We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Karawan Beach & Resort
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've given a 'very good' rating, this means 'very good' for the very low price you pay to stay here, and the good service.I stayed with my son for two weeks from the 4th to the 17th April- we paid just 300pp for 2 weeks all inclusive, during the school Easter holidays, which is extremely cheap! When we first arrived it was a bit chaotic, and service was hit and miss, however I put that down to some of the staff being new to their roles, after a few days the service had much improved. The management take complaints seriously and do their best to make things right. The reception girl is so lovely and sweet and helpful, BUT! the two younger guys who work at reception however are SO MISERABLE, arrogant and RUDE I don't know why they bother working in a place where there are tourists as they clearly hate each and every one. I got used to this however and just didn't bother going to them for anything if possible, and if it was unavoidable I would prepare myself for rudeness and give it back to them tenfold. So be warned. And it seemed to be women that got the worst treatment, but I don't take that sort of nonsense from such people. A shame when all of the other staff are lovely.

Rooms very basic, but clean enough. Our view was great from the 4th floor, overlooking the pools and the sea, definately worth paying a bit extra for. My bed was on the firm side, but my son's bed was soft and squidgy and comfy! The TV only had BBC World News, but this was fine as we like watching the news but families with younger kids might miss having cartoons to entertain the children. The shower did not fix onto the holder so we had to hold it as we showered, but we didn't mind as the shower was hot and powerful and the bath nice and deep, there was always tons of piping hot water. The toilet broke a couple of times but was fixed by the cleaner both times. Fresh towels and bathmats every day.

Food- there were complaints, and despite my food-snobbiness I always found something nice to eat, and it was never cold. The spaghetti bolognaise and lasagne was nice, the chips were nice when we got them, the salads were fresh and interesting, the curries and meat stews were fine, the rice dishes lovely. Breakfast was a bit strange with funny looking dishes of god-knows-what, however we were happy with the lovely toasted french bread, nice butter and strawberry jam. There were fried eggs and omelletes available which looked lovely. I took my own teabags and the teabags on holidays are always rubbish, and was glad I did! I also brought my own mug as the little cups provided are too small! Waiters were great and attentive and ensured we were well looked after, sometimes decorating our table with flowers and leaves etc and candles which was nice and my son liked it. So, the food wasn't michelin star but it was interesting and nice on the whole! Not once did I get a dodgy tummy, bonus!

The pool areas were nice, clean and plenty of hotspots to sunbathe. The pools were quite cold because of the time of year, but the indoor pool is as warm as a bath and the kids loved it. People still swam in the colder pools, but I declined! The toboggan pool with the slides was really good, however on the last day the lifeguard said that was 'broken', my son was upset as it was his last chance to play on them, so the lifeguard disappeared and suddenly the slides came on! When he returned he explained quite angrily to me that the slides are controlled from a cupboard just down the steps and that there are dangerous live wires poking out of the switchbox and that when he turns the slide on 'I get big shock up my arm!' He insisted I go and have a look, which I did and it looked very dangerous, he said he could be killed! I explained that this is not the guests fault as we did not know this was the situation- and that his manager is responsible for fixing it and he should not get angry with the guests. He accepted this, in the end I felt quite sorry for him as it did look very dodgy indeed!

Best for service was lovely, smiley Mohammed who made sure we were well looked after with lots of drinks and ice in the evenings, and also the guy serving the all inclusive bar made sure there was a constant stream of drinks coming our way! The guy at the pool bar is so lovely too and always brought plenty of beers to us by the pool and kept the areas clean. I always gave them a tip as they work so hard. The Animations/ entertainment staff were lovely and Hamdi is a great guy, the entertainment was not in full swing at this time as it was still the very start of the season but we watched them rehearsing their moves on the stage! On the last night there was a good show in the hotel nighclub, with acrobats and bed of nails etc. Mac who sells the massages and treatments is a great guy and very helpful. We booked turkish baths and full body massage during our stay and both were excellent and highly recommended!

I had my Blackberry phone pinched out of my bag during my stay, not sure when or where this happened, and also money went missing from my room while I was at breakfast. Not sure who, there were cleaners and workmen in my corridor so it could have been anyone- so top tip is NEVER leave anything in your room if you wouldn't want it nicked, and look after your valuables, I thought I was pretty vigilant with such things but I will certainly up my game after this. However I didn't let it spoil my holiday.

We had a great time and would definatley go back again, thanks to all the staff especially Mo and Hamdi and the animation guys- and the lovely new friends we met for making this a great holiday :) From Louise and Peter x

Room Tip: 4th floor/ 5th floor have the best views, choose a sea view! Take a travel kettle, your own teabags...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Talkofthetoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 384 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

spent one week at this hotel 7-14th April 2013 .Booked this at last minute , so a little rushed as far as choice was concerned. Arrived at 1.00 am, no refreshment offered at all, after an extremely long transfer from Tunis. Went to breakfast the next morning ( no toaster ) !!!, after a number of complaints, they did provide one the next day, however you had to remove the knob and use a knife of turn the timer. Lunch the next day ( no butter ), the chef managed to find some for me and brought out a little plate with some on. When I had finished my bread roll, they went to take it away and give what was left to someone else. It was like something from Fawlty towers.The food was often warm/cold , rather than solve the problem, they put a microwave on the buffet table!!!!
The hotel itself does need updating, however our room was cleaned every day and although basic , it done the job. Hotel does have its own private beach ,but beware you have to pay for sunbeds, umbrellas etc. Despite lots of complaints, things were dealt with when brought to the managers attention., they are trying to improve things.
We were lucky , we met a great group of guests which made it into an enjoyable break.
We are quite well travelled and frankly , you get what you pay for.. However we got what we wanted a short break in the sun. .

Room Tip: Choose a pool-view, otherwise you will be at the front of the hotel which is on the main road in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honeymooners031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Karawan for 7 days all inclusive for the 1st week of April 2013. We were a bit nervous of the hotel due to the previous reviews which seemed to be quite harsh! But on arrival and during the stay we found that this hotel is clean, comfortable and totally acceptable for what you pay for it and with the all inclusive deal. Some people have left rather harsh comments and expect the Hilton Hotel! Remember this is Africa, and the standards can't be compared to Europe or even USA hotel standards. Below is an honest review from a young couple who just wanted a place to crash that was clean! This hotel has been given 3 stars for average as in our view that's exactly what it was acceptable and average for what you pay.

Rooms:
Ours was clean enough and had a view of the pool on the 4th floor. We did ask for a double bed but got a 2 single beds pushed together! That's the best the could offer. We had a balcony, TV, wardrobe and bed. The TV channels are all foreign there's NO satalite TV the TV seemed to cater mainly for German, Italian and French visitors. There's 1 English channel and that's the news. There's no fridge, iron, or kettle in the rooms so I would advise you to bring your own. The maid will come daily, but she will not change the sheets unless you ask for this service, towels are provided daily.

Food/Drinks:
We were not ill at all, and the food at the hotel was mainly the same each day! This was the only downfall so by day 3-4 we were a bit fed up. Breakfast slightly disappointing but it gets better at lunch and dinner. Overall with the food it's not bad it could be worse it was hot, fresh, and cooked well. Mainly Chicken, pasta's, rice etc.However a bit more variety would be good. Drinks were OK and there was plenty.

Pools:
There are 3 2 outdoor 1 indoor in April the pool outdoors was too cold ( for me) to go in!I did not however see them being cleaned while I was there....... However there are nice to chill out beside and listen to the music that's played by the DJ.

Location:
Perfect! And the best bit as it's across the road from the beach, I did not see any ''private'' beach as advertised so we walked down and paid about 7 diner for a lounger for the day for 2 people. The shops, marina and bars are a short walk from the hotel overall a good location. This hotel is about a 2 hour drive from Tunis airport so bear this in mind when you transfer I believe Monister is nearer about 40 mins.

Service/Staff:
Contrary to what others have said about his being poor in our experience they were very polite and could not do enough to help and ensure you have a good stay.

Overall, we feel this hotel is acceptable for the price and general standards of the country.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a pool view room as the city view rooms overlook the main road which is not much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LasVegasBride83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just stayed at Karawan for a short holiday, our first package holiday and our first time in Tunisia. Having read reviews here we were anxious but Karawan turned out to be absolutely fine. It is a budget option, and if, like us, you wanted a cheap holiday then you can't expect the Ritz! Have given the hotel 'Very Good' rating - actually I feel it is more of a 'good', but better than 'average' and definitely deserves better reviews than most on here.

Staff were friendly and generally helpful, most spoke English although we opted to communicate in French as this was better understood.

We had booked a double bed but were given two singles pushed together - they seemed unable to provide us with a double room but instead the chambermaid made up the beds as a double, and a small tip meant that she serviced our room well each day. We'd booked a sea view and had this - a lovely view over the pools out to the sea.

We appreciated being in walking distance of the city centre, medina, and the beach - a big plus point for us as it meant we could get around independently.

Food was great - we were all inclusive - and while drinks options were limited (steer clear of the rose wine) the food options were varied and interesting at each meal during our stay. I was almost disappointed we weren't offered couscous! Evening entertainment was limited (we stayed in April right at the beginning of their season) but this suited us as we're not big on organised entertainment in any case. Most took place in the bar which was smoking so not to our taste; we sat in the quieter, non-smoking bar for drinks in the evening which was fine. We spoke to Mohamed, the manager, who was always around, and he knows that the hotel is an older building which has its limitations, but he tries to do everything as well as possible.

The shower in our room was also worth a mention - fabulous - strong and hot at all times, better than my shower at home!

Organised tours were available from the hotel - we took one (a camel ride) which was great, but we also enjoyed hiring a car and doing our own thing one day.

All in all a good stay. We were here as a couple but I would bring a family here too, there are three pools as well as the beach and all that the city has to offer so it would be fine from that point of view. A budget option but if that is what you need, then Karawan is a perfectly pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank tworedboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I traveled with a 92 year old friend this time & our holiday was spoilt by the Manager of Accounts Department, who on Easter Friday informed us that though we had handed in Two Vouchers from Sunshine Holidays, he had received confirmation of the two added days but not the original seven days we had booked & asked us to contact " their supplier" Hotel Beds, to rectify the situation. I told them that as far as I am confirmed both confirmation were received after paying in FULL & being Easter holidays it may be difficult to get response. Anyway, luckily I had my iPad & had got local connection done on arrival a day earlier, so was able to send email to Sunshine, who confirmed all & contacted Hotel Beds & even they confirmed & RESENT the Voucher details, BUT the hotel & this Accounts Manager DID NOT inform us that the situation is resolved BUT when I caught him in dining room, he said he has another problem with Hotel Beds, his Supplier BUT no apology for causing us undue concern for two days. When I was taken to his office to see his computer records with Hoel Beds, I dis see that he had received the information but failed to spot it before raising issue with us, BUT NO APOLOGY for causing my friend & I undue concern on our holiday & what if I was not able to contact Sunshine holidays. Anyway, eventually, I was able to contact Hotel Manager, & insisted he talked to the Accounts Manager, so that he does not disturb regular customers without first doing his home work. Accounts Manager was asked to contact me, but he kept on blaming his supplier BUT still NO APOLOGY to us. I eventually took my iPad & showed him that I was informed three /four times by Sunshine that BOTH confirmation were sent to the hotel & RESENT to confirm. When I insisted that all coul have been settled, if he had apologised immediately when he got reconfirmation, he reluctantly apologised ! BUT he created very bad situation on out holiday.

Hotel seems to work on limited staff, who seems to be paid poorly. In restaurant the Chef does his best to create his best from limited choice. But the waiters are all the time disappearing with the food & drinks for themselves in the back room & eager to serve you drinks, which are paid extra but no drinks menu or charges & one waiter actually overcharged for drinks !! Other young waiter more interested to serve lady guests.. Anyway, lack of training & supervision is very easily seen.
Old lady does clean rooms daily but you will get only one small soap during your stay, we stayed 9 days & bought our soap from local supermarket !


As to the Hotel Manager, he seemed very keen to keep Guests happy, inspite of limited staff & the hotel in need of lot of improvements in plumbing Dept. in rooms.

All I feel is that this hotel WILL NOT BE MY FIRST CHOICE, IF I GO TO SOUSSE AGAIN.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SureshG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobkarawan, Gérant at Karawan Beach & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013
Google Translation

nous avons reponduent a toutes vos demande sur place et vous avez eu tout ce que vous avez voulue, l'incident avec mr.Samir ( le chef de la réservation ) n’était qu'une simple vérification obligatoire de routine..
j’espère vous revoir a l’hôtel dans de meilleures conditions.
Sincèrement Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

well im back home now ,and once again i had a wonderful stay at the karawan all staff were friendly and attentive so i have no complaints, being in the travel industry i have seen lots of hotels all around the world and i have seen worse trust me , and what little money you pay for this hotel i think its great value for money ,will return to this hotel again .

Room Tip: well i have been on floor 3 and floor 4 had no complaints sea view is always good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank queenierossat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night band b because we had to get off flight because I was ill the staff on the Thomas cook flight assured us we could get later flight at no cost but when we got off there was no more flights that day so we went to karawan Mohamed the manager helped us get a new flight with ba and even lent us the money because we never had enough the staff there couldn't do enough for us I'm in wheel chair and there was always someone to wheel me about I really can't thank Mohamed enough for helping me and my daughter out I've since sent Mohamed the money I owed him but can't wait to go back and see every one again

Room Tip: Most rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
2.0 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#21 of 35 in Sousse
876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#20 of 35 in Sousse
36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#13 of 35 in Sousse
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Jinene & Royal Jinene Hotels
0.4 mi away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#8 of 35 in Sousse
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Marabout Hotel
Le Marabout Hotel
#19 of 35 in Sousse
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karawan Beach & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karawan Beach & Resort

Address: Avenue Hedi Chaker | Route de la Corniche, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: $22 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karawan Beach & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Otel and Evoline ltd so you can book your Karawan Beach & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karawan Beach Hotel Sousse
Karawan Beach And Resort
Karawan Hotel Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing