We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Karawan Beach & Resort
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed October 23, 2012

cannot believe some reviews on here all i have to say is i deffo wouldn want an invite round for tea round some of you reviewers houses anyone wants to know what the karawans like take note. with everything im about to say comes proof with photos. Yes there was a dog there at the same time as me yes it wasnt a bad dog until it crapped around the pool photos to prove it. i to saw the walking beach whales of north eat everything in site in the canteen id rather them than me the food was vile the manager was a creep kept trying to chat up the girls in the group some staff were ok safe the bar man was a nice guy ali also of the bar was nice. the rest were ignorrant altough i always had my manners about me they had none i do not expect english food on the same yard stick i wont eat dog food what the karawan served the entertainment i wont slag of though because there was none the pool room next door was hideous leaky toilet pipes above head dripping on you what a nightmare holiday please avoid!!!!! if anyone doesnt believe me i can provide pictures

Room Tip: no rooms are good at the karawan
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonny y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Karawan Beach & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 383 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

really worried about the reviews when we booked this but was pleasantly surprised when we got there the hotel is nice ... mohammed the director was boss he is very helpful and so funny .. we missed some breakfasts due to getting up late cos got in late hahaha .. but we ate out a lot even though the food was ok .. always something to eat but sometimes not hungry at the meal times .... its cheap to eat out anyway although we were all inc ... cant say much about the pool cos never sat by it didnt get snacks either ... the room was really nicely cleaned for all the 2 weeks there benjimima i hope i spelt her name right was lovely and friendly even though we couldnt understand each other hahahahahahah shes great ...we had a sea view room the view was lovely ... i would go to this hotel again .. go and see for yourselves dont take any notice of the bad reviews im glad we didnt ... a few guests complained all the time well so did me mate but it was all cleared up in the end hahahahahahaha all in all it was a great place to stay .... a big up for the massage man never stopped trying to give me a massage never quite made it though hahahah .... maybe next time ... reception guys are friendly no matter what the reviews say well done guys for giving us a great time at your hotel

Room Tip: if you wan a lovely meal go to the caruso situation at the back of the hotel opposite the beach the...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhian-kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have recently had a lovely stay in Karawan!

We (me, my husband and 5 month old baby) stayed October 2012, for 2 weeks all inclusive.

The staff are friendly and helpful, there are three great pools, two waterslides and excellent food. The cleaners keep the rooms clean, changing towels daily and bed linen every other day.

The food is excellent - Tunisian local foods, plenty of fresh meat, fish and vegetables. If you want British bacon butties then holiday in Skegness.


This is a great value 3-star hotel - for the price you pay you couldn't get any better.
You can't expect 5-star luxury at these prices. I'm sure negative reviews are from those expecting 5-star but too tight to pay for it, and have no idea of visiting a different culture.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichendaSouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Not sure where to start. This holiday was a nightmare from start to finish. The hotel was of a very poor standard. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful until you had a problem you needed sorting then all of a sudden their command of english became extremley poor but they could still manage to say "not my problem I just work here," even the Self appointed Manager uttered the same on more than one occassion. The food was completely inedible. It was always cold, often with one dish sprawling or spilling into another. Everyday the kitchen ran out of something from tea bags, to sugar, butter, eggs etc. There were cats running around in the kitchens. I attempted to eat twice at the hotel after that I didnt bother anymore - especially after my daughter found bugs in her food. How people can say "they always found something to eat" I do not know god knows what they feed themselves at home.
The bars were dirty and constantly running out of beer although only running out of the beer that you got free with your all inclusive. Lucky enough there was always a good supply of the beer you had to pay for!!!! This hotel allowed a dog on the premises which regularly did number two's in and around the swimming pool.
You could go to the "private karawan beach" which you had to pay for but unfortunately it took a very long time to cross the very busy road.
We were promissed entertainment except none appeared. My mobile phone was stolen under the gaze of two members of hotel staff!!!! The maids did try to clean the rooms but the showers were black with mould and did not work properly, they were a danger to use. My son had no electric in his room on the last night and was unable to use his bathroom. The corridors stank of swerage day and night. The air conditioning did not work. Seriously I could go on and on. I have been back from there since wednesday and I have only just stopped being sick, as has my daughter and our friend - due to drinks we were given in the hotel from dirty pipes - please do not go to this hotel unless you cant afford the Jenny Craig diet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

All I can say is it was not a pleasent place to be we never ate in the hotel as cats and dogs roam the kitchen and the horrible family from up north stole all the bread as that was probably the only edible thing to eat but the 6 of them just dived in and couldn't get enough of the bread
Also the cleanliness of the hotel was shocking those who think it was hygienic ie the family of 6 if you saw them u would understand why they thought this !!
The hotel excepts animals and the dog on holiday used the pool area as its toilet I have photographic evidence to prove this just people think twice before booking this it's a hidious vile place to stay staff are rude and aragont and can't even keep on track of stock left behind the bar!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jezab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our holiday was 2 weeks all inclusive 3rd -17th oct 2012.
Ok we have been to tunisia 4 years ago and swore we would never go back but money was a little bit tight this year and tunisia was all we could afford to do. we searched the internet very carefully fora good hotel and after carefull consideration we booked the karawan even though the reviews were not great. There were 6 of us my husband and I along with our 2 young kids aged 3 and 10 and our 21 year old daughter and her other half.
On arrival we were dropped off outside and no porters which was a pleasant surprise and no hassle. We were greeted at reception by the manager Mohamed who was very happy to chat with us and explained where everything was which was great. We got the keys for our 2 rooms and we needed to change both rooms as we had arrived early and the cleaners had not started their rounds so we asked for 2 more and were given them with no hassle at all but these were a bit too far away from each other so we asked for 2 more and was given 2 sea views on the 4th floor which were very clean with great views so after a bit of messing around we were finally settled and all was good.
The rooms were cleaned every day and mopped to a very high standard and the bed sheets changed every other day and our towels were also changed daily without fail.
The cleaners work very hard and were very friendly always smiling and playing with the kids.
The rooms were more than adequate in size and the decor was fresh with no marks on any of the walls etc.
Food was brilliant for Tunisia with a good range of continental breakfast and Tunisian elements and no matter what time we went down for breakfast there was always plenty and we even had fresh made crepes, omelettes and fried eggs daily. Lunch was great with plenty of choice if you are prepared to experiment with your taste buds with different styles of beef, chicken, pasta dishes etc. Evening dinner was better still with lots of choice including themed dishes with curries, meats, veg and different styles of potatoe dishes usual cous cous peppers etc.
None of us apart from myself are fussy eaters but I found lots to eat at all meal times and all the food was edible and hot. unlike some reviewers on here we are aware that we are visiting a foreign country and do not expect british food but found that our plates and bellies were full at every meal.
Pools were of a high standard but the odd tile could do with replacing but regardless of this the pools were inspected daily for contaminants and surrounding areas were also cleaned daily Mohamed constantly came round to ensure all guests were happy and that their needs were being met.
The snack bar was open all afternoon and consisted of pizza, chips, cornish pasties, spag bol and pasta, on the odd occasion the snack bar food was cold but if you watched for it coming out then it was hot and under cover constantly. If you got a bit hungry while having a drink at night the waiters were more than happy to cook a full size pizza for you and bring it to your tables.
Drinks were served all day and night from 10 till midnight soft drinks were coke, sprite, fanta and fruit juices and were all served cold and they used bagged ice if you wanted it in your drinks but we found the drinks were cold enough without.
Alcohol was gin, whisky, boukka, vodka, wines, cedratine and draught lager all served cold and contrary to what others have said the drinks never ran out for the entire fortnight although the staff did like to make rude guests pay which we found amusing and was a bit of a joke among the staff and the nice guests. We got them making cocktails all the time and be warned they are very strong.
All the staff were absolutely brilliant with us and often came over asking if we wanted them to make us anything and they would bring it to our table and did not expect anything in return only a smile and politeness. how they put up with some of the guests is beyond me as the guests were very rude to them especially germans and a horrible family from london we often saw the staff taking the mick with them which was funny.
All the trips sold at this hotel are great value for money and the team that sells them are fantastic although the camel trip could be better.
The beach is raked every night and was very clean and tidy and the staff only let you on if you are wearing the wristband they do not let touts approach you and remove them from the beach promptly. The beach is situated across a busy road but all you do is step out and hold your hand up and all the traffic stops for you and we also know how to cross a road so this was not hard for us. There is a noddy train on this road which can take you to the beautiful port el kantoui.
We paid £400 per person for this brilliant holiday and are planning on returning to this hotel next year.
There was a dog staying with a young lady and let me assure you it never pooed in any pool the cats mentioned in a previous review were not a problem and lived at the hotel grounds garden and were lovely although i do agree with the comment that it was seen in the snack bar kitchen a couple of times.
finally if anyone feels the need to complain about anything with this hotel you need to ask yourself if they have such high standards why would they book a 3 star tunisian hotel mmmm maybe they cant afford a 5 star which would be a 3 star in spain. my advice is that they stick to benidorm (blackpool with sun) and if anyone has a problem staying at this hotel then they should get their own head out of their backside.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view on 4th floor 481 was great
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Helnfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

before i booked this i read all the reviews and that on other review websites too, the majority were negative but went with it anyway cos it was cheap and there was 6 of us, omg we could of cried, the place is filthy with a constant smell in the corridors of stagnant water coming out of the air conditioning units, the food there i would not of fed to my dog, my friend found a beetle in her cornflakes and the canteen staff were as rude as could be, cats were running about in the outside kitchens, the bar staff were nice until they ran out of barrels of beer and then made us pay if we wanted a "bottle" of beer, when you go all inclusive you are not expected to get your purse out when it comes to food and drink. we ate in there twice (breakfast and luch first day) and went to the italian resturant next door everyday which was fantastic. there is not even an icecream for children and not once did they lay on entertainment although they advertised it everynight. the beach is across a busy main road that is advertised as the karawan private beach although anybody can use it and sun beds are at a charge.and when a german woman turned up with a dog that POOED in the pool that was the final straw,(yes the hotel allows pets). on the 4th day we checked out the rooms were mediocre although bathrooms looked like they could do with a good clean, our maid was great and came in everyday. the only good thing i can say about this vile dirty pit., those that think it is great, i can only imagine what they live on and what their homes look like!

Room Tip: Stay away from the main road side because of noise
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.7 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,599 reviews
2.0 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#19 of 35 in Sousse
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#21 of 35 in Sousse
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Jinene & Royal Jinene Hotels
0.4 mi away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#8 of 35 in Sousse
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Marabout Hotel
Le Marabout Hotel
#22 of 35 in Sousse
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karawan Beach & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karawan Beach & Resort

Address: Avenue Hedi Chaker | Route de la Corniche, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: $25 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karawan Beach & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Otel and Evoline ltd so you can book your Karawan Beach & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karawan Beach And Resort
Karawan Beach Hotel Sousse
Karawan Hotel Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing