We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go with an open mind” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go with an open mind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

After reading some of the reviews, we were a bit sceptical about this hotel an we were fearing the worst...it is true - dont always believe what you read!
We stayed for a week in May 2012and had a fab time -very relaxing.
ROOMS:
Rooms are nice , basic but clean. Everything worked fine and the maids cleaned and changed towels once a day - even scattering petals on the bed and in the bathroom
FOOD:
Food was plentiful and the restaurant is watched over as is the bar by a bevy of managers-ensuring the staff are quick, efficient and always polite. As soon as you sit down, waiters arrive asking which drink you would like an always on the ball clearing plates between courses. All the staff we found were very pleasant. Food was nice but they do need to cater more for english, although we did eat well. plenty of fresh salad, breads and the desserts were amazing.
HOTEL~
Its very clean and modern with an army of cleaners everywhere. Pool bars and also a beach restaurant altho you do have to book for that 24hrs prior.Lovely terrace for evening cocktails.
STAFF:
We found all the staff very pleasant. The waiters really looked after you and we didnt even tip until the end of our stay. Animation team are full on and work really hard but they are a good laugh and are very pleasant. There are the hotels security patrolling the beach which is great as they dont allow the sellars up and down the beach to hassle you in any way.
OVERALL:
If anything the only thing with this hotel is that it doesnt have many english - altho this can be a plus because all the staff love it when they realise you are english. they love chatting with you. I would recommend this hotel and for the price you can get it for, its a real bargain. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview you will get a room inbetween the beach and pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank karenk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    332
    221
    154
    175
See reviews for
668
270
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Thalassa Sousse last summer and it was awful. I know it has almost been a year but I wanted to share my review as I am currently looking to book my next holiday and have been reading reviews.

This hotel was awful in every way. It is desperate need of a refurbishment every part of the building is shabby, dirty and broken. I only stayed in this hotel one night and demanded that Dan the Thomson rep should move us immediately.

Bedrooms: The striped bed cover were stained and ripped, I had to call reception to have someone come and change the bedsheets in front of me. My hair dryer was broken and burnt out from the inside. The towels were old and stained.There was a bed and mattress propped up outside our bedrooms door for 48 hours!

Buffet: On having my first meal in the restaurant, not only was the food unbelievably poor quality with a minimal selection but I was lucky enough to be wolf whistled by a waiter before I had even sat down! The tables were filled with dirty plates which hadn't been cleared. The chairs were filthy and needed replacing with stuffing falling out the bottoms. We asked for a drink from a waiter who told us to go out of the restaurant to the bar to get a drink. I asked a waiter for a spoon for my spaghetti to which he shrugged and walked off. By the time he had returned I had finished and was leaving.

Even the men's urinals in the lobby were broken!

We were soo unbelievably disappointed with the hotel we met with the rep the same day we arrived to request to be moved. When explaining everything to the rep coincidental at the same time, a huge glass door in the hotel lobby fell off its hinges when I guest was walking through and all the staff had to run to help the poor man. That just summed up the whole hotel without saying a thing.

We went to sleep and the next morning went straight back to Dan to find out if he was able to find a hotel to move us, and luckily he had booked us into another 4* called the Riu Bellevue Park. We had to pay £400 to move and also had to pay for a taxi but we were so desperate we didn't even care. The new hotel was everything we had expected and more, thank god we moved sooner rather then later as we managed to save our holiday and had a fantastic time in the end.

Please see all of the pictures of what I have mentioned above attached.

Whatever you do, do not stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Danibear1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sousse hotels

Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The reception workers are so rude and inconsiderate. They yelled at us in the lobby for their mistake and where so abrasive that they ruined our time in Sousse. When we travelled to the South of Tunisia we were shocked at how hospitable and welcoming the people were in comparison to the idiots running Thalassa Sousse. Do not stay there! Another couple we met were so upset by the reception workers that they left without paying.

Room Tip: Take a room near the beach so you don't have to listen to the constant blare of the Animation so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicoleandJuho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Arrived at hotel march 18th 2012, late in the day. Restaurant was kept open so that we could have hot meal and got bottled water for room. Restaurant and Hotel staff very friendly and very helpful at all times. Rooms were cleaned every day. Weather was hot but could cloud over early afternoon. Animation team fantastic, always trying to keep everyone happy, well done to Wayne, Gogo, Roule and Marmado and collegues. Great holiday would go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

arrived at hotel, march 2012 all looked lovely, the staff kept restaurant open so we could eat and get water. 1st day ok warm and windy, 2nd day it rained and rained for 8 days on and off. so we were stuck, in our rooms most of the time, beds hard only 1 channel on the tv in english, food the same everyday, eggs, fish. my family dont like either, evening meals could be a lot better, it let the hotel down.4 out of 7 of us had sickness and upset stomachs my grandson is still very loose. staff most are very nice and friendly. but one cornered
my daughter, made out he was security let her bro in and not her, he was trying to kiss her told her how lovely she was, it scared her for the rest of the holiday, i also complained to thomson, and put it in writing, rep. Nathan very good.but staff was coming up to us asking to tell the boss, it was all a joke a miss understanding like HELL!!!!
to all familys with teenage girls or girls on holiday without fella watch out please.

Room Tip: we were in main part of hotel, could hear everything, to the tv in the next room, doors banging, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craftincaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

The hotel is well situated on the beach. There are many green areas.
The staff was kind.
The restaurant was very good - varied and very tasty food on each meal. Good wine were included in the price!
The rooms were nice. We stayed in one of those small buildings and we were fascinated by the greenery around. The rooms were cleaned every day and in good condition.
The only thing that can be improved is the furniture as it is obsolete.
Briefly, we were satisfied by the hotel and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GabsBubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Ive read previous reviews which gave me doubts about this hotel, but im glad we came here. The hotel and staff were all fantastic and couldnt do enough for us. The food was amazing and the hygiene was second to none. Overall i would be more than happy to stay here again and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.
The weather was not great but the animation team kept us entertained and it was a pleasant surprise that they spoke such good english. You also knew you could ask them anything should you need too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank melyarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SENSIMAR Scheherazade
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#13 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark

Property: Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011, Sousse 4039, Tunisia (Formerly LTI Thalassa Sousse)
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an unbeatable situation on a golden sandy beach along the Mediterranean Sea, just a few steps from the vibrant city of Sousse, this luxurious hotel offers the perfect choice for holidaymakers eager to explore something out of the ordinary and spice up their sun holidays with a range of outstanding services. Close to El Kantaoui Marina and just a 30-minute drive from the Monastir International Aiport, the comfortable rooms are spread over 3 floors. Those travellers wishing to enjoy full privacy may prefer the comfortable bungalows overlooking the pools or the beach and providing its own terrace. Guests staying at this establishment may find a wide range of dining options including international cuisine, Tunisian specialities and different bars offering the best place to share moments with the family or friends. The magnificent water park offers the young ones the best place to have a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Thalassa Sousse Hotel Sousse
Lti Thalassa Hotel Sousse
Sousse Lti Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing