We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday - will return”
Review of Marhaba Salem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marhaba Salem
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great holiday - will return”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed all-inclusive at the Marhaba Salem with our 7 year old son for 2 weeks over the Easter school holidays. Before we went we read many reviews on Trip Advisor and were therefore a bit apprehensive as to what we might find when we got there. We needn’t have worried.

On arrival we were given a form to fill in which we did while enjoying a drink from the bar. Initially we were given a room on the ground floor (Room 112A) which although not bad, looked out towards some trees which made the room seem quite dark. Also there was a footpath close by which was used quite frequently so we had to have the curtains closed most of the time to get some privacy. After two days we thought we should see if we could get moved to a higher floor. We visited the reception and explained our reasons for a change of room and the fellow there was very understanding said he would look into it and asked if we could come back in 15 minutes. We did so and was given a room on the first floor (Room 221). This was much better - it looked out over the pool and was larger and brighter.

Apart from the room change we thought everything else at the Marhaba was good. The food was fine with plenty of choice, and if you’re a fussy easter there’s always pizza and chips! The drinks, although somewhat weak (I drank loads but never once even felt a bit tipsy), were plentiful with the waiters, both inside the hotel and around the pool during the day, regularly checking if you wanted another. We tipped perhaps a couple of dinar each day but I don’t think if would have made much difference to the service if we had not. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

We specifically chose the Marhaba Salem because of its waterslides after discovering that the waterslides at our original choice of hotel the Omar Khayam in Hammermet were closed out of season (though not according to Thomson’s website when we booked!). During the day we used the pool with the waterslides (which by the way Thomson, were OPEN - where’s our £100!!!) which we loved, especially our son. We normally went to the pool around 10am and never had any difficulty finding a sunbed although we were told by the lifeguard that it’s very busy in the high season. There were some who put towels on the sunbeds early doors and then didn’t return until mid-afternoon which would have been annoying at a busier time (Geordies not Germans!!). There were signs saying this was not allowed but unfortunately like most places this was not enforced. Most of the “action” seemed to take place around the other smaller pool but you could partake in as much or as little as you wished. We did the archery, football, crazy golf (some holes are CRAZY!) and table tennis.

The evening entertainment was a bit repetitive but in a strange way we looked forward to it. The animation team did work very hard.

Some earlier postings mention that the beach is some distance from the hotel - they must have been staying somewhere else! It’s no more than a few of minutes’ walk from anywhere in the hotel. The beach had lovely golden sand with a bar right next to it though we didn’t spend lots time there as there was usually a cool wind coming off the sea while we were there.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marhaba and are already considering returning next year.

Room Tip: The ground floor next to the trees are handy but too public
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    328
    114
    49
    48
See reviews for
384
258
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I can't praise the hotel enough! The staff are so friendly and helpful,we didn't need to leave our sun loungers for a drink at all! The beach is beautiful-sea weed cleaned up every morning, and the water sports are brilliantly priced! We did paragliding for about £10 each! Our room was cleaned everyday and the rest of the hotel and grounds are immaculate. I personally didn't like soussee but I would happily return to another area of Tunisia....we were all bitten quite badly while there so take anti allergy tabs as the repellents did nothin for us! Ignore the bad reviews, I'm fairly well travelled and have stayed in a mixed variety of accommodations and this exceeded my expectations!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed in Sousse 3 years ago at another hotel, but this one beats it "hands down". Booked last minute with Thomson and it does what it says on the tin. Absolutely brilliant. We were well impressed with everything. We were treated so well and would definately return. The food was faultless, the staff all round were amazing especially the animation team. Thank you to Smiley, Sam, Larry, Jo and Maxi and the one who does the backflips around the pool ( sorry forgot the name). Cleaners came in everyday and they done a fantastic flower display for our anniversary across the bed. Thank you to to Adele on the beach who was the perfect gent. Slim, our waiter was fantastic, always smiling and very attentive to our needs. The guys in the Snack bar/tunisian cafe gave us an unforgettable time for our special day and were great fun. This is by far the best of the 3 hotels within the complex. All in all, great value for money, fantastic people and met great new friends. Can't fault it and looking forward to returning ASAP.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sibucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from another week at Marhaba Salem, just as good as always, all the staff are so lovely and look after you well, they really go out of their way to make sure your happy and your needs are catered for.
The new Animation team are excellent Helmi is the best animation chief I've had the pleasure to meet he's so friendly, really looks after the team and has a strong presence. Can't wait to see you all again in 3 weeks Smiley, Larry, Sam, Max, Rami, Lufi, Sophie and the one and only Joe. Thank you all so much for keeping us entertained.
Bar staff were excellent as always, especially Elyes and Yassine

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jokieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here as a family and had an amazing time!! The staff were all so friendly especially the entertainment team who were fantastic and cant do enough for you to make sure your holiday is the best it can be and always with a smile on their faces. Can't wait to come back to Tunisia and stay at this wonderful hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sedge1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is the first time i stayed at this hotel. i bloody loved it. The reception was clean and tidy the rooms were cleaned daily. All the outside space was kept very clean. All the staff were great always happy to help the anamation work really long hours they try there best at getting people to do stuff. Joe is very good at his job he seems to try the hardet. The animation boss seems to look after them he is alway about with a smile

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed September 2013 as a couple.

Rooms clean, big enough for both of us and modern. Had no problems with air con.
Food was all a bit samey. Chips, pizza and pasta for the wk unless you like veals tongue etc. Yuck.
Drinks were not so great but you can expect that in a muslim country. Didnt manage to get drunk once lol.

Animation team - work long hard hours and give their best effort.. Well most of them. Some of them are a bit rude to be honest but that didn't bother us. Shout out to big mido and the other guy who has multiple names for whatever reason ben/audi - we didnt call him either of those names, he was someone else when we were over and wasnt until we got back we seen that he was called ben and audi plus lots of different ones but however.. Great guys!

Bar staff only come to you around the pool if you tip. They do ask you what you would like but if you dont tip everytime they bring you a drink your more or less left to get up and get it yourself.

Only prob was no fridge in rooms and bottled water was warm. Around the smaller pool area smelled of sick aswell eugh. We went to the big pool daily which was much better.

Last but not least - the maids. They did an excellent job and the room always smelled fresh. Bedding changed every day along with clean towels. Always smiling, they work so hard in that heat.

Thank you for our stay marhaba salem x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob1841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,613 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,123 reviews
0.8 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
969 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#15 of 35 in Sousse
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Salem

Property: Marhaba Salem
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sousse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhaba Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Marhaba Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Salem Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Salem Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing