We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday”
Review of Marhaba Salem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marhaba Salem
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Sousse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best holiday”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Amazing place, the staff can't do enough for you! The animation team are truly amazing and made the holiday! The food was good with plenty if choice I would definitely recommend this hotel to any age group. We are going back next year

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jasonkillick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    330
    114
    49
    49
See reviews for
390
258
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Enjoyed every second of this holiday, there was 12 of us in the group and each and everyone of us thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay. The hotel was always clean and tidy with our rooms cleaned on a daily basis. The staff were amazing and helped in every way they could and were all very polite and welcoming. The animation crew were fantastic and will be missed very much, they all do a fantastic job in making sure every single person is enjoying themselves. Really do recommend this hotel to anyone that's looking for a complete package holiday!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a 2 week stay at this hotel! best 2 weeks of my life! The hotel was always clean and tidy, the rooms are cleaned daily replaced with knew towles daily! The resturant was also clean nice food! Staff couldnt do enough for you! Especially yaseen the barman at night time! Helmi the entertainment manager was brilliant as was mehdi sophie joe and saif! Cant wait to come back in 2015!!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank MeganBreeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were a party of four couples spending a week at the Marhaba Salem via Thomson, February 2014. I can honestly say our only glitch was Thomson charging for double beds that were not supplied and then failing to sort the matter promptly or in fact at all. After they passed the buck and asked that we complain when we got home their after sales team actually admitted, in writing, that optional extras Thomson charged for, such as double beds, were only requests to hotel and couldn’t be guaranteed (or refunded!) – incredible.

But as I say even Thomson’s lack of common decency was minor and shouldn’t deter people from using the hotel or Thomson (although I wouldn’t recommend paying for extras that Thomson won’t take responsibility for).

So the holiday itself……

The hotel was clean, food reasonable and bar offered a good selection of drinks on the all-inclusive package. A pleasant change from some hotels is that several cocktails were included in the all-inclusive choice and a few Black Russians do make for convivial evenings. The entertainment team try hard and most of the staff are friendly. A safe deposit box (2 dinar per day) is a great investment for protecting passports and cash, and especially secure as located behind reception desk.

If you haven’t been to Tunisia before bear in mind it is a very poor country and a little generosity goes a long way. Tipping the bar staff 10 dinar (£4) a day ensured prompt attention and the chambermaid was over the moon at the same amount for the whole week. Don’t expect the same standards as the UK. For a start there are a number of tame cats wondering around inside and outside the hotel but they’re friendly. Outside the hotel Tunisians drive like Italians with blindfolds. Indicators are for decoration and drivers think nothing of stopping on (and even reversing along) a dual carriageway. Yellow cabs are ubiquitous BUT never get in without agreeing the fare first. Local journeys will only be around 5 dinar (£2) but if in doubt ask the hotel staff/rep what the likely fare should be.

Tunisian currency cannot be taken out of the country but hotels and banks do offer exchange facilities. There is also a bank at the airport and despite the Thomson rep saying otherwise they do accept loose change, not just notes.

When shopping Tunisians expect you to haggle and it is common to settle at around a quarter to a third of the opening price. Also, almost all consumer goods are fake; you don’t really get Adidas trainers for £4, so don’t expect them to last and never pay good money for them.

All-in-all a great place when you can be as lazy or active as you want.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jnev785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth,scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We have just returned from a one week holiday to Marhaba Salem Hotel. Having had a horrendous experience in Hammamet at the same time of the year six years ago we swore we'd never set foot in Tunisia again, however we were offered this holiday at a very reasonable price and thought we'd give it a second chance and we're really glad we did. This hotel and the staff here totally changed our opinion. We had a lovely time. We can absolutely re-iterate the previous comment. The staff were really friendly (not constantly looking for tips as was previously mentioned in past reviews) and couldn't do enough to be helpful. The room was clean but basic (remember this is North Africa, not Europe) and worthy of its 3-star status. If you want 5-star then pay for it!! The food was good and varied, the beach was really clean, the gardens beautifully kept and the pool areas were immaculate. The entertainment (such as it was) is geared towards the kids and if you don't have any with you, you will have to find your own entertainment. We met some lovely people so it didn't bother us. It was starting to get really busy on our last day and we were glad we booked when we did as we think we got the best of the place without so many people about. All in all, we had a great holiday for a very good price (outside you can't spend your money as everything is so cheap - taxis, market, etc) so we were more then happy to tip a dinar or two everytime someone served us in the hotel and we would definitely go back again for a spring break.

Room Tip: We were in room 332. Very quiet. Slept great and there is a fire exit with door open permanently to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marion m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Have just come back from a two week stay at the Marhaba salam, we were a little worried after reading some of the reviews but found these to be untrue. I travelled with my friend and our 3 children. The hotel was very clean and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The food was amazing and plenty of choice. The pools were spotless and there was plenty of sunbeds, which the pool guys would bring to you. The bar staff had waiters running round bringing your drinks to your table whether you were inside or out by the pool. Rooms were cleaned every day, towels were changed daily. But what has to be the highlight of the holiday has th be Helmi and the animation team who worked morning till night to keep us entertained. All in all we had a fantastic two weeks and didn't want to leave, and are looking to go back very soon. I would recommend this holiday to all ages, as there really is something for every one.
THE CRAZY FAMILY.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Jacqui A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just back from a week at Royal Salem Sousse and have to say we had a grate time.
when we arrived there the weather was really bad but we had a very good welcome from the staff that made as be more positive about what is coming: and it was very good because it was better the day after.
Rooms were clean comfortable with large flat screen TV s. Cleaned every day and some towels animal was there as surprises for the kids, Most rooms have sea view and a nice balcony.
Entertainment team was very very good, There was something to do all the time and they were really nice to the kids. The entertainment manager was really nice and helpful to every one, very nice looking and he got every sexy voice; so get your self ready lady's.
There was a good selection of food which all tasted fantastic, You will have a lot choices.
The staff really make the holiday.
The waiters in the bar are smiling all the time and bringing drinks to every one so you don't need even to move.
we really love it all. its a very good hotel if you looking for grate family time.

Room Tip: All the rooms has a good viez.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jannet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 36 in Sousse
1,622 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 36 in Sousse
2,167 reviews
0.8 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 36 in Sousse
972 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 36 in Sousse
1,588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#15 of 36 in Sousse
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Salem

Property: Marhaba Salem
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sousse
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhaba Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marhaba Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Salem Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Salem Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing