We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one week in sousse”
Review of Le Marabout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Marabout Hotel
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed September 8, 2012

If you want some peace and quiet, at night, make sure you don't get a room in the first block, facing the streetside! the disco opposit the hotel starts at midnight till morning, every day! the food was alright but always the same and often cold. waiting in a row for beverages with your meal, is not relaxing. having to ask for forks and knifes and spoons all the time....the swimmingpool is lovely and the waterslides very amusing! okay beach but watch out for sandflees, cause I brought them back home and that's worry! all in-formula is not much at all. alright animation but if you want something, it costs...rooms were only cleaned in the bathroom and the beds made but that's it! friendly people at service, sometimes too friendly...I have enjoyed my stay in Sousse but it could be better!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank De I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Le Marabout Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 470 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

I agree with the last reviewer.
We were there in August and Pool and beach is great . Weather nice ,Water park attached to the pool is good
If you get the New wing then Rooms ok but the old wing is awful.
However bring or buy soap as the Hotel Hotel skimps on services like soap and bed changes

It is also worth knowing that If reception tell you to come back later when you ask for somthing ,This means it is not going to happen.

Be firm with them or otherwise be ignored.

However the main problem with the hotel is the restaurent .
The food is really awful and should be avoided at all costs .
If you can get a rate without meals then it is fine but if you are paying for the food then it is not good enough .
They can cook as the other restaurentat the Hotel where you pay and it is fine ,they just seem unable to to do it in the main restaurent .

Avoid trips into the Medina ,it is full of rubbish and horrible shop keepers and pick pockets .
it will just spoil your holiday .

Room Tip: New wing only
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dermot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The pool, with waterslides and the beach right next to the hotel is nice... but that is it.

The hotel has an old and a new building. In the old building, where the doublerooms are situated, the rooms are dirty and worn down. The cleaning is daily, but minimal.

As the hotel expanded, and build more rooms. The rest of the facilities just simply did not follow. The restaurant is way to small. People are standing in queue to get in, the waiters are overloaded and the service is dirty, Just awful.

Besides the facilities to small, the hotel is surely not helping by alowwing locals and local sellers into the poolarea by daytickets. A poolarea that has NO LIFEGUARDS. During our stay a little boy had a heart attack at the pool, and the staff at the pool just slapped his face and pulled him around trying to wake him up. Only a quick thinking guest, who perfomed first aid, saved the kids life.

The service level is low, the staff are yelling and are not very helpful. The city of Sousse is not a very nice place either.

I visited Sousse with my girlfriend and we can absolutely not recommend this hotel, or this region at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here 1st week in July, great for kids, food was nt fab but got better as the days went on. We (2 adults & 2 kids) and a family room in new part of hotel and it was ideal. Breakfast finished at 9.30 though which we thought was a bit early. Would not recommed all-inclusive here as its not all day and its only the cheap stuff really, and 1 scoop of ice-cream was served once a day which I thought was a bit mean. Definitly recommed for kids 6 + on a half board basis....

Room Tip: Ask for new part of hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank ladymidge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The last time I spent my holiday here was in 2009. I remember the food was pretty good especially the breakfast. Loved the bread,eggs and the sausages with juice. The service was good and they are very kind to you ! I'm going to sousse every year because I'm from sousse but I just wonder if somebody can tell me how it is now a days? The food example and the new rooms? Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank aamiiir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Hotel is located in a great area, on the beach and close to the center of the city, close but not directly to the main road.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was ok, basic, with old furniture and a small fridge but very, very clean.
The pool area is really nice, there is a small aqua-park at the hotel so you have a variety of slides and there are plenty of sunbeds in the pool area. During day time there is entertainment for all if you want to join in. There's also a different show every night.
On site you'll find a shop that sell different souvenirs, but just around the corner you'll find a supermarket and plenty souvenir shops.
The food was great and diverse for a half board basis.
Overall we were satisfied with the hotel and stay there.

In Tunisia always negotiate !
Go on the 2 day Sahara trip, Friguia Park,Tunis and visit the Medina!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank Neostream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Higher avarage standard, but what can you expect with last-minute TUI trip. We had one cleaning through a six day stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Jakub C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.4 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
981 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
1.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Marabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Marabout Hotel

Address: Boulvard du 7 Novembre, Sousse, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: $32 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Marabout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Marabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Marabout Sousse
Hotel Le Marabout

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing