We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,415)
Filter reviews
1,415 results
Traveler rating
418
355
242
168
232
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
355
242
168
232
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aqua park fantastic holiday animation team are bungalow tip tunisia
Filter
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 1,415 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

After arriving to the hotel at 1am we ( Parents with three teenagers) were told to make our own way to the rooms - rather difficult when no lighting along paths. Came across a porter that directed us into a block behind the snack bar! After taking us to two different floors - still in pitch black we eventually reach the correct floor. Once the porter decided on reaching for a torch we are lcoated our rooms.

Rooms in the block - basic i expect, being able to charge my phone would be nice, but one plug socket in the entire room with the TV plug that was unable to be removed. Three beds next to each other with the only way to get into the bed was by the foot of the bed!

After the welcome meeting the next day, with help from the Rep Dan we were then transferred to two bungalow rooms - still basic but slightly larger. Shower was broken, eventually got fixed after a few days. Influx of ants in room 220, had to take a photo before Reception actually believed how many! Cleaning very inconsistent, eventually had our bed sheets changed and floor swept on day 8 after complaining to Dan. Air con worked 7 out of 14 days - not good. Talking to Reception didnt get us very far, if they dont want to talk to you they just ignore you.

Restaurant - be careful of the chairs, when you go to move back the back legs collapse and you end up on the floor! Dangerous to say the least, but still put out the next meal time. Birds mess on the back of chairs - no excuse, this can be cleaned up at prior to each meal!

Food ok, but nothing to write home about. Service ok if you tip, however i tip for good service not to have a table saved for each meal! First sitting plenty of crockery, although you are lucky to get a table due to staff reserving them for guests that dont actually turn up till the second sitting. 2nd sitting a complete nightmare! The staff are not geared up for the influx, the buffet stations are not situated correctly, a queue leads into another queue. Restaurant doors are opened before the tables have been reset, cutlery and crockery set out.

Pool and surrounding area could do with a good clean and safety checks on the grids around the pool would be wise. Pool bar filthy and not well manned. Snack bar, food not good, staff were happy to argue and shout at each other rather than serve!

Beach - the water sports guys were fantastic, polite and couldnt do enough for you. Ask about a package deal if you want to try more than one sport.

Animation Team, Ricco, Coco, Dico, Andreas, Bruno, Mikey, Lucca, Michael the DJ, Marmadue, Waggee, to name a few were fantastic. On the go from morning till night, not in your face, happy and buzzing all the time. They did a fantastic job with the little props and equipment they have. Beach and pool party worked well, and so did the water volley at 11pm at night, my kids loved it. Well done Guys!

On the whole, would we stay here again, not a chance. Would we recommend the hotel, no way!
A lot of improvements are needed, we wouldnt give the hotel a 2 star!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow room
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TraceyW247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel tries hard to be something special.. but it falls short of some basic requirements. Some areas are lovely such as the reception and lobby bar.... but elsewhere the place needs attention. If you are used to proper 4/5 star hotels then do not go to this hotel. We had quite a good time but the stay was marred by various failings.. the rooms are very basic and our shower did not work properly and you had to hold it away from the wall to get water on you. I asked for it to be repaired and they just dismantled it from the wall and left it laying in the bath! Cleaning was inconsistent. I had to ring reception 3 times to ask for my room to be cleaned and 2 times to have the towels changed. The swimming pool is very nice but the surround is poor. Broken sunbeds were just left to be part of the scenery, and most were very old and used and not very comfortable. The pool bar was also very poor. The selection of drinks did not include any diet drinks and you could not get hold of tonic water - ever! The plastic cups they were served in were worn and frequently damaged, cracked and leaking and really unpleasant to drink from. None of the drinks served anywhere were ever cold enough. Quality of drinks was not good, and I had my most tee total holiday ever - drinking water mostly. Also around the structure of the pool bar there were electrics, plugs and cables hanging everywhere. One or two exposed wires.. not only looked shabby but posed a health and safety concern. The floor tiles always looked grimy, and I never saw anyone clean them. The pool snack bar was another huge disappointment. The food served was of such poor quality, that having eaten there 3 times we avoided it for the rest of the holiday. The main restaurant was clean and there seemed to be plenty of choice, though not always to taste. But they constantly ran out of plates and cups, and in general it was bedlam. The choice of 'a al carte' restaurants was good, and you could go as many times as you liked. The Tunusian was the best, followed by the beach bar lunchtime session.
The beach was a very well managed area. A really helpful head of security always made sure you were found a bed, always said hello and smiled. Lovely. The restaurant manager here was lovely too, and the beach hand was helpful and friendly too. Here too though, there were damaged beds, the padding on them had worn very thin, and really they need replacing too.
The beach bar only served wine/beer or soft drinks which was a bit of a pain, but the main barman was really lovely and helpful.
What really made the holiday for us though was the staff who in general were really lovely and welcoming and made you feel really looked after. Ali in the lobby bar became a friend, polite and distinguished he is a real amabassador for the hotel. Rafik in the pool bar was the only waiter who knew what he was doing here, and again very friendly.
But what really made the holiday for us was the entertainment team headed up by Dico. A lovely lovely group of lads... always full of smiles, exuberance, energy and excellence. Lots of day time activities to do and really made the atmosphere around the pool area amazing. These guys work so so hard to make your hoilday fun and they never stop.... the best entertainment team I have ever shared a holiday with.
You will have fun at this hotle, but the extras that make a holiday comfortable and special are missing. The staff are amazing, but the fixtures, fittings and standards need to improve.

Room Tip: There are a selection of rooms available on a beach location - ask for those. Only take a poolside room if you don't want a late lie in. Activities start at 10am.. and it is loud
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radders280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

well i was not looking forward to this holiday with all its bad reviews, well here goes , we arrived early hrs of the morning , a famly of 7 two of which our kids , was told to fill in forms and go get a drink and come in half hour , we all said no just needed our rooms all tired , the man behind the desk was very rude , so after just standing our ground we got our wrist bands put on and then told only 2 of our rooms were ready other being cleaned .. with this another couple who arrived at same time as us came storming in wanting there room changed as not cot for there baby and cockcroer fell out there wardrobe but all the man said was sleep in it .. about another half hour or so a man came to get our bags still no key for our room , so we all went to the bungolows 360 . 361.363. when we got there man just coming out of ours , rooms ok not the best seeing it should be 4 star , .. half painted and and dusty ,,
we got up and had a walk round all seems very nice lots of people out cleaning , went to breakfast u could find something but seeing there our only 100 britts there they do cater more for the russains and germans , .. luuch time and evening meal poor fatty bits of meat , cold chips , thou pasta and pizza everyday but after 5 days it gets boring so we had to eat out a few times , the best bar was the pool bar all the guys on day shift and evening shift were great never had a empty glass always happy to see us thou i think the tips helpped with that . the pools our great and the slides , the beach lovely and shallow like a warm bath , the food at the beach bar was the best place to eat in the day the manager really looked after us ... the evening were boring they need to get outside shows in ,a nd the thearter is so not comfy need to do it round the pool bar etc ...
ROOMS ... cleaned everyday well beds made and swept thats it ,,
FOOD... fatty bits of meat . cold , cater for everyone bar the english ,
POOLS... very big cleaned once in two wks , need to buy new beds as all ripped or broken ,
STAFF.. all dinning room and bar staff lovely thou it helps if you tip , staff at the desk rude and need to smile , on site shop lovely friendly but over priced ,
in all this is not a 4 star hotel more like a 3 star , would never go back here or book with thompson again .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dinky71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just returned from our family holiday/honeymoon at the Thalassa Sousse on 9 August. I will try and briefly review it as honestly as possible! We did enjoy ourselves but with reservations.

Initial impression was good, reception staff friendly, main areas spacious, light and airy. We were shown to our room (which turned out to be the first of three!) and this wasn't so great. In a dark corridor located directly behind the pool snack bar so it smelt of grease/food and there was a very noisy door which slammed every time someone went through it. Seemed to be a lot of noisy people staying in this bit! We asked to be changed after a few days of hoping it would get better and were given two bungalow rooms in the gardens, well away from the pools which were lovely and quiet but the air conditioning and showers didn't work. They did come to fix both problems quickly and we were assured that they were sorted out, but on returning at nearly midnight we discovered they weren't and that our air con was fixed on 30 degrees! So, we changed again (again easily done) and were given adjoining rooms in the large block near reception. These were great and we stayed there for the rest of the holiday. There are some cockroaches there but this didn't bother us too much - at the end of the day it's Africa and they have bugs!

Pools were nice but I think they have extended the hotel and forgotten about supplying extra sunbeds and parasols. There was a constant fight to get both and we found ourselves having to get up really early to put towels out, something which we hate to do :-( People were lying on the grass areas as there wasn't enough space. The large pool is VERY noisy during the daytime with the activities that they do and we spent our two weeks at the smaller relax pool. They also have very late night volleyball on a Monday night so be warned!

Beach is fine, lots of water sports, parascending etc that can be done and it's shallow quite a way out.

The staff are lovely, can't do enough to help you, especially with a tip at the beginning of the holiday! We received a constant supply of drinks both around the pool from the beach bar and in the evenings from the main pool bar. One of the waiters in the main buffet restaurant would save us a table every night which was great........but this leads me on to the food.....

So, the food isn't dreadful, you won't starve, but it's really not good. I am someone who will always try new food and doesn't expect British food when abroad, but I really struggled to find anything to eat on several evenings. The meat is poor quality, lots of bones and gristle, some of the foods are really off putting just from looking at them and the smell. The "a la carte" restaurants - well they do try but again it's not great. We tried International, which was ok, fish which was risky, and Tunisian, which was really bad. Yes they do fresh pizza and pasta every lunchtime and evening but you soon get fed up of cheese and tomato.

Drinks are ok, again not great quality but to be expected.

Bear in mind that this hotel caters very much for the Europeans, out of just over 1000 guests there were barely 100 English there, lots of Russians, Polish, German and French, so if you don't like sharing your holiday with rude people don't go here!

Entertainment was ok, bit repetitive but again the animation team try very hard. They don't hassle you too much which is great but watch out for the tour sellers as they can be a total pain the neck!

I like to lose weight but not on holiday! We all suffered a little from upset stomachs but I genuinely don't think this was the food, much the heat etc. We certainly weren't ill with it.

We spoke to several other couples/families from different places whilst we were there and I think they all shared my opinion of the hotel. They really do try but just not enough.

Would I return to Tunisia? Yes, definitely. To the Thalassa Sousse, definitely not,

Room Tip: Rooms 134/135 or thereabouts aren't good as near the snack bar. Rooms 3015 and the like in the large block but newer. Rooms go from 100 up to 600 the closer to the beach you get.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireHGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just come back from weeks holiday here (29th July to 6th August 2012) and we all had great time. Hotel rooms (we had a bungalow) are I admit basic but perfectly adequate. There were 2 three quarter beds pushed together for myself and Jane (that was huge) and single bed for our son. Showers etc worked great and rooms cleaned daily with cleam towels. Pools are superb and clean (the main one is huge). Beach spotless, good soft sand and sea very warm and clean. Food was excellent (ignore the moaning Brits on here) plenty of choice every day and something for everyone at all meal times. Staff excellent throughout and with small tips were even better. Only 2 moans really and that was staff at snack bar were very slow in serving you, and the queues at pool bar (only one man allowed to serve) so had to wait long time to get served.
Entertainment during day and night very good. Hotel ideally situated close to Sousse and Port El Kantoui, both only 10 minute taxi drive. Didn't do any trips as only there for week and was our relaxing holiday. Would recommend this hotel anytime - we really enjoyed it. If you want English food then stay at home !!

Room Tip: Dont't stay in rooms that are in blocks - get a bungalow
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews