We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marhaba Salem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marhaba Salem
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

i had a great time this hotel. there is so many activities to do that you never get bored. the animation team are great because they are very chatty and and always happy, they try to get you involved in the entertainment and are very nice people. Nino was excellent with archery and dancing, very talented and a very lovely man, sarah was also a very energetic woman who was very helpful and comforting all the time and very reliable, the whole team were excellent. there is a good variety of food there for people who have different tastes and the hotel is right next to a sand beach which has a beautiful view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EnglandGuest1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    327
    114
    49
    48
See reviews for
382
257
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

If You are looking for home from home then THIS is for you... friendly staff who cannot do enough to make your stay the best.

Hotel is always clean.. bedrooms made up beautifully every day...

great choice of food

And The Best animation team ever.... I go back just to visit this great team who I now consider family whenever I am in Tunisia... The Lovely Nino Who never stops smiling... sweet little Mira.. Alex, Super Dancer Mario, Ben... Infact you will never find such great animation Anywhere... Go Check it out for yourselves... I promise you will want to go again and again x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mandie1966sehmbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I don't really understand how someone could write a negative review about this hotel. You have to be extremely fussy or very gloomy person not to like it.
It was our first time there and I can say hotel is really beautiful and rooms are very clean and cozy. The hotel staff were extremely nice to us and helpful, especially the animation team, they were very cool and did an amazing job on occupying people, playing beach games, such as the volleyball and beach aerobics which was very good and we had a lot of fun. Food was also very good, I enjoyed the real taste of salad and fruit, not like you get here from the supermarket, and the variety of food was also very good, sometimes I had to have two portions of the main meal as I wanted to try everything. I also was very pleased with the room service as our room looked sparkling clean every time we came back home from the beach.Another very good thing is that there is so much to do in the hotel, like basketball, tennis, sauna and other, and if someone is writing that Royal Salem has many more things to offer I can clearly say that this is absolutely not true, Marhaba Salem, Marhaba Royal Salem And Marhaba Salem Beach are all built around and they all share the same facilities, so the only different thing you get are the rooms and I am personally fussy about the rooms, but i wouldn't really wish for anything better. All three hotels share the same beach, we went to sauna to Royal Salem, people from Royal Salem were coming to eat at ours, so all is shared. We all had a great time in this hotel and if I ever will come back to Tunisia I will choose the same hotel without even thinking.

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea view are quieter, garden view rooms are very sunny in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giedre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

beautiful hotel the best ive ever stayed in with a beach very close and beach bar where all inclusive can be used the pool at royalsalem had water slides which were really good and I stayed in april and was worried about the weather and the slides not being open weather was good not boiling but ok better than a rainy Manchester and the slides were open, there was alsolots of watersports and excursions available my fiancé did jet skiing and camel riding and I went on quad bikes really good theres a guy at the beach that u can haggle with for a good price if u buy a fewat once but be warned you need to pay for a taxi there and back which he doesn't tell u about but theyre v cheap most things are apart frm suncream and toiletries are expensive but I bought 200 cigerretes for the equivalent of 12 pounds and converse for 8 pounds bargains to be had but the medina is a scary place that you can get lost in and the people will try and help you for a fee of course theyre very sly too they make out theyre generally doing u a favour then demand 10 dinar!!!! even if u want the help or not!!! best experience for me was quad biking it was really good and about 20 pound in English money for about an hour with a guy taking you round sousse well worth it
The only bad point I have about this holiday is me and my fiancé were literally starving all week I am picky but he wil usually eat anything but the food in the hotel was awful for breakfast I had sugar puffs every day as the other options were like foreign tomato stew or hot dogs with peppers no pork by the way which I didn't realise til I got there the main meals and lunches were just as bad I ate chips and pizza and pasta all holiday and that wasn't even to a nice edible standard don't get me wrong theres salad n stuff with plenty of flies too they did things like veil overcooked u couldn't cut it one day I got rerally excited about themmaking fresh omelettes and hey prestoit was raw!! the places outside the hotel didn't look much better either so I didn't try anything outside of the hotel we did go in an English bar hoping to get some good grub and the menu was in French so we walked out, lots of people try to befriend you to make money out of you even on the bus we had a guy get off and try and come and get a drink with us don't fall for it they'll try and rip you off so be careful especially at themedina and cover upif you go to the medina or youll get funny looks as I did lol
the hotel was nice the rooms were good but no air con in april even though it was hot and the entertainment team did shows every night what were boring and like an x factor audition they worked hard bless but I expected different people doing different acts each night
really cheap holiday and lovely location just the starving for a week that did me in would i go back??probably because I love the sun but only if I couldn't afford somewhere else that I knew did nice food then yes ps the hotel has loads of cute cats that I fed fish to every day they got better fed than me !!!!! and the maids were amazing even sorted allof my earrings and shoes in to piles they were so good!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

well we have just got back from 2 weeks at this hotel. the hotel itself is very nice reception was always clean and the staff very helpful and polite. ore room was very clean and tidy and was cleaned by the same maid each day leaving us sweets on our pillows now and again. the restuarant ,well a good variety of foods hot and cold, there was a lot of choice each day ,how ever we found that they served a lot of poltry and fish every day chips bread and salad always avalible. on our first visit to the restuarant ve were greeted by a waiter and shown to a table and sat a this table for the duration of our stay and had 2 great waiters who looked after us very well and were great with our 2 children the bar staff and pool waiters were very good especially if u tip them on the first few days they rememberd what u drank and your glass never whet empty now for the bad point the animation team what can I say the first week we were there alex had a week of [ent manager] and u could tell they only did the activitys when they could be bothered the men on the team were more intrested in chatting up the single girls and not the familys however the girls on the team were very good with the children (sophie please smile though) there was a survey half way through the holiday and alex came back and what an improvement all the staff interacted with single people and familys aswell going around chatting and being more active with everyone our daughter realy took to fifi and had great fun making up a hand clap together whitch they did every time they met BUT BE WARNED don't buy the mini disco cd from sara we only baught it as we felt pressured too as she kept putting it on our table and demanding 20 dina (about 8 pound)or giving it to our children each night only to find when we got home the cd is blank now our daughter is gutted the suroundig areas around the complex is as u would expect in a third world country but all in all a good holiday

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cricket113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Me and my partner found a good deal on a weeks all-inclusive holiday to Tunisia. Neither of us had ever been before so thought we'd give it a try and how pleased we are that we did. The hotel has newly been refurbished and to what an excellent standard. The rooms are spacious and clean and the bathroom was massive! There was more than enough storage space for a family for a fortnight, never mind the two of us for a week and so this resolved any issue we would normal have over fighting for wardrobe space! The staff are exceptionally friendly. From the moment we walked in we felt like royalty. Our every need was catered to. We tipped our waiter n a couple of bar staff early into our trip and, from then on, my partner couldn't sit down without his favorite drinks being brought to us. We never had to leave our table. We had flowers on our table in the restaurant every day from our waiter and our drinks waiting for us. It was like we were famous. Staff were always on hand to offer advice on were to go, what to eat, how to shop to get good deals etc. The animation team were just as entertaining to us eventhough we weren't with any children and probably made our trip. All in all, this was a fantastic holiday and we are already planning our next one to this very hotel. A*******

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Firstly I would just like to start off with the moaning people on here that are complaining about the entertainment team, the noise and all the activities going on. YOUR ON HOLIDAY!!!!! If you did not want all that then why book in to a family hotel with plenty going on? This is our second visit to this complex, we actually stay in the Marhaba Royal Salem but as the Marhaba Salem was open this year we spent most of our two weeks stay here as more was going on.On our first day at the hotel we went round the pool we knew our way around and we were looking forward to seeing the animation team, there was only Alex and Mario left from last year BUT the new team were fantastic too so welcoming and friendly. Ben (one of the team) soon came over to us talking to us getting to know us. Any one who says the animation team are pushy are talking rubbish. I am not one to join in with all the activities I just sit and watch but if you do not want to join in then they leave you to relax, coming over every now and again to see if your OK :) Ben was soon our new best friend always making sure we were happy and Ok. The animation team never stop, they work so hard to make every ones holidays enjoyable they are always smiley and up beat especially Ben and Mario. Mario remembered us from last year he is such a nice boy too. All day the team work hard never stopping and then all night too. During the day there is all sorts of different activities for every one but if its not for you just sit back and relax. The night time entertainment is FANTASTIC. Last year all the entertainment was in side and they did not have much room, this year it was around the out door pool on a big stage it was AMAZING all the animation team are fantastic dancers and they put on such good shows. My favourite is the comedy shows Ben "mummy im sick" or the body guard act from a pretend drunk Mario and Ben. At the end of the night you would think the animation team stop and go to bed but no they are at the disco dancing away. The bar staff are so lovely too especially "YES PLEASE" (I could not say his name) and the young waiter from the pool and beach bars always at your service and after 2/3 days we did not even need to ask for a drink they just kept coming. All I can say is if you want a fantastic holiday with great people then go to this hotel. I can not give the animation team enough credit Alex and Mario for both years but also Ben from this year. AMAZING TEAM could not ask for better. We just hope Ben is there next time we visit this hotel which will hopefully be this year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Salem

Property: Marhaba Salem
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sousse
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhaba Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Marhaba Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Salem Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Salem Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing