We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$221
Movenpick.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$174
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$275
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dar Aicha(Sousse)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$24
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Medina(Sousse)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Paris(Sousse)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,384)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveler rating
417
349
239
164
216
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
349
239
164
216
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaqua parkfantastic holidayanimation team arebungalowtiptunisia
Filter
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Hotel definatly 3star not 4 food made my whole family ill and others we spoke to. rooms were not cleaned properly. pool was excellent. animation team were fantastic especially coco and bruno they made are holiday fun and enjoyable. the bar staff were very good to mouldi and akram were the best. but sadly would not go back because the food was that bad.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bpd9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

11th to 25th July

Just returned from Tunisia and the Thalassa Sousse.
We ( 2 adults and 10 yr old) have had a fab time!
There are many negative reviews about this hotel, especially the food……I really can’t see what they are complaining about! The food was wonderful!
YES….it’s not MacDonald’s or the Royal oak pub…if you want British type food, don’t go to TUNISIA…simple! The additional restaurants that you book into are well worth a visit and a change from the main restaurant. The Beach Barbeque is wonderful!
The staff all work very hard, for very little pay and in difficult conditions. A little tip helps to get better service, especially for drinks by the pool (avoiding queuing) and for a reserved table each evening. 10 dinars at the start and end of your holiday works wonders!
The hotel is a little tired, but the facilities are still great.
The free trip to the Medina and Mosque is good (arrange through the chap at the shop), but the Pirate Ship trip is a rip off!
Local Taxis are really cheap…haggle a price before you get in!
The animation team work tirelessly……but if that’s not your thing you can escape to either the beach or the relaxing pool areas.
The weather is very hot now, especially at night when it becomes muggy and humid, so be warned.
All in all a great holiday and would definitely recommend this place to families.
Kate, Rob & Wesley

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kitty1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

15/7/12 just returned from Thalassa Hotel once again a wonderful holiday, apart from fellow Brits complaining about food!! If they want English food stay in England!! We were really spoiled by all. Fantastic service in all the bars and restaurants and by the guys at the beach, they really made us feel special. Rooms are basic but kept very clean by the girls that work very hard. Pool man makes our day, he is up early to keep it clean, and always has a smile. We are going back again in October and looking forward to seeing everyone again.

Room Tip: bungalow any location is good
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for a week, and we honestly didn't want to leave after that time.
It's a 4star hotel, and is perhaps not that in British standards in terms of the rooms which are very basic. However, there is nothing left wanting from them: air conditioning, comfy beds, large bathrooms. The shower head would not stay on the wall but all that meant was holding it to wash, which isn't uncommon. Our room faced out to the pool and was a 10 second walk from the main pool and reception area.
The animation team were brilliant and enthusiastic, they try their best to get everyone involved, have a variety of games and activities on offer and if you're not up for it, will leave you be. These guys work all day and then do a dance show at night. The show is not always great but the ones featuring the animation team dancing are good, and they have to cater for all languages. All of them speak English, as well as Arabic, French, German, Polish, Russian etc, and are really great to interact with.
Some people have written about problems with the food, however I didn't have any problems at all. The only problems we found were with our vegetarian friend, as some of the dishes were incorrectly labelled at the buffet but if you ask a waiter then they are very helpful. The food caters for all the european tourists, so includes a lot of food you don't often get in Britain, but if you just want pizza and chips every day, there is that option too. You can also book in to eat at the 'a la carte' restaurant, the tunisian restaurant or beach restaurant all of which are well worth a try. Although we found the service to be quite slow in the 'a la carte' restaurant.
The hotel has loads on offer. In addition to all of the animation team's activities you can go on a trip to the medina (old town) with a member of staff for free- you get taken to a carpet shop and have to sit through all of that first but there is no pressure to buy, once you tell them you're not interested they leave you alone. Then you have an hour or so to wander around on your own. The guide is always around and stops any scams that he sees happening, such as a man trying to sell us fake jewellery. The hotel also has it's own bit of beach, where you can pay extra to do all sorts of watersports.

All in all, my friends and I had a great time, no major issues and would happily return again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kahkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

we stayed at the thalassa sousse from 17/06/2012-01/07/2012, the hotel itself is very nicely set out, the accomodation we stayed in was very nice, as there was 8 of us we were given 3 bungalows with a lawn outside the size of 3 tennis courts, which was great for my grandchildren to play, the pool was less than 50 yards away and our sunbeds were reserved for us everyday by the lifegaurds for which we gave them a small tip, the bar staff were fantastic as were the restaraunt staff (a little tip goes a long way)we never had to queque for a drink nor did we have to wait, the entertainment team was fantastic as was the kids club keeping kids and adults entertained all day.
THE DOWNSIDE:
the food in my opinion did not reflect the standard of the hotel, the freshly cooked food queques were so long that you could not be bothered to wait and the rest of the food was warm but not kept up to temperatures we would expect in UK, the "A-la-carte"(from the menu) is a total waste of time, you are allowed one visit per week but you are given a set menu of 5 courses if you dont like any of the set menu you are not given any other choice.
they have a new director at the hotel and there was a lot of suits during our stay trying to improve service should they succeed in sorting out the food this would be a perfect hotel to stay in, but until this happens be preparred to eat out.

Room Tip: try to get a bungalow
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews