We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lets just say our hen do was fab!!!!!”
Review of Marhaba Salem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marhaba Salem
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed June 5, 2012

During our stay in may 2012 me and 4 other girls went to Tunisia for a hen week away and we had a fabulous time. The hotel was lovely and clean, the service from the waiters, bar staff and reception staff was really good. The variety of food was of a good range but what made the holiday for us was the trips we went on which were organised by Dan our lovely welcoming rep at our hotel AND the ANIMATION team were amazing all of them with both day and night time activities they really were the spokes people of the hotel AND we would definately go back because of them especially meso, Alex, biebo, Mario, welli, gimon, cemo, miss you guys!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jenshenno3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

We went to the marhaba salem 25th april - 2 may 2012........We was just looking for a cheap 1 week break in the sun and was'nt botherd where we went, this hotel came up at a great price We had read the reviews and knew off the building work. When we arived we was put in the sister hotel. We was not in the main building but put in one of the garden rooms, the room was on the third floor was small but very clean and had everything we needed but the balcony was tiny and the chairs just fit on it, but as we was only there for one week we did'nt mind. There was entertainment in the main hotel so we was glad to be in the garden rooms as it was nice and quiet. The food was ok for what we paid and you would not starve, some times we did have a job getting a table so we would eat at the snack bar at lunch time, the staff was friendly but could do better. The beach was nice but they had had storms the week before and there was lots of seaweed washed up so we could not get in the sea but by the end of the week they had cleared a lot of it a way, we could also get drinks down at the beach. Overall we did enjoy our holiday and would return again for a one week cheap getaway and the weather was lovely. As i said for what we paid (£500 AI for the two off us including prebooked seats and transfers) You only get what you pay for! HAPPY HOLIDAY XXX

Room Tip: We was in room 369 witch had a small balcony so if you like to sit on the balcony ask on arival for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank tracyk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I have just spent two weeka at the Marhaba royal salem in sousse. I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews about this hotel regarding building work etc. I was booked into the Marhaba but when we arrived we were told that we would be in the sister hotel which is 4 star I thought oh good 4star at 3 star prices.....wrong! this is definitely not a 4 star hotel . I was put in one of the garden rooms, which was down some steps, across a garden up some more steps up another three flights of stairs, luckily I had a very nice porter take my luggage for me, he certainly earns his wages. The room was very light and airy, and spotlessly clean, lovely white bed linen, and decent towels,it had a large balcony with a view over the gardens and a sea view. But the thought of all those steps, and the traipse through the gardens to get to the dining room was very off putting luckily the weather was good,but it would have been a different thing in the rain. The food was interesting breakfast consisted of cereals fruit salad and yoghurt, but try and find a spoon to eat it with, if you wanted toast be prepared for a long wait as the toaster is useless it took me 5 goes to get my bread brown and then it was only on one side, they have achef making pancakes and omeletts, and there was boiled eggs sometimes scrambled eggs, and what looked like the previous nights vegetables,the croissants and pastries were very nice. At lunch and dinner there was usually grilled meat, turkey or veal a good variety of vegetables, and always pizza and chips! The main building of the royal looks as if it has been a good hotel in the past but I think it is well past its sell by date, and seems to attract a strange kind of person at one point I thought I had stepped ontp the set of The Jeremy Kyle show, I have never seen so many shaved heads and tattoos, part of the lounge is a smoking area and it stinks! The beach is ok if you ignore all the beach salesmen trying to sell you anything, from T shirts to fruit cigarettes to sheepskin rugs, For the price I paid for 2 weeks all inclusive it wasn't bad value for money all though some people were getting more than their moneys worth judging by the amount of drink they were pouring down their throats. I cannot fault the staff they were all very friendly and helpful but I will not be returning to the Marhaba Salem.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main building unless you like walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jackie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel Aug 2011as a couple, Anyway, After reading all the reviews and for the price we paid I was very sceptical. After the drive from the Airport looking at all the building work being done in the town and the kids sitting at the side of he road trying to sell prickly pears I was dreading arriving at this hotel which we had been informed was having some minor construction work on a separate hotel block, and after seeing all the work being done to other buildings along the journey...Well you can imagine. We arrived at out hotel or what I thought was ours,only to drive past and get out of the taxi at what seemed the back entrance... After learning this was or hotel and the one we passed was the Royal, the sister I was scared. After filling in the green card etc etc. We went to our room with a fab little man carrying our luggage only to find an impressive room which was spacious clean and had a cracking bathroom. We did some exploring round the hotel luckily my partner has a good sense of direction because I would of got lost. It was quite clear that the hotel was actually very clean all round and I actually couldn't pick fault.

The minor building work was infact minor building work, during the days you could hear a drill going in the distance but nothing more. The staff were okay, they got on with their jobs. The maid we had was lovely and all the maids we saw were very polite. The entertainment was fantastic. Just beware that when they ask you as a couple to go on stage to do impressions.... That you man might end up battling for Mr Macho competition in his pants. ...

The day trips that our rep.. Dan offered were brilliant, he was a really honest guy that told you if it was worth your money. There's not many reps that will say no don't go there its crap and not worth your money.

The food... now I am a very fussy eater whereas my partner is not. But there was enough pasta, fish and fruit for me. And enough of everything for him. Plenty of meat and lots of chips. I cant complain because I know that they will never be able to please everyone, but the service was fantastic, there wasn't really queues and the food was hot. The only thing I would say is if your eating at the beach cafe there are queues and not many tables and when you manage to get a table you ill be pestered by wasps. We only ate there once.

The pool.. We didn't really go to the beach we decided to pick a pool and a spot and stick to it. Which we did. We stayed around the smaller pool under the palm trees but again the only complaint which the hotel cannot be held responsible for is the wasps. There are loads. And they are big'uns. I did get stung and it has left me scared of wasps but like I said the hotel cannot be held responsible it because of all the gardens. Otherwise sitting by that pool and watching the entertainment was bliss, made some great friends.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone, plenty for kids to be doing and a lovely adult holiday as well. It was not what I expected in the slightest but I did have a fantastic time and will be going again.

Room Tip: Do not close the balcony door when you are on the balcony... We did it twice and got stuck twice. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank JLebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

IF YOU LIKE CHIPS AND PIZZA... THIS IS THE HOTEL FOR YOU!!!!
WARNING: ONE KEY CAN OPEN EVRY ROOM DOOR ON ANY FLOOR :S WE FOUND OUT!
NOT VERY CHILD FRIENDLY!!!!

my family booked a week here and we have 2 small children with buggys. when we arrived, we were placed OUTSIDE into the sister hotel and were UPSTAIRS with two buggys.

we could only go in 1 pool because evything else was under construction.

In the main bit, at the back there is a smoking area that stinks and we couldnt let the children up there it was that bad...

The food was quite disapointing even though the chips were yummy!!!!

The Bar me were nice and gave a funky nick name to my younger brother which was funny.

I have to admit that the main enterance and loby was very nice however THIS IS NOT FOR CHILDREN!!!!! too many precautions, like if they were going into the water, playing with the mud, going out side, falling down steps.

over all, the trip was alright but should NOT be recomended to a family based on our ''experiance''

Room Tip: Pay more money to get into the main hotel, we wish we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ashielolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We booked this holiday last October, 3 weeks before we were due to travel we were told that the hotel was undergoing some refurbishment. We arrived to a building site, our power was cut off in our room from 8am to 6pm. We complained to the rep and she had us moved to the Royal salem next door.

We had drilling by the pool where my friend had to ask the managment to get the workmen to stop ! Not the relaxing time we had in mind.

Plus points - the staff were very nice and the food was good. Shame they only had one place to eat at on time - when the main restaurant was open the snack bar shut.

We were 4 friends on holiday so we made the best of it and had a good laugh, I think the hotel could be nice when the REFIT - REBUILD is finished.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the garden rooms - they overlook a builing site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allison m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just returned from a week stay @ this hotel! Had an amazing time, me and my friend booked this on a last minute deal. We was abit worried about this hotel @ first because it said the guys hit on people a lot but when we got there they just involve you in everything, I can't understand any bad reviews on this holiday as a holiday is what you make it but out enjoyment wasn't anything to do with how we made it, it was all thanks to the charms of alex we absolutely loved him he is such a fun guy can't wait to go back and see him this year

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasminsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sousse
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 36 in Sousse
1,667 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Marhaba Beach
Hotel Marhaba Beach
#3 of 36 in Sousse
2,306 reviews
0.7 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,069 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#16 of 36 in Sousse
1,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#23 of 36 in Sousse
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Salem

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#3 Family Hotel in Sousse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: $29 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhaba Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Marhaba Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Salem Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Salem Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing