We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A small friendly, family hotel right beside the beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A small friendly, family hotel right beside the beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

We were not disappointed with the Royal Beach though some of the previous reports on Trip Advisor had given us cause for concern before arrival, however these were quickly proven to be incorrect. The Royal Beach Hotel is really good value for its rating and size. On a previous visit to Sousse we had stayed in a much larger hotel which we found impersonal.

As regards food there was a good choice, and all eight of our party could find plenty to enjoy, and it was more than adequate for the star rating of the hotel.

The Staff were exceedingly friendly, we had no hassle from anyone, and found everyone very helpful. The entertainers Nino and Bobo worked long hours with enthusiasm to entertain children and adults, their Tunisian version of River Dance is really good.

The building of an Apartment between the front of the hotel and the road continues but we were not inconvenienced by it in any way at all. At the back of the hotel you go out of a gate onto a wonderful clean beach of fine sand - great for children. It's just a 20 minute walk along the beach to the centre of Sousse, though you can get a taxi or noddy-train from the road at the front of the hotel for a few dinars and be there in 5 minutes.

The bedrooms could do with a little TLC, the beds were comfortable.

This hotel is the only one of the three in Tunisia we have stayed in which offers free internet for your laptop. We found that other hotels charge around £8 an hour so if you need to check mail a couple of times a day it saves you a fortune!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chollertonurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    67
    43
    34
    52
See reviews for
46
82
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

I've been to Tunisia 3 time's now and this was the worst . I wouldn't let my dog stay here . The bed's are rubbish . The chamber maid's don't clean to a high standard . Chip's and pasta every night . The reception staff would rob their own mother . We exchanged english for dinar , he gave us the 100 dinar but if we didn't ask he wasn't going to give us the other 5 dinar . The bar staff are the same , out to rip you off . So be aware , be on your guard .Total RUBBISH........

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanchallice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sousse hotels

UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

Arrived at the hotel a few days before New Years, 1st impressions of the hotel was ok. However, we did not get the sea room view requested as they said they were all full even though there was hardly anyone in hotel. The reception staff were not really helpful when we were enquiring about information about the local area, they could not be bothered to help or give us ay direction really. Please take note when changing travellers cheques with the reception staff, they will not give you the right amount and will not issue a reciept, several times they short changed us when changing money over as they really do not like doing it.
When we booked our holiday with the travel agent the package we paid for included the New Years Gala at the hotel, our rep at the resort confirmed this to us several times, insisted that we had paid for it and the hotel had confirmed it with the tour operators. However, on New Years Eve we were refused entry to the restuarant along with another group, the managment were very rude and demanding we pay for the gala, they refused to listen to us when we insisted we had paid for it. They refused to ring our tour operator when we asked them to confirm it with them. After much talking they eventually let us into the restuarant, however they were very rude and abrupt with out orders. In the end we left and went to a local restuarant as we were left to feel very uncomfortable in the place.
The next morning we made a complaint to our tour operator and they refunded us the money from the gala, and upgraded us to a different hotel as they were disgusted by the way in which we were treated.
The only decent thing about this hotel was the maid service, the maids were very pleasant and welcoming, and did a wonderful job.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crackers123UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

i went to this hotel for the first time with my nephew,although my parents have been here three times before to stay,it is a very clean friendly and welcoming hotel,the staff from the maids the barman mohammed the doorman ibram and the entertainment staff hela and bobo were amazing with my nephew they kept him entertained for the two weeks we were there,the tunisian night at 10 dinars a ticket for all you can eat,and the entertainment value are well worth it,this hotel is well worth the money and i dont understand the bad reviews it gets as i didnt have any bad experiences at all and would recommend it to anyone,the beach is on the door and is spotlessly clean not evev a shell can be found on it,again cant rate this hotel enough especially the staff extremelly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktsc0tland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huthwaite
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

It was really dirty.I have never seen such awful food in my life. You had to search for plates and cutlery.Badly maintained to the point of it being dangerous.Some of the staff were really uncoperative and rude.Only a few seemed to want to be there doing their job.The manager stormed round the hotel shouting at the staff.We had a lot of bites to our facearms legs and bodies not mossies!! It was the dirty conditions .We spent a lot of money giong out to eat.I still can not get over how bad EVERYTHING about this place was---- never been to tunisia since.We had been a few times before and had lovely hols.Tunisia is usually great.What a pity if this is anyones impression of this lovely country.Going back this xmas-----BUT NOT TO THAT HELL HOLE---DO NOT GO PLEASE>

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbethHuthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, I have booked a sea view room but offered a side view room instead, I have requested to be transferred to a sea view room but told there is no vacancy at all!!! “despite that there are 3 floors shutdown as they were all empty”. The staffs are not friendly at all; the rooms are horrible and dirty. The hotel is small and very noisy, if you are planning to visit Sousse stay in other hotel; there are plenty of them with much better location and standard. Do not even think of staying at this horrible hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaza-hana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week in mid September. We were looking for somewhere low-cost to stay, and the low price we found combined with largely positive trip advisor reviews convinced us to go.
I'm glad we did. The rooms are fairly basic, but comfortable and air-conditioned - a must, even in September! Things were generally clean and pleasant inside, though even upon arriving the floor had a seemingly unavoidable dusting of very fine sand.
Hotel staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Their cheerful service gives the hotel a pleasant atmosphere, and made our time there all the more enjoyable.
We opted for a full-board all-inclusive deal. Food consisted mostly of stews, seasoned and oven-roasted chicken or fish (usually a bit overcooked) vegetables and salad, along with lots of rice and pasta. I got the impression that this was, in a sense, not far removed from traditional Tunisian cooking, but not too spicy for the European tourists! We enjoyed the food, and there was always plenty of it. However, there wasn't generally a huge number of options - vegetarians may find their cuisine somewhat limited! Breakfast is basic too.
Whilst the meal times are reasonably long, and the food plentiful, the hotel usually provides some sort of snack outside mid-afternoon, and the all-inclusive drinks are almost always readily available - serving coca cola (Yes, the real thing!) a couple of cocktails, some generic lager (perfectly drinkable) and some local wine (slightly less drinkable!)
The hotel's private strip of beach is lovely. Its one of the cleanest parts of the beach, and you aren't particularly pestered by men trying to sell you anything. The hotel provides sun loungers for hire at a very reasonable price, and the bar is close by!
The indoor and outdoor pools are clean and pleasant, though the outdoor one is usually a little warmer!
Sousse as an area is OK, but without a car there are limitations on what you can do. The Medina is definitely worth exploring, and cabs to places like Port Kantaoi nearby are pretty cheap. The days out run by travel companies are good fun and good value too!
The area near the hotel has a few shops, but cashpoints are difficult to come by.
So, the hotel is nothing fancy, but gets a thumbs-up overall!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Kelly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#22 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#19 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Faracha
Hotel El Faracha
#25 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Royal Beach Hotel
Address: Blvd 14 Novembre, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Beach Official category: 3,5 stars The ,,Royal Beach" is a fully airconditioned and well-maintained hotel under international management and with great tradition in Sousse, perfectly located on a white sandy private beach, one of the most beautiful beach sections in the whole area. The hotel is a ,,16+" - hotel (minimum age of the hotel guests is 16 years). 1 Km to the centre of Sousse (unesco world cultural heritage), 4 km to the marina of port el kantaoui, 17 km to the airport Monastir, 45 km to the airport Enfidha,160 km to the capital Tunis. Beautiful and private large white sandy beach in front of the hotel, a lot of restaurants and shops in walking distance. 4 Km to the golf course of port el kantaoui (reduced green-fees for hotel guests and transport service on demand). Hotel facilities & restaurants: Comfortable lobby with sitting-areas, 24 hour-reception (safes to rent), concierge-service & guest relation, currency-exchange, excursion service and car rental. Accepted credit cards: visa, mastercard, american express. Elevator. Mini-market, laundry and jewelery store, dvds and cds for rent. Wifi-internet (complimentary). Main-restaurant ,,Le Royal" (non-smoking) with wonderful panoramic view, italian a-la-carte restaurant ,,Le Medaillon" with panorama-terrace, french gourmet restaurant ,,Le Vintage", snack-restaurant ,,Mario's", pizzeria-barbecue at the pool, beach-club-restaurant ,,Las Vegas" at the beach, english pub ,,Babylone" with live-music, professional Karaoke and football and- sports-coverage on big screen, ,,JET-bar" (open 24 hours), moorish coffee with shisha pipes. Leisure, sports and entertainment: swimming pool with sunbathing terrace and beverage service at the pool, indoor pool (heated in winter), beach-club (complimentary sunbeds, matrasses and parasols at the pool and at the beach), towels for hire. Wellness-facilities including beauty-salon, hairdresser, massage, health-treatments, ,,fish massage" at the beach and hammam (additional charge). Tennis (complimentary, tennis-lessons, equipment and flood-light for additional charge), table tennis, bowls, darts, aerobics, gymnastics, yoga, aquagym, water-polo, beach-soccer, beach-volleyball, billard-table. Watersports-station at the beach, motorbike and- quadrental, horse-riding (local offers). Discrete daytime entertainment & international evening-entertainment-programs with live-music, tunisian folklore, belly-dancing and karaoke. Leisure park and zoo (local offers). Ladies-special: cooking-courses in tunisian cuisine and basic courses in arabic language. Golfer's special: reduced green-fees at the golf courses of port el kantaoui and monastir and organized transport to the golf-courses (on demand). The Rooms: 127 rooms in an architectoral interesting 4 storey-building, all rooms have been recently renovated and refreshed. Doubleroom Standard (1-3 persons): Decorated in traditional arabic style, bathroom with bathtub and toilet, indivdual aircondition/heating, minibar, lcd-sat-tv, dvd-player, telephone, WIFI-internet (complimentary) Doubleroom Superior: Additional bathrobe, hairdryer, lateral or direct seaview Doubleroom Royal Class: Like the superior rooms, but with inroom-safe (complimentary), a balcony with direct seaview and VIP-treatment Royal Executive-Suites: Decorated in traditional arabic style, bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer and bathrobe, separate toilet, comfortable living room with sat-tv and individual aircondition, telephone, in-room-safe (complimentary) sleeping room with lcd-sat-tv, dvd-player, minibar, WIFI-internet (complimentary), VIP-treatment Single rooms are double rooms for single use. Halfboard plus (including dine-around-concept): Breakfast buffet with fresh egg dishes, donuts and fresh fruit and vegetable juices, late-riser-breakfast till 12.00, ,,Champaign-brunch" every sunday. Crepes and ice-cream every day between 15.30 - 16.30 Around the pool (complimentary). Dine-around-concept: dinner in the hotel's main restaurant (buffet for starters, main-course selection (including vegetarian option) and dessert-selection, table-service), dining options at the italian a-la-carte restaurant, at the french gourmet restaurant, at the pizzeria-barbecue, at the english pub and at the beach-club-restaurant (weekly and complimentary, reservation) The hotel is known for its excellent cuisine and the wide range of choices. ,,ROYAL BEACH 9" - bonus especially for YOUR clients: welcome-drink and a refreshing towel on arrival early check-in, late check-out (if available) complimentary upgrade to a higher room-category (if available) 24 hours - roomservice weekly excursion to the historic centre of sousse (unesco world cultural heritage) complimentary hammam (weekly) water and a basket of fruits at the room on arrival weekly ,,jet2cocktail-party" in the hotel garden weekly ,,jet2beach-party" with djs at the beach-club-restaurant The hotel Royal Beach is one of the leading hotels in tunisia and offers everything, that you need for memorable holidays: central but also calm location with a marvellous beach, superior equipment and facilities, excellent cuisine, various options for sports and entertainment and a competent and friendly staff under european management. With its ,,over 16" concept and many other options like ,,dining-around", the ,,royal beach 9" bonuses and the international entertainment programs the hotel Royal Beach is especially the perfect place for couples and for people, that look for classy holidays for a well-affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Beach
Royal Beach Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing