We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Nearby Hotels
$120
$106
Movenpick.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Marhaba Beach(Sousse)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marhaba Salem(Sousse)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marhaba Royal Salem(Sousse)(Great Value!)
$50
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Marhaba(Sousse)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$88
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,358)
Filter reviews
1,358 results
Traveler rating
412
348
236
159
203
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
348
236
159
203
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaqua parkfantastic holidayanimation team arebungalowlebanesetiptunisia
Filter
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 1,358 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel from 20.03.2011 to 27.03.2011. I can say for the service that we got maybe a little too expensive. But clean rooms, good food and friendly staff left a good impression on us. There was not Animation at this hotel in this period . But spacious terrace and peace was enough for a pleasant holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antonella b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here from 12 Aug til 22 Aug.(2 adults & 12 yr old daughter). The hotel Reception is clean & spacious & fairly welcoming. Our 'bungalow' was a reasonable size & fairly comfortable. Had a few problems with the shower but reported it & was fixed within 1-2 days. No problems with the cleaning of our room. Waiters were very friendly - a money tip at the beginning of the holiday ensures they will look after you, we never had to queue at the bar for a drink as the bar waiters would see us coming & serve us our 'usual' drinks at the table. Same in the restaurant. Food was reasonable - All Inclusive food tends to get a bit 'samey' after a while & this was no different to other A/I hotels I have stayed at. Not a lot outside the hotel within walking distance. All in all, I would recommend the hotel because I had a lovely relaxing break, thanks mainly to the hotel & the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ajs40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We travelled from the 12 - 22 August to the Thalassa Sousse and after reading some of the reviews were quite frankly petrified at what we would find. The hotel is spacious, lobby was spotless and reception very helpful and efficient. We asked for a quiet room as we had our 7 year old with us and were given a bungalow by the quiet pool. Fantastic views of the sea, 10m to the pool and 25m on to the beach - fantastic. The room itself was clean, working air conditioning and quite spacious. The main double bed is large, although only comes with 2 pillows and extra ones never appeared despite asking 3 times! The shower would not stay on the wall but this didn't really matter as the bath was fine. The linens could do with upgrading but were clean, although frayed round the edges.

The site itself is a decent size, not too large, but never fety crowded. There is a shortage of loungers but one of us was always up early to go and pop a few towels down and the staff are very good at removing towels put out the night before. The entertainment staff try their best but it is aimed at the mainly German and Russian guests, and there is little to do in the evening. The cabaret is dated, but there are plenty of comfortable chairs around to just relax and play cards. There is little entertainment for younger children and our 7 year old son did get a bit restless in the evenings.

Wifi is not free in the hotel but a handy tip - The one day Wifi access pass for 15 dinar (about £8.00) actually lasts for 24 complete hours - enough to happily watch plenty of cartoons or play games on an Ipad or phone.

we spent most of the days by the quiet relax pool which did not have the blasting music the main poo did. Its also very close to the beach bar and the beach - the sea is fantastic and completely safe for younger kids being gently shelving and clear water.

The food - no it is not Michelin starred quality. If you go expecting burger and chips you will be disappointed. We eat a lot of couscous, roasted veg, moussaka etc and therefore found the food fine. Breakfast is good with plenty of choice and the fresh pancakes made on the terrace are great. Lunch and dinner, the fresh pizza and pasta was aways reliable, huge choice of salads, and some lovely desserts. No bad tummies between any of us. the waiting staff are very friendly and we tipped on the first day, which meant a table kept for us each mealtime, with drinks waiting ready. Find Mr Happys section and you will be treated like royalty!

The staff are okay, although deferential to the Russians - who are rude and push in all the time! We found if you were polite to the staff, smiled at them and attempted (badly in my case) to speak French, they could not do enough for you and would bring drinks over without being asked.

Recommended is the trip to sousse through the giftshop. You get 2 hours including a trip to the Mosque and the carpet shop but there is no hard sell and you have the reassurance of a guide. Port El Kantoui is also recommended, especially one of the glass bottom boat rides - haggle and you'll get the price right down - we paid 40dinar for 3 of us.

The hotel is trying its best to improve, management were issuing questionnaires each week and everyone was friendly, the hotel was spotless.

Don't be put off by the negative reviews and give it a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room/bungalow - these are close to the beach and the less busy pool.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

After arriving to the hotel at 1am we ( Parents with three teenagers) were told to make our own way to the rooms - rather difficult when no lighting along paths. Came across a porter that directed us into a block behind the snack bar! After taking us to two different floors - still in pitch black we eventually reach the correct floor. Once the porter decided on reaching for a torch we are lcoated our rooms.

Rooms in the block - basic i expect, being able to charge my phone would be nice, but one plug socket in the entire room with the TV plug that was unable to be removed. Three beds next to each other with the only way to get into the bed was by the foot of the bed!

After the welcome meeting the next day, with help from the Rep Dan we were then transferred to two bungalow rooms - still basic but slightly larger. Shower was broken, eventually got fixed after a few days. Influx of ants in room 220, had to take a photo before Reception actually believed how many! Cleaning very inconsistent, eventually had our bed sheets changed and floor swept on day 8 after complaining to Dan. Air con worked 7 out of 14 days - not good. Talking to Reception didnt get us very far, if they dont want to talk to you they just ignore you.

Restaurant - be careful of the chairs, when you go to move back the back legs collapse and you end up on the floor! Dangerous to say the least, but still put out the next meal time. Birds mess on the back of chairs - no excuse, this can be cleaned up at prior to each meal!

Food ok, but nothing to write home about. Service ok if you tip, however i tip for good service not to have a table saved for each meal! First sitting plenty of crockery, although you are lucky to get a table due to staff reserving them for guests that dont actually turn up till the second sitting. 2nd sitting a complete nightmare! The staff are not geared up for the influx, the buffet stations are not situated correctly, a queue leads into another queue. Restaurant doors are opened before the tables have been reset, cutlery and crockery set out.

Pool and surrounding area could do with a good clean and safety checks on the grids around the pool would be wise. Pool bar filthy and not well manned. Snack bar, food not good, staff were happy to argue and shout at each other rather than serve!

Beach - the water sports guys were fantastic, polite and couldnt do enough for you. Ask about a package deal if you want to try more than one sport.

Animation Team, Ricco, Coco, Dico, Andreas, Bruno, Mikey, Lucca, Michael the DJ, Marmadue, Waggee, to name a few were fantastic. On the go from morning till night, not in your face, happy and buzzing all the time. They did a fantastic job with the little props and equipment they have. Beach and pool party worked well, and so did the water volley at 11pm at night, my kids loved it. Well done Guys!

On the whole, would we stay here again, not a chance. Would we recommend the hotel, no way!
A lot of improvements are needed, we wouldnt give the hotel a 2 star!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow room
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TraceyW247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel tries hard to be something special.. but it falls short of some basic requirements. Some areas are lovely such as the reception and lobby bar.... but elsewhere the place needs attention. If you are used to proper 4/5 star hotels then do not go to this hotel. We had quite a good time but the stay was marred by various failings.. the rooms are very basic and our shower did not work properly and you had to hold it away from the wall to get water on you. I asked for it to be repaired and they just dismantled it from the wall and left it laying in the bath! Cleaning was inconsistent. I had to ring reception 3 times to ask for my room to be cleaned and 2 times to have the towels changed. The swimming pool is very nice but the surround is poor. Broken sunbeds were just left to be part of the scenery, and most were very old and used and not very comfortable. The pool bar was also very poor. The selection of drinks did not include any diet drinks and you could not get hold of tonic water - ever! The plastic cups they were served in were worn and frequently damaged, cracked and leaking and really unpleasant to drink from. None of the drinks served anywhere were ever cold enough. Quality of drinks was not good, and I had my most tee total holiday ever - drinking water mostly. Also around the structure of the pool bar there were electrics, plugs and cables hanging everywhere. One or two exposed wires.. not only looked shabby but posed a health and safety concern. The floor tiles always looked grimy, and I never saw anyone clean them. The pool snack bar was another huge disappointment. The food served was of such poor quality, that having eaten there 3 times we avoided it for the rest of the holiday. The main restaurant was clean and there seemed to be plenty of choice, though not always to taste. But they constantly ran out of plates and cups, and in general it was bedlam. The choice of 'a al carte' restaurants was good, and you could go as many times as you liked. The Tunusian was the best, followed by the beach bar lunchtime session.
The beach was a very well managed area. A really helpful head of security always made sure you were found a bed, always said hello and smiled. Lovely. The restaurant manager here was lovely too, and the beach hand was helpful and friendly too. Here too though, there were damaged beds, the padding on them had worn very thin, and really they need replacing too.
The beach bar only served wine/beer or soft drinks which was a bit of a pain, but the main barman was really lovely and helpful.
What really made the holiday for us though was the staff who in general were really lovely and welcoming and made you feel really looked after. Ali in the lobby bar became a friend, polite and distinguished he is a real amabassador for the hotel. Rafik in the pool bar was the only waiter who knew what he was doing here, and again very friendly.
But what really made the holiday for us was the entertainment team headed up by Dico. A lovely lovely group of lads... always full of smiles, exuberance, energy and excellence. Lots of day time activities to do and really made the atmosphere around the pool area amazing. These guys work so so hard to make your hoilday fun and they never stop.... the best entertainment team I have ever shared a holiday with.
You will have fun at this hotle, but the extras that make a holiday comfortable and special are missing. The staff are amazing, but the fixtures, fittings and standards need to improve.

Room Tip: There are a selection of rooms available on a beach location - ask for those. Only take a poolside room if you don't want a late lie in. Activities start at 10am.. and it is loud
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radders280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews