We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Samara

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sousse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Samara
Save
You added Hotel Samara to your Saves list
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Sousse
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Hotel needs a bit of an update, however friendly staff, good choice of food and nice evening programmes make up for it.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank L0ub0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    12
    2
    19
See reviews for
11
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

The hotel is acceptable for low budget tourists. I have seen better but also I have seen worse.

Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kristo_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

we arrived very late and was escorted to a building at the back of the Hotel, we were give a nice room with a balcony far enough away not to be disturbed by the evening entertainment \9not in English). Overall i found this hotel ok for the price we had paid! There is loads to do many day trips and activities on the beach, you can even travel to Port el kantoi which is also very nice! the hotel could have been cleaner but like i said it was very cheap, the food was ok but after a trip to the dessert we had to visit a few of the local resturants as i was sick of couscous. i disagree with some of tha bad reviews although i do agree that maybe this hotel is ot suited for the English as i dont think nthey get many and dont really cater for us evening entertainment wise!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hanspan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

What a con!! Having done the usual European Med stuff in the past I was looking forward to a 4star half-board experience with my girlfriend & the Hotel website looked great. Hence the con. The room was so basic I thought I was on a club 18-30's in Magaluf. Food was ok but no catering for English tastes. Staff were ignorant. 1 pool was closed, gym was closed, 3 of the bars were closed, casino featured across the road closed. Sports facilities hah!! Oh they did keep the gardens nice though

  • Liked — sun terrace
  • Disliked — decor & age
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chunkymunky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sousse hotels

bellerose
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel.It was indeed a bad experience
for us.The room and bathroom were unhygienic and the room's
furnitures were torn and filthy , in addition the food was terrible
for 4 star hotel.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank lamaman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

Hotel Samara was a nice surprise given some of the comments on your web site. Rooms were spotless but needed a little updating. Bedding changed x 2 per week; towels which were very white and fluffy every day. Plenty of hot water and staff were very helpful!
Food, on the other hand was not quite as we have come to expect from Tunisia. Basic ingredients looked fine but most of the time it was overcooked and they ran out of things very early. That meant if you went down after 7pm there was little left - the time for dinner was 6 - 9 but the staff started to clear things away by 7.30pm. And unfortunately, they had started to help themselves well before this consquently sometimes there was little choice left.

  • Liked — Location and it was a small and friendly place.
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tunisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

My thoughts on Samarra and SOUSSE in general can be summed up with one phrase 'HELL ON EARTH'.

My wife and I went to Hotel Samarra for a week.
It was advertised as a 4* hotel. As soon as we arrived at the room the wife burst into tears. It was basic and although clean enough was not what we were expecting. 1* at most.
It didn't get any better. We ate nothing at the hotel, and very little elsewhere. You have a choice of Pizza, Steak or lasagne. Thats about it for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Also the heat was unberarable for two of the days when the winds were coming up from the Sahara. It was like being in an oven.
If you do go to Sousse it is guaranteed that you will be ill two to three days into your stay. We both were and everyone else we spoke to was.
The Samarra caters for Eastern Europeans only. No German, French or English anywhere. And the entertainment is so corny and lasts until 4am some nights. Terrible if you have a pool view, right above the music/entertainment stage.

There is nothing to do in Sousse - at all. Also watch out for the bars that serve beer (but don't tell you its non - alcoholic). These are more prevalant in Port El Kantoui, up the road from Sousse.

We tried getting a flight anywhere else in the world on Wednesday (3 days into our holiday) but couldn't manage it.
We were trapped.

Basically avoid this hotel and Sousse altogether. If you have booked here - cancel now.

You have been warned.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everthing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Stupidbigtoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#22 of 41 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Faracha
Hotel El Faracha
#19 of 41 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 41 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Dreams Beach Hotel
Dreams Beach Hotel
#32 of 41 in Sousse
3.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel & Casino Cesar Palace
2.2 mi away
LTI Thalassa Sousse
LTI Thalassa Sousse
#10 of 41 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara

Property: Hotel Samara
Address: Route de la Corniche, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Samara 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Also Known As:
Samara Hotel Sousse
Hotel Samara Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing