We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value clean invention.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marhaba Salem
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good value clean invention.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

stayed here for 8 days with my boyfriend. all staff were helpful & professional, with the exception of the animation team who struggled to smile most of the time. we didn't watch the shows but the inside area was poor making it difficult for people to see what was going on.

food was good, always gets bit samey on all inclusive but good quality. only grumble was breakfast in main restaurant finishing at 930 which we felt was too early as we like a hot breakfast and didn't just want croissants in the snack bar. no poorly tummies and plenty of choice.

no queue at bar and table service good. alcoholic drinks weak as usual in Tunisian AI hotels so take duty free with you! night club was nice and bottle of beer cost us 5tnd.

rooms were small and bit cramped but clean. our maid was fantastic. tv didn't work. bit disappointed we had to hire a fridge, but it was effective!

best thing for us was use of spa at sister hotel, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym. tip-ask reception to turn jacuzzi on or it will stay off. this proves great facility for winter months.

overall great value for money, kept being told by guests wifi was broken but not sure if you had To pay for it. any questions please ask.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manchesterlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    327
    114
    49
    47
See reviews for
381
257
43
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for two weeks from the 4th of nov 2012. This time of year was brilliant, No problem ever getting a sunbed but if your a sun worshipper like me then get out early because the sun goes behind the hotel and the pool area is shaded by 4 o clock. The food really is gorgeous and so much to choose from. Everyone in the hotel is really friendly and always smiling they really do go the extra mile. The animation team work very hard and have to sell you bingo tickets and tombola tickets i did find they spent more time talking to you before you bought the tickets and once you'd got them they moved on.The prizes are not worth winning You pay 10 dinars for a sheet and you win a bannana boat ride which is only 7 dinars and the tombola prize is a henna tattoo which is only to the value of 20 dinars you have to put the rest to yourself.. We loved sunbathing on the beach and the sellers on there were not a problem we spent a lot of money with them but that was our choice they too were very friendly.. I would definately return to this hotel it was really good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My first praise must go to the Director of this Hotel. We had big problems with rooms in the Royal Salem and Marhaba Hotel - but the Director of this hotel let us swap to his hotel - he showed compassion and very good management skills. So just know that if you approach situations diplomatically - people will move mountains to accommodate you !!!

Besides that - top of the review would be the cleanliness of this hotel - the sweet lemon smell on the ground floor is divine !! Rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels supplied.

The food is out of this world - such a selection of hot dishes and then the salad bar is full of beautiful salad !! The hot dishes are almost al a carte, was always going up for more !!! The deserts were heavenly.

The staff in the hotel are fabulous - anything we had to ask for was 'No Problem' !! Not that I had any problems once I had finally settled into this hotel. They could not do enough for us.

The entertainment one evening was a fabulous singer but he finished at 9.30 because guests had complained that it was too noisy !!! I was flabbergasted !! Had to hold my tougue.

There is a lovely little gift shop on site. The gardens are amazing !! The pools very clean !! Facilities amazing - massage, hairdressers, indoor pool. Because you are on a complex you are allowed to use the facilities of the other two hotels.

So big love goes out to all the staff at the Hotel Marhaba Salem - and I will see you in April xxxx

Room Tip: Be Nice !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyAnnHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Paid a very low price to visit this part of the world and it was completly worth it, food was great staff was great and the sights are amazing. Definately worth a trip! Went with family, aged between 3 and 45.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Katey_Hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Marhaba Salem. This is a hotel working hard to provded excellent service. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and bright. Pool and area are good. The Animators are friendly and at times madcap. They work so hard. Food was varied and good quality. There are some long corridors that could do with prints on he walls. One difficulty is that smoking is prevalent throught the lounge and bar areas and there needs to be a specific smoking area. Not a problem outdoors. Would I return? Yes. We did all inclusive and feel we got excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here for 5nights end of October and what a superb hotel , I honestly can not find any faults about this hotel !

Reception - On arrival we walked in and the smell of cleanliness was the first thing I noticed it smelt so fresh and clean , We then were giving our forms to complete followed by a cocktail and our A/I bands and A/I program by the lovely lady from reception .

Porter - Took our luggage to our rooms and I explained I had no Dinar yet and I would tip him later as I don't really give Sterling as it's hard for staff to change up (I have often found in other hotels in Tunisia staff have asked me to exchange GBP in exchange for Dinars as it's difficult for them to exchange!) He was fine did not look like he was standing there demanding a tip anyway :)

Room - Was soooo nice and spotless had a room overlooking the pool so was perfect , Nora our maid/Cleaning lady was superb and soo friendly :) Everything in the room was in perfect working order no complaints !

Food - Again can not fault a thing , There is something for everyone from local dishes too British (If you like Pizza , Chips , Burgers etc !) Can not comment on Breakfast as never have breakfast ! But am sure it was nice just like lunch/dinner , We had a lovely waiter who from the first night saved us the same table for the rest our stay :)

Animation - Were great very friendly guys often come and sat with us for a chat didnt get involved their activities as I am quite happy to just sit there and watch them do there thing Lol ! But they work so hard 6days a week and wow they soooo full of energy ! Also mention to the waiters/Barmen who were very nice and friendly :)

Beach - Was nice have seen better and have seen worse but we did not spend much time on the beach but it was pleasant enough and the beach bar was nice to just relax and watch the world go buy , You do get sellers on the beach but they are not that persistent a firm "No thanks" and they move on :)

Overall - Would highly recommend this hotel to families , Couples , Friends and solos you will looked after , The manager/Director of the hotel is awesome always checking to make sure you having a good holiday and everything okay !

See you again soon I hope !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at about 10-30 in the morning and checking in was really easy, fast and non stressful. The porter didn't seem to pleased at being given £2-00 for bringing our bags up but we didn't have any dinar so that was all he was getting.
The beach bar in this hotel is lovely and they do food in the afternoons which is really nice... we ate there most days. The food in the main restaurant was also very nice and varied, our waiter was very nice although he came looking for us and wanted to know why we had sat somewhere else on occasion. He seemed quite agitated by it. The hotel wasn't all that busy and there were plenty of sunbeds to go round and the pools didn't get crowded. The main bar was fine and we never had to wait to be served... one of the waiters went well over the top with touching and trying to kiss us and it felt slightly creepy but this seemed to be normal behaviour towards any women travelling without a male partner. Also some of the animation team seemed to spend more time sleeping with female guests than doing their jobs. We also were horrified to see 2 members of the same team ripping off a guest with raffle tickets...he was charged 4 times for the same 3 tickets and ended up paying about 50 dinar for them, when i complained the worker asked why i cared as i didn't know the man... he won that night and as someone else also had the same numbers he was told his numbers hadn't come up...they had . It is only fair to warn you that the bingo prizes are 2 bottles of house wine the tickets are 10 dinar each. Once the wine is gone its gone whether you have the numbers or not ... you have been warned. As for the rest of the staff team they were hard working, happy and helpful and made our stay a pleasure. Our cleaning lady was brill and our room was a decent size. All in all a great holiday and as usual that was due to the people we met. My only advice is for the Marhaba Hotel chain to maybe go to an Iberostar Hotel and take on board some of their training methods as regards to the animation teams.. they are worlds apart in their professional practices xx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shamazzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 40 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 40 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 stars 1,932 reviews
0.2 mi away
LTI Thalassa Sousse
LTI Thalassa Sousse
#9 of 40 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
0.2 mi away
Scheherazade Hotel Sousse
1.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#13 of 40 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Salem

Property: Marhaba Salem
Address: Boulevard 7 Novembre, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sousse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhaba Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Marhaba Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Salem Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Salem Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing