We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A holiday to remember for all the right reasons :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marhaba Salem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marhaba Salem
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A holiday to remember for all the right reasons :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

I recently stayed in the Marhaba Salem hotel from 4th-11th March 2012 with my friend. We booked the trip last minute and was worried to what the hotel would be like from the comments on this site. On arrival we were more than happy with our accommodation; clean, adequate size, lovely bathroom and our balcony looked out over the pretty gardens. To the comments regarding the hotel being a building site, this is simple not true. There was some cosmetic improvements happening for the summer rush but nothing drastic. No noisy building work or banging waking us up in the morning. Instead we had the choice of an indoor swimming pool and two outdoor, a lovely beach bar that was situated on a stunning beach.

The food also was a welcome surprise. A good variety of different styles and plenty to choose from. We did also venture outside to a lovely french place and steak house that were great value for money.

Due to the time of year we went, the weather was not so great. However the hotel entertainment was brilliant. Snake charmers, belly dancers, films screened in the day,strong men, dj's and discos for the children. We made friends with lots of people at the hotel as it has a warm and friendly environment. The staff contribute to this and are kind and helpful with anything you need. A member of staff named Alex, who helps with the entertainment, went out of his way to make sure we had a good holiday. As our new group of friends and myself liked a dance, Alex took us to the local nightclub 'Living'. This became our second home. Great atmosphere, great music and friendly locals. Alex worked 9am-5am them nights to make sure we felt safe out. A true gent and amazing host. All holiday resorts need to take heed from Alex on how to entertain guests.

So in conclusion, we will definitely be back to Tunisia!!

Debs and Lizzie

Room Tip: The rooms in the main hotel (palace) are a bit more grand
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DEBORAH K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    327
    114
    49
    48
See reviews for
382
257
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlová
Level Contributor
270 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Hotel Marhaba Salem is one of the Royal Salem. I was here in Juny 2010 for 3 weeks and I returned again in October for 3 weeks. Hotel situated in a lovely garden. Are well cooked, the staff is helpful and friendly. In October reconstruction, we have used the service of the Royal Salem. REMEMBER.

Room Tip: I once had a room on the ground floor with view of pool and garden, the second time in the 1 floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_titzova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oppland, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We booked a trip to Marhaba Salem, july 2011 for 2 weeks.
We really enjoyed our stay, and could'nt ask for more!
The food was very delicious, specially with a lil table of some tunisian dishes.
Oh my god, i can't forget the lovely gardens! Very fertile with a lots of flowers in different colours, which they decorate with on the beds, the table and in the restaurant + stairs some special days.
The beach of Marhaba is really big and wide, if i'm not wrong i did'nt see a place at the beach that was bigger.
Unfortunately we didnt see the Animation that much, only few times at the beach, maybe cause we was much outside of the hotel at the evening time.
Excellent service, always having a wide smile in their face without hassard.
Right outside the hotel you can enjoy a coffe at the Median City Center, nice quite place.
I'm going back there again this summer, but this time for 3 weeks :)

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in the 3rd floor can be plagued with ants and very small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Nadia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

After booking the whole month of march 2012 threw expedia
I was informed via a female who spoke to the hotel security in tunisia
at the hotel informing her that the hotel was closed till April/May due to renovations so I am extremely disappointed after paying the whole month they didnt notify expedia of there unavailablity to book accomodation at this time especially considering this will be my first time out of my country. Thank God I was told now to give me the opportunity to book elsewhere for this time or i would of been arriving there at midnight on the 2nd with no where to stay..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

retured on 07/12/11 .hotel we booked is just a derelict building site.placed in room in the gardens of royal marhaba salem this room is like a seen out of cell block h. doors will not lock elect fittings hanging of the wall.and just poorley maintainted dirty.after reporting back to recption of royal salem we were finaly given accomadation in the royal salem main building. at first we thoght WOW THIS IS FANTASTIC.How wrong room had extra guest (cockroaches bed bugs and flea infestation) spent two weeks killing them not acceptable. also flea infestation in reception and lobby my wife and myself bit allover. also another complaint all food full of red green peppers without excepion of witch i have food intlorence.ask nicely for altative lived on bread and chips even thomson rep tried fore us of whitch lasted two days.are friend found cockroach in food and managment tried to fob off as a vegi.entertainment more life and enthusiam from walking dead.The hotel was allowing male prostitutes to pick female holiday maker (leave to your imagination) of witch made the rest of us feel unsafe and insecure thomson rep said his hands were tied.on a possitive note ground floor staff were very helpfull

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank russell c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Before departing we were advised by thomson's we would be staying in different accommodation block as the hotel refurbishments had overrun. This was no hardship though as the accommodation was very acceptable for a 3 star hotel.

On being shown to the room we had the porter deliberately hang around trying to be helpful, it became obvious he would have to be asked to leave and he was after a tip, when we asked him to leave he said he would take british money - cheeky!

After settling into our room we decided to get some lunch from the beach bar/restaurant which was nice and we ate here for most of our lunches. The beach was nice with the vendors of cigarettes etc leaving you alone when told too. There were pedalos to use in the beach area which is good.

All of our breakfasts and dinners were taken in the restaurant of the Royal Salem next door which was nice enough. We however didn't have a allocated table as such though most meals we used the same table as they left a highchair out for us. Food was nice, no flies etc.

The thomson rep was very good with tips for the local area and wasn't just there to sell daytrips like you sometimes get. We took the noddy train to the neighboring towns but weren't that impressed as it's far too busy and we don't like the hassle of the souks etc.

We went to the nursery once though our kids weren't old enough to stay without us (over 4's only) but facilities looked good. I decided not to pack enough baby stuff for the week and get it there, there is a monoprix supermarket down the road but be warned baby food is 3x the price of UK and imported nappies are more expensive though local variant's aren't so bad.

The maid was very good and kept the room very tidy despite our kids best efforts to make a mess!

As ever with a developing country don't be stupid enough to leave valuables in the room, the hotel has safes which will make sure things are safe as the hotel is liable if anything is lost! We had air-con still in october which was a nice option on the warmest day but wasn't needed most of holiday.

If you want WIFI then the medina city at the end of the drive has a cafe with free wifi if you buy a coffee, payphone in here also for cheap calls home. Taking cash out of ATM seems to be better option than exchanging at hotel who even when you ask for receipt shortchange you! Most bigger shops take creditcard for over 20td.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank marksim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

When we arrived we were very shocked at the reception area it was dark and dismal. We had not been advised by Thompson that building work was taking place at the hotel and most of the hotel was shut up. We were shown to our room which was clean but tired and in need of a refurb which is what is happening at the moment and should be finished by March. We were told that we could eat at the hotel next door the Royal Salem as our restaurant was shut. The food was ok but I must admit I did eat pizza & chips most of the week. I did try things but found things like pasta dishes very bland I was put off eating the chicken as one time it was still pink.
The royal in comparison has a very grand reception area and was a pleasant place to sit and have a drink.
The beach was lovely and the beachside restaurant was a really pleasant place to eat at lunchtime. We only got to sit on the beach for three days as the weather turned and it got too windy on the beach. The salt water pool was very cold I only braved it twice which was a shame because I love to swim.
The best thing about this hotel is the entertainment team, Alex, Tito and Sammy. They work so very hard and make it their job to get to know their guests. We had great evenings with them and can still hear them shouting our names out throughout the day " Martin, Dale, Tracy, Jean". They are really great guys keep up the good work boys!
The staff around the complex we found to be very friendly and helpful in general. Tipping goes a long way.
Don't go to the Medina if you don't like being pestered or seeing the mistreatment of animals.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanie-weanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Salem

Property: Marhaba Salem
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sousse
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhaba Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Marhaba Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Salem Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Salem Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing