 of 35 in Sousse
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark

Address: 2011 Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4000, Tunisia (Formerly LTI Thalassa Sousse)
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: $77 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an unbeatable situation on a golden sandy beach along the Mediterranean Sea, just a few steps from the vibrant city of Sousse, this luxurious hotel offers the perfect choice for holidaymakers eager to explore something out of the ordinary and spice up their sun holidays with a range of outstanding services. Close to El Kantaoui Marina and just a 30-minute drive from the Monastir International Aiport, the comfortable rooms are spread over 3 floors. Those travellers wishing to enjoy full privacy may prefer the comfortable bungalows overlooking the pools or the beach and providing its own terrace. Guests staying at this establishment may find a wide range of dining options including international cuisine, Tunisian specialities and different bars offering the best place to share moments with the family or friends. The magnificent water park offers the young ones the best place to have a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Thalassa Sousse Hotel Sousse
Lti Thalassa Hotel Sousse
Sousse Lti Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing