We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a really good holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marhaba Salem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marhaba Salem
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
England
1 review
“a really good holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

june - july was my first time in Tunisia and i loved it the rooms where basic but cozy and clean. the animation who work around the pool in the day are really funny and get along with everyone and make you feel welcome. the animation also do entertainment on a night including the children's mini disco. i will DEFINITELY go again. we found all the staff very friendly and helpful.

food was really nice and not too spicy.

everything was really cheep except for chocolate and crisps.

a very friendly and family place. i recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sianclayton95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    327
    114
    49
    48
See reviews for
382
257
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

This was my first trip abroad and it was my birthday presant from my boyfriend....the hotel it self was a bit disorganised in regards to the room we had booked via teletext but sorted the problem very fast with a smile on their face! The ANIMATION TEAM (entertainment 24/7) was superb. We laughed non stop whilst around them and in their company. We played all sort of sports and games and in the evening they got us involved and up on stage! One member of the team I would like to mention is Alex. He was such a nice guy and did everything to make us laugh! He was even laughing and smiling when my boyfriend launched him into the pool one day! We never left the hotel for entertainment purposes as we had everything we wanted in the animation team! They work so hard and it pays off! They are non stop on the go wether thats dancing with or with out music!! All of them were great fun and they would be the reason we want to go back to this hotel. Well done guys!! Hope to see you all again next year!
Food in sousse and local towns was lovely and very very cheap would def advise Tunisia and Marhaba Salem to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkie87Windsor_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

I went on this hoilday with a family me and my husband and my daughter at the age of 12 ,
This is the best hoilday i have ever been on it has 3 swimming pools and you share the big swimming pool with the Royal Salem witch have 2 or 3 slide's the food was EXCELLENT we went half board but everything was cheap and we went with lots of money and came back with nearly most of it , The rooms were great very clean not very big but we only slept in there you spend most of your time watching the entertainment Witch is by the way very good you dont just sit there you join in. It was a great location easy to get to the centre of there place.
Lets just say there is a lot to do you don't have to leave the complex I would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

rooms were clean but very small with three of us sharing. Food was disgusting breakfast consisted if what wasnt eaten the night before and my daughter who is 3 wouldnt eat anything.
Pool very unsafe daughter slipped and fell in which was very scary as she was only walking ! and the childrens entertainment started at 845 which was to late and included dancing around the pool which hello was dangerous!
Staff in snack bar very rude ! and unhelpful.
Our hot water went off and when came back was brown and stayed they like as they wouldnt fix it so had cold showers for rest of holiday.
The pool men were very helpful and friendly about the only good thing about this hotel.
all in all would not recommend this hotel. Oh by the way be prepared the minute you step out of the hotel you will be harassed by people trying to sell you stuff very irritating .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah014sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

our holliday was spoilt by the bar facilities & the ignorant & rude bar staff.iffyou tipped you got your drink in a proper glass or cup & would bring it to your table if not you would get half a plastic container of drink or a lot smaller cup of coffee.the bar content was very poor aprox 4 diff spirits very week lager +red & white wines which were ok.i stress once again that the attraction of both the bar and its staff was abysmal.iusually tip at the begining & end of a holliday if we get good service,but here to get any kind of service you had to tip them all every day.having got that off of my chest all the rest of the staff were brilliant especially the dining room staff

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houdiniDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M'bro uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic week at the Marhaba Salem and completely loved it.....We were travelling with a group of 16 adults 9 of which have learning disabilities and we felt that the hotel more than met our expectations, rooms were cleaned every day, Mike the pool man was extremely helpful, a few dinars a day and he ensured we all had beds, seats, umbrellas and tables in a good spot each day. The animation team work so very hard and made the holiday for all the group. The food was plentiful and beautifully cooked and presented not one complaint from anyone within the group. Hannah the Thompson rep and Mr Sim the Manager could not have done enough for us when we had a small problem (nothing to do with hotel) We felt the only thing that let the experience down a bit was the attitudes of the bar staff sometimes by the pool, however we talked to Alex the animation guy about it and soon enough they were smiling and very apologetic.......lesson is just say something if your unhappy about any part of the hotel and its staff. Bearing in mind the hotel went All Inclusive in May 2010 they have really got it sorted and the hotel manager is working very hard to maintain a smooth running welcoming hotel. The hotel is in a great location and there are always people busy keeping it clean and well kept. The shows on an evening are worth watching as the team really put everything into it. Thank you to everyone for making our holiday so special and see you again next year xxx

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asti-MickeyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

this is the second time we have stayed at this hotel the staff are great can not do enough for you .the entertainment team were fab they made us all feel very welcome we will definately be booking again

Stayed June 2010
Helpful?
Thank triggerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Salem

Property: Marhaba Salem
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#3 Family Hotel in Sousse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhaba Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Marhaba Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Salem Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Salem Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing