We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another fantastic holiday”
Review of Marhaba Salem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marhaba Salem
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“another fantastic holiday”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

we have just had our second holiday at the Marhaba Salem and cannot recommend it enough. we are definitely booking again for next year and sooner if possible.
the hotel staff can't do enough for you, the maids are thorough and friendly, the food is good, even though I am a really funny eater, I never went hungry,
our drinks were topped up as our glass was getting lower, we never had an empty glass.
the animation staff are second to none and really made our holiday unforgettable, although we did miss Mario, hopefully he'll be back next year.
Even the pool guy is so helpfull and deserves a mention, no one goes without a sun bed when he's there and no need to get up at daft oclock to reserve them,
for the price of this holiday no one could ask for anything more.

Room Tip: depends what you want, we had a ground floor room last year which was handy for the pool and after a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reendave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    331
    114
    49
    49
See reviews for
391
258
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were very excited about our holiday in the Marhaba Salem resort. Its was all we could afford and all in all good value for money. We are down to earth and didn't go into it with the highest of expectations, but a few things could be improved to make it even better value for money.

The positives:
-Really nice beach. Although sunbed competition is fierce, the beach is beautiful and the odd bit of rubbish wasn't enough to turn us off.
-Lovely choice of 3 pools.
-Great atmosphere for kids and lots for them to do.
-Nicely kept and well designed garden area.
-Sousse is lively with a labyrinth of authentic markets.
-Good breakfasts, with a large variety-try the Tunisian Pie (crispy donuts)
-Room was clean and the housekeepers do a great job.
-Thompson rep Toni, positively mentioned on here a few times, was lovely and went out of her way to help us. She got us out of a sticky situation and we really owe her for that. Thank you if you are reading, or if anyone from Thompson is she does a fantastic job.

The Negative:
-The food was generally of a poor quality and repetitive, and I didn't find myself looking forward to the lunch or evening meals. We chose to eat out on occasion, which sort of defeats the point of a money saving holiday.
-The staff (apart from a few genuinely nice/helpful ones) were appalling. The bar/nightclub staff were so miserable every time you ordered it was as if you were a nuissance. Most of the reception staff were unhelpful and rude. I understand the tipping culture and we tipped the helpful ones generously. However we were constantly badgered for tips for even the slightest bit of help or they would be cross/moody. It was if you had to tip heavily first, then get a smile the next time or they would continue to be rude/sullen.
-There was a smell of sewage around the pool area.
-Also just a general lack of quality in lots of little things, that aren't probably important to lots of people but added together make a difference. For example door handles hanging off in our room, no chalk for the pool tables, a really dirty toilet brush in our room, very poor wifi coverage/very slow when you got any signal.

-all in all okay value for money but I think the people on charge are getting a bit sloppy. I wouldn't really call it 4 star.

But we still had a good time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank owenjlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Arrived home thurs 12th sept and want to go back already !! From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we received first class treatment , the staff from the reception , to waiters ,to maids to the animation team were wonderful and couldn't do enough for you . Alex and his animation team were very friendly and hard working with a smile at all times and a warm welcome . Food was excellent , admitted it was nearly all Tunisian food but that's expected ,, if ya want roast beef and full English stick to Benidorm !! Maids were very good and even the pool attendant managed a cheeky smile lol .. Would deffo be returning ,, great value for money ,,, well done to all. PS read some early reports from people who were there same time as us and to be fair they moaned about everything ,, even their own company when their backs were turned

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bevcopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I booked this holiday having been to other all inclusive resorts in the past, and having a really good idea of what to expect. On arrival at two in the afternoon we were dumped in reception and met by a grumpy male receptionist who handed us yet another visa like document. Once we had filled it in we were told to go and get a drink and then they would get us a room. We had been travelling all day, so just wanted to get settled in. After an hour we asked about our room, and they said to give them a bit longer. Two porters came to take our bags. I asked if we had the double that we had paid for. He replied, please lady don't complain today as there are no more rooms left. Sure enough, we had a room with three single beds. We waited till five to see Toni the Thomson rep, and she told us we would have to stay in our room that night and we would be given a huge double bed and a complimentary bottle of wine at 12 the next day. The new room would not be ready at 12, we would have to dump our cases and wait u til the room was cleaned. Then there was the dinner saga. No one told us we needed to get a ticket for our table at dinner, we found out by talking to another couple who were also unhappy. Reception told us to see the waiter, and the waiter said see reception, and so it went on. You have to have a set dinner time, either 6 or 8 and that's every night, no leeway. Oh and you need to pay a deposit for your towels 10 Dinars each, only the next day when you try to get a towel there is no one there. There are no sunbeds after 9 am at any of the pools o beach. The beach is absolutely filthy with rubbish floating in it. The beach bar is filthy and the:: tables are old and dirty. We were moved on day two to a tiny room, no bottle of wine, and the air conditioning is not even cold. The food is repetitive and a bit like feeding time at the zoo. We met two girls who went as friends who were given a double bed, and others who were put in the basement. This hotel is very badly run, with little regard to the guests. Most of the staff are surly and unhelpful unless tipped. The animation team try their best to make life cheerful but hearing the same things on a loop everyday was very boring. I would never go to Tunisia again. I read some reviews before I went and thought it was just people moaning. Seriously they were not, this place is an ordeal not a holiday. Oh and if you don't mind the smell if sewerage around the hotel, you will be right at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nickyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were met by very friendly staff who couldn't have been more helpful! We went with another couple and had expected 2 rooms together but this was not the case! The staff recognised this straight away and rectified the situation the following morning to allow us to be in rooms together!

The hotel and bedrooms were very clean and spacious with everything you needed to have a comfortable stay! The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels were brought every other day!

We managed to get sun loungers everyday without any fuss by going down to the pool about 0730! The beach is a stone throwing away from the hotel complex and was plentiful with sun beds and water sporting activities! The pools were salt water which wasn't really ideal for kids but they were still busy with lots of ppl having fun.

The food was also plentiful and had a good variety to accommodate even the most picky of eaters! We always went slightly after meal times to avoid the rush so to speak but were never disappointed by the food!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

on arriving we got given a room in the basement it was filthy the bath was so dirty you wouldn't bath your dog in it, draws broken pubic hair on the floor socket hanging of the wall, air-conditioning didn't work as the patio doors wouldn't shut properly, maintenance man came and stuck a metal bar in it to keep it locked, when we complained we got told no rooms available till the following day so we slept fully clothed on the bed not even having a wash in the filthy bathroom.The following morning we got offered a new room but friends told us they had room next door and it had cockroaches,we got offered another room over looking the sea which was lovely, On returning from a trip out we opened bedroom door to be met my floods of water the doors had rained in after 3 hours of rain the very rude manager said it was our fault as we has left the doors open how could we we had been out all day told us no rooms available we will have to sleep in reception, Our rep TONI was wonderful she talked to the ignorant pig for us he then offered no apology but said he would pay for the sahara gold trip for us both then when he found out how much it was wouldn't come out of his office to tell us he couldn't afford it Toni had 2 go and find him. All that he then offered us was our room till 6 o'clock on the day we check out, but at 12 o'clock we got told 2 get out of the room i rang reception and tried to explain they then sorted it but at 5.30 we got told to leave the room.Will never ever return to this hotel the animation team do a fantastic job especially alex he works so hard. 11 days of hell couldnt wait to get home.

Room Tip: not one in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has the most lovely staff you will ever meet. We met two lovely waiters, Muhammad and "big ears", they looked after us and always made us feel welcome. The animation team also made you feel very welcome and always try to get you involved in different activities, also they're constantly smiling and laughing.

The air con in our room was very disappointing (room number was 177). Maintenance had to come out about two times, but it still didn't work to it's full potential. The maid, Mona, was absolutely lovely. She put a lot of thought into her work, sometimes she would even put flowers on our bed and our room was always kept lovely.

I personally enjoyed the food, especially breakfast. There is plenty of things to choose from. I wouldn't recommend going to the beach hut for lunch. A lot of people run up to food as soon as it's opened, I literally looks like feeding time in the zoo. The only problem I have with the restaurant/beach hut was that people weren't told to put their tops on, so you would get people who had just been swimming leaning over the food bare chest. Not very appetising!!

All in all this holiday was great. Staff lovely, and very hard working. It is worth tipping at least one waiter and your room maid because they look after you. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Courtjk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,623 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,180 reviews
0.8 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
974 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#15 of 35 in Sousse
1,589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Salem

Property: Marhaba Salem
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sousse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhaba Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marhaba Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Salem Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Salem Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing