We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting filthy dangerous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karawan Beach & Resort
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Husband and I stayed here oct 2012 were not fussy people as long as its clean has edible food and has a basic standard THIS HOTEL HAS NONE STAY WELL CLEAR ! Filthy windows, food splattered walls, smoking chefs and bar staff its also located on a very busy road they didn't even have ice for the horrid drinks. This is by far the worst holiday we have ever experienced. We moved to the Royal Salam hotel after 2 days for fear of food poisioning costing a further £300 and the standard here was only slightly better.
PLEASE TAKE NOTE OF THIS POST AND SAVE YOURSELVES A NIGHTMARE !

Room Tip: Stay well clear of this hotel and area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Di G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 385 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

read bad reveiws befor we went stayed 21st --31st october was very quiet but the staff are faultless very pollite and helpfull and funny and do anything for you and dont expect tipps but very gratefull wen we did dont forget tunisian people dont earn alot of money around £6 for 12hrs
everday.
the manager mohamed couldent do enough for u he asked me my drink i told him darkrum next day he had got 3 bottels THANKS MOHAMED all the poolstaff where brilliant made good friends with them bar staff very good asswell very clean rooms only negative point was food not to our likeing but its wat u pay for

Room Tip: pool and beach view noisie on streetside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed 2 weeks Oct 3rd-17th family of 9 3rd time in Tunisia. On arrival staff were friendly and very helpful had given us 4 rooms together as requested but were street view after saying we had booked pool view staff were quick to say they would see what they could do after a few mins Mohammad came and explained that he could give us pool view but rooms not together and gave us keys for all 8 rooms to go and view and let us choose thought this was very good of him .

Halek and Amdy the animation guys were brill and played with kids and sat and spoke to guests ok nightly entertainment was a bit hit and miss but if no guests arrive to watch what was the point of putting it on .

Found all staff friendly from reception ,bars, restaurant and domestic though some guests were very rude to them.

Pools and all public areas were spotless never saw a flooded toilet lol and pools were tested daily.

Paying bar was used by locals mostly men which is the Tunisian way and all were friendly .

Food could have been a little better but never went hungry always had 3 meals a day.
Drinks well yes they did the job lol vodka whiskey cocktails

Clean towels daily with clean bedding every other day.

Had a great holiday and would return to Karawan .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladykNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Would never go there again just come back after 10 days - one of the worst holiday I have been on, bad service bad food and hotel needs a good clean don't waste your money

Have a good look around before picking a hotel and go on trip advisor

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taylor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

cannot believe some reviews on here all i have to say is i deffo wouldn want an invite round for tea round some of you reviewers houses anyone wants to know what the karawans like take note. with everything im about to say comes proof with photos. Yes there was a dog there at the same time as me yes it wasnt a bad dog until it crapped around the pool photos to prove it. i to saw the walking beach whales of north eat everything in site in the canteen id rather them than me the food was vile the manager was a creep kept trying to chat up the girls in the group some staff were ok safe the bar man was a nice guy ali also of the bar was nice. the rest were ignorrant altough i always had my manners about me they had none i do not expect english food on the same yard stick i wont eat dog food what the karawan served the entertainment i wont slag of though because there was none the pool room next door was hideous leaky toilet pipes above head dripping on you what a nightmare holiday please avoid!!!!! if anyone doesnt believe me i can provide pictures

Room Tip: no rooms are good at the karawan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonny y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

really worried about the reviews when we booked this but was pleasantly surprised when we got there the hotel is nice ... mohammed the director was boss he is very helpful and so funny .. we missed some breakfasts due to getting up late cos got in late hahaha .. but we ate out a lot even though the food was ok .. always something to eat but sometimes not hungry at the meal times .... its cheap to eat out anyway although we were all inc ... cant say much about the pool cos never sat by it didnt get snacks either ... the room was really nicely cleaned for all the 2 weeks there benjimima i hope i spelt her name right was lovely and friendly even though we couldnt understand each other hahahahahahah shes great ...we had a sea view room the view was lovely ... i would go to this hotel again .. go and see for yourselves dont take any notice of the bad reviews im glad we didnt ... a few guests complained all the time well so did me mate but it was all cleared up in the end hahahahahahaha all in all it was a great place to stay .... a big up for the massage man never stopped trying to give me a massage never quite made it though hahahah .... maybe next time ... reception guys are friendly no matter what the reviews say well done guys for giving us a great time at your hotel

Room Tip: if you wan a lovely meal go to the caruso situation at the back of the hotel opposite the beach the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhian-kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have recently had a lovely stay in Karawan!

We (me, my husband and 5 month old baby) stayed October 2012, for 2 weeks all inclusive.

The staff are friendly and helpful, there are three great pools, two waterslides and excellent food. The cleaners keep the rooms clean, changing towels daily and bed linen every other day.

The food is excellent - Tunisian local foods, plenty of fresh meat, fish and vegetables. If you want British bacon butties then holiday in Skegness.


This is a great value 3-star hotel - for the price you pay you couldn't get any better.
You can't expect 5-star luxury at these prices. I'm sure negative reviews are from those expecting 5-star but too tight to pay for it, and have no idea of visiting a different culture.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichendaSouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#23 of 36 in Sousse
36 reviews
2 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#22 of 36 in Sousse
876 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#8 of 36 in Sousse
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marhaba Beach
Hotel Marhaba Beach
#3 of 36 in Sousse
2,306 reviews
2 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 36 in Sousse
1,668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#16 of 36 in Sousse
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karawan Beach & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karawan Beach & Resort

Address: Avenue Hedi Chaker | Route de la Corniche, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: $26 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karawan Beach & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Karawan Beach & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karawan Beach And Resort
Karawan Beach Hotel Sousse
Karawan Hotel Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing