We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel for our last minuet getaway!”
Review of Marhaba Salem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marhaba Salem
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We arrived back from a week long holiday at the Marhaba Salem Hotel on Wednesday. We had a fantastic week and found the hotel to be really nice, especially for the price we paid for our last minute holiday.
The hotel is very clean, well presented and spacious – plenty of room in the main bar and upstairs bar/entertainment area, although I can imagine it gets very busy in the summer season. They also have a large sofa area to sit and relax and small sofa in the main reception along with a few tables near reception. The only complaint I have about it is the fact they allow smoking in the main bar area and reception – great if you’re a smoker, not so much if you’re a non smoker like myself.
Our room was also nice and very clean. It was a twin room plenty big enough for the three of us with separate single beds. Within the room it had - a large bathroom, with bath AND shower, plenty of room for storing clothes in the wardrobes and drawers, small balcony area with chairs and table, desk/dressing table area with access to plugs and a large mirror over it and a TV.
Outside there is access to their private beach area which also has a bar area and free sun beds. Just be careful of a couple of people selling items such as scarf’s or fake cigarettes on the beach – be strong willed and say no if you don’t want anything. Also there were two pool areas including one with 3 slides, which in the winter season they would put on at your request – good fun even if it was freezing cold. Additionally there was an indoor pool in the Royal Salem sister hotel which you could use if wanted.
The hotel is also situated a 2 minute walk to the main entrance to one shop and a 5 minute walk down to a 3 story shopping centre which has a big variety of items – definitely worth a look. It’s also a short taxi ride away from Port El Kantoui and the centre of Sousse.
The food was standard for all inclusive accommodation – please bear in mind that not everything is to everyone’s taste and that they do try to give a good variety to cater for alot of people. We never struggled to find something to eat at any of the meals (and I’m practically vegetarian and a fairly fussy eater) There was always plenty of choice such as;

Breakfast – Toast, Scrambled Egg, White Beans in Sauce, Pancakes, Doughnuts, Croissants, Cakes, Salad, Pasta Mixes, Yoghurt, Fruits .. Lunch & Dinner – Pasta Mixes, Pasta Bolognese, Omelette, Potatoes, Chips, Pizza, Various vegetable mixes and Various Meat and Fish dishes as well as Salads and Sandwiches ..
Snacks – Pizza, Chips, Sandwiches and Pasta ..

Additionally, there’s always food available – Breakfast served from around 6am-9:30am, Snacks from around 10am-11:30am, Lunch from around 12:30pm-2pm, Snacks from around 3pm-5pm, Dinner from around 6pm-8:30pm and late Snacks from about 9pm-11pm. Furthermore, staff let you take food out of the restaurant or snack bar to your rooms as you wished.

All the staff were absolutely lovely and worked very hard. When we first arrived, a staff member from the bar greeted us all with a drink whilst we were waiting to check in. The bar, restaurant and snack bar staff served you with whatever you wanted. However, the bar closes at 12midnight so if you want a drink after that you’d have to go out and buy your own. One of the nights we ordered extra drinks and hid them so we could carry on with our party a little longer ;)
The concierge was particularly helpful - he carried our cases to the room and wasn’t pushy about a tip as they usually are and on our departure he even weighed our cases so that there wasn’t any nasty surprises at the airport. To add to that when our electrics didn’t work one evening the hotels maintence man was on hand to fix it in 5 minuets flat and when I couldn’t get in the room one evening due to the two I was travelling with being asleep reception staff let me in using a spare key – very helpful!

The only staff we had a ‘problem’ with were the dire entertainment team. There’s around 8 of them in total and we found that they did very little to entertain! Although we were mostly out in the day in the evening they would wander around the bar area wearing missed matched fancy dress trying to tempt you to come to the entertainment. Not a problem but if you wanted a quite drink then they would just plonk themselves down on your table and sit there awkwardly, not speaking. Additionally, when we did go to the entertainment we found that it was often an outside act such as a ‘Strong-Man’ show or traditional dancers and the entertainment team didn’t do anything! Don’t get me wrong the Entertainers that they get in are good but the in-house team are rubbish! Our advice is make your own fun – we went out to a couple of clubs one night and held our out toga party in the bar area another – much better! ;)

Finally – your holiday is what you make it. The hotel is very comfortable with good services and facilities so it’s great for a nice break! If your booking – ENJOY!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
There are newer reviews for Marhaba Salem
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

me and my partner arrived at the location and found it to be absolutley amazing the staff and residents of the hotel was very friendly and helpful in every way but the main attraction for us was the animation team were friendly helpful brilliant entertainment we love the hotel staff all frendly bookin again for next year just to see staff and animation team

Room Tip: all the rooms where lovely
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Marvellous value for money should really be 4* at least.The staff were friendly nothing was a problem for them the rooms were kept spotless with linen changed every day.The entertainment provided every evening by Animation was the best I have seen and Sagon,Fifi and Sophie were superstars.At 61 and never danced before Sophie taught me to salsa I will remember her always for achieving the impossible with me.In the daytime the Animation group did everything to make your stay memorable and it was,thanks Fifi,Sophie and Sagon you 3have become friends for life and I will definitely be going back fir more.I loved every minute,for young families there is nothing better the Tunisian people adore children,the restaurant was very good with a big selection of excellent food.My advice is book here and it will be the best decision you will make.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart7121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just got back from a weeks holiday here and really enjoyed it, the food was very good with plenty of choice although the soup would be luke warm. The hotel was very clean and all the staff very friendly, nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them, there were only about 120 guestes staying while i was there so there was never any trouble getting a sunbed although i would imagine that would be a problem if it were full. There were a couple of downsides one was the outdoor pools were freezing so not a lot of swimming was done, the other was the male entertainment team seemed to spend more time trying to chat up the girls rather than arrange daily entertainment for the other guests, sometimes they could be realy annoying and wouldn't take no for an answer. Other than that i would be quite happy to return to this hotel again although i wouldn't pick peak season.

Room Tip: If you go on the Zulu experience i would avoid the "swim with the dolphins" it is not actu...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a fantastic job the animation team do ... Especially Mido, he's always smiling and happy, he's the best entertainer!! Mido is also good entertainer for contact. Ziko is also a very good boss and the shows the team put on are always well presented.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bristol39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

stayed here for 8 days with my boyfriend. all staff were helpful & professional, with the exception of the animation team who struggled to smile most of the time. we didn't watch the shows but the inside area was poor making it difficult for people to see what was going on.

food was good, always gets bit samey on all inclusive but good quality. only grumble was breakfast in main restaurant finishing at 930 which we felt was too early as we like a hot breakfast and didn't just want croissants in the snack bar. no poorly tummies and plenty of choice.

no queue at bar and table service good. alcoholic drinks weak as usual in Tunisian AI hotels so take duty free with you! night club was nice and bottle of beer cost us 5tnd.

rooms were small and bit cramped but clean. our maid was fantastic. tv didn't work. bit disappointed we had to hire a fridge, but it was effective!

best thing for us was use of spa at sister hotel, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym. tip-ask reception to turn jacuzzi on or it will stay off. this proves great facility for winter months.

overall great value for money, kept being told by guests wifi was broken but not sure if you had To pay for it. any questions please ask.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manchesterlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for two weeks from the 4th of nov 2012. This time of year was brilliant, No problem ever getting a sunbed but if your a sun worshipper like me then get out early because the sun goes behind the hotel and the pool area is shaded by 4 o clock. The food really is gorgeous and so much to choose from. Everyone in the hotel is really friendly and always smiling they really do go the extra mile. The animation team work very hard and have to sell you bingo tickets and tombola tickets i did find they spent more time talking to you before you bought the tickets and once you'd got them they moved on.The prizes are not worth winning You pay 10 dinars for a sheet and you win a bannana boat ride which is only 7 dinars and the tombola prize is a henna tattoo which is only to the value of 20 dinars you have to put the rest to yourself.. We loved sunbathing on the beach and the sellers on there were not a problem we spent a lot of money with them but that was our choice they too were very friendly.. I would definately return to this hotel it was really good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,246 reviews
0.7 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
982 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#13 of 35 in Sousse
1,599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Salem

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#3 Family Hotel in Sousse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: $33 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhaba Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Marhaba Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Salem Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Salem Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing