We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met the most amazing people at the Tej”
Review of Tej Marhaba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Met the most amazing people at the Tej”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My friend and I were a bit apprehensive about going to Tunisia as lone women. We didn't need to worry. To begin with the overwhelming hustle and bustle of Sousse was a bit scary and some men do comment as you pass. The thing to do is not make eye contact and totally ignore all contact. Don't fall for the 'Hello I work in your hotel line' That's a real common one and they are trying to get you to talk and therefore get at your money somehow...If you look like a victim you will be treated like one!!! It is no different then it is in London's market areas. Keep your head up and firmly say NO THANKS!! or nothing at all. Shopping in the Medina was wonderful but again you need to be strong and confident. Stick to your planned shopping and NEVER have your purse/wallet in sight. It is best to fold notes individually and place in a difficult to access bag close to your body at all times...
Sousse and surrounding areas are not the cleanest place... It is obviously dusty from sand... obviously sand can not be avoided in a desert country!!! it also has a lot of rubbish strewn around and there are many derelict half built buildings . You need to remember that this is Africa!!! and Tunisia is a developing country which recently experienced political and cultural turmoil... The priorities there are not like they are in Britain or the western world... I doubt they get weekly refuse collections or street cleaners and they strive to scrape a living rather than care about the environment. Saying that parts of the beach are truly filthy and I would not have sunbathed on it, however if you stay at the Tej than you don't need the beach as the pools and bathing areas are superb.
We went on two trips out into the country of Sousse including a trip to the villages in the mountains.. This was amazing and really made us see how starkly beautiful the countryside is. I was blown away with the magical feel of the place. The total lack of health and safety was also incredibly amusing and eye opening.
The Tej Marhaba hotel is wonderful...It is right in the middle of the city and therefore the hub of all that is going on... Ideal if you want the vibrancy of the town.. not so good if you were hoping for a quiet area!! Yes some of the reviews on here are correct in saying it is a little scruffy in places and while we were there in November 2013 much of it was being refurbished [obviously that needs to be done at some point] The reception bar is very attractive and we spent most of our time meeting people here. Our room was fine and we looked out to the side of the hotel so not the best view but it was sunny on the balcony so that was fine. The lovely maid changed sheets and towels every day and she was incredibly friendly. Toilets were clean and the shower was better than mine at home!
The food was plentiful. A lot of choice but a little stodgy for my tastes. Saying that however there was salad choices at every meal. Our waiter Makram was absolutely wonderful... Nothing was too much trouble for him. If you are lucky enough to get him as your waiter then don't be afraid to ask for anything you might like such as ice cream. He will do his best to get it for you. He seemed to really care and when we didn't turn up for breakfast one day he was truly worried about us.
The staff who arrange the entertainment [called the animation team] were fantastic and Sofien the gorgeous young animation man really made our holiday complete. His friendly manner and amazing sense of humour was fantastic. We had many an interesting conversation in the bar and I learnt so much about how tunisians live from this wonderful young man. Please don't be afraid to have honest conversations with the locals if the opportunity arises. Obviously risk assess the situation and circumstance first, but if you do chat you will find them the most friendly and interesting people. We had a very interesting chat about the current political situation [or lack of it] with a young man in a cafe who wanted nothing from us but some honest company. It is also useful to remember that these people earn an absolute pittance... and it is not easy living in this country at the moment. It taught me a lot about Islam and the view of women in this country too. Learning the difference in cultures is fascinating and if you remain tolerant and accepting you can build true respect.
The hotel was full of older British tourists staying there to avoid the cold British winter and they too made the holiday complete for us. If you really want to make the most of your holiday then speak to fellow tourists. They will advise you of their experience and support where they can. We met the wonderful polish Yorkshire man Victor, who was the best dancer ever, the crazy dutch lady Nicole, the internet farmer Sarah and the wonderful couple from North Devon Wendy and Jim, all who will stay ion our memories for a long time. Thanks to all!!!
All in all it was a wonderful holiday. Our next plan is to visit Morrocco and this visit to Tunisia has been a good trial run for the madness of that country. If I come back to Sousse I will definately stay at the Tej again... It felt like home after just one week. I would strongly recommend a visit... Heather and Trish from Plymouth xxx

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Heather and Trish, wonderful to hear from you and to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again another time to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    530
    347
    204
    209
See reviews for
318
680
113
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks from 3rd November. Was really unsure about it prior to going after reading some of the awful reviews! Well i can honestly say, I think some of these people must be impossible to please! On arrival in Enfidha we were through customs in 10 minutes and maybe a further 15 mins for the luggage to come through. We were not approached by anyone to take our cases and i certainly did not see any signs advising how much to tip! Have been to Tunisia too many times to mention and have NEVER seen a sign like this as claimed by another reviewer! Oh and would just like to remind him that to him a couple of dinars " is nothing " but to some there it is the difference between the family eating that day or not!

On arrival at the Hotel we were greeted by some lovely ladies on reception. We filled in our forms and were given Room 424. Porter took our luggage up - he did not wait for a tip! - a lovely man. Room faced swimming pool. Nice sized room, very clean. Flat screen TV with a couple of movie channels and some English news. Plenty wardrobe space and a fridge behind one of the cupboard doors. Bathroom a fine size with bath, shower and sink unit and a separate toilet - which never failed to flush and was spotless! The chamber maid was just a delight, kept our room spotless with clean towels every day - fresh smelling too! She deserves a pay rise!

We were half board and ate in the dining room a few nights. Very clean and bright. Waiters were fine and did not hover around for tips either! The food was lovely. Plenty of choice for even the fussiest of eaters! Pizza, Soups, pasta, salads galore, meat, fish, all kinds of potato versions and some nice veg. Lots of lovely puddings, cakes and fresh fruit. I really do not understand how folk can knock the food?! Oh and we always managed to get a spoon when needed!

The main foyer had entertainment in the evenings but as we have family and friends over there we were out a lot, think there was a band some nights, karaoke and bingo? Folk sitting there seemed happy enough! Pool area was kept immaculate as was the terrace. Weather a bit iffy the second week but fine enough. Indoor pool and spa looked fab too though never had time to use it!

Security has been stepped up in and around Sousse and stop and searches are customary. We are glad of this after recent events! Police checks all the way along to Port el Kantoui. We had our coffee at La Nafoura every morning by the fountain, lovely place and staff and later had a nice cold beer at the Brasserie. Prices have risen in Tunisia but the exchange rate was really good while we were there. Tips are even more welcome as even the basics like bread, potatoes and pasta have at least trippled in price - while their wages have stood still.

To sum up this was a lovely holiday in a super Hotel in a nice country with nice people and we will be back there for sure in the next few months. People who knock this hotel should perhaps save up a bit more and go stay at Movenpick - mind you after reading some of the trivial complaints on here i am sure they would find something to moan about there too!

Room Tip: Room 424 was lovely - only thing at this time of year no sun on balcony! C'est la vie! x
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catwoman182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your refreshing positive review. Gald you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 24 august - 3rd September 2013.
My first holiday abroad with my parents and I can't say I enjoyed it.
Our flight was delayed (I know this is not to hotels fault but still mad the experience bad) we ended up getting to the hotel at half past 5 in the morning. Reception staff okay.
Was a few rooms away from my parents which was fine only their air conditioning blew out hot hair and there electrics blew.
Complained for them to re-wire the lights into the tv so when you turned the lights off tv also turned off.
My room bathroom leaked every time had a shower there would be water everywhere.
Parents had to move rooms as dad was ill (from the food) and air conditioning making him sick
Even that room was awful.
Spoke to other guests and they felt the same as us the spa hasn't been there for 5 years and if you head down there it's a danger hazard. Wires bricks and a leaky roof.. Yet no signs of no entry.
The best thing about the holiday was the entertainer guy he works hard and only has one day off he needs another worker for him aqua gym at 11 everyday is most fun.
.i turned 18 half way through my holiday and hotel prepared a cake and banners for my arrival and breakfast and dinner
Apart from a few good points the remaider was bad it rained very heavily 2 days before we was due to leave my bathroom is flooded from all the rain went to complain they said nothing we can do it's raining we argued for a good 10 minutes in end I told them to get a cleaner up to clean the mess.
Clearer was not impressed by how much it was damaged and phoned reception and got us moved. She like all the other cleaners were extremely nice!!
The day we was due to leave we had to be out of out rooms by 12 flight was not till 9 for me this wasn't a great deal but considering my dad was very ill with sickness and diorreah we asked to extend one room till later they said no we are fully booked. (Yet in reviews the hotel have replied too they will move people even if fully booked or sick!!)
Kept our room for a further 6 hours but had to pay 24 dinar which was ridiculous.
Over fall they take more pride in cutting the grass them looking after the hotel.
This place needs a total revamp and quickly. Wasn't impressed by this holiday and I will not return to this part of Tunisia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review; The electric in the rooms is controlled by the card slot system, but if you turn off the lights manually then the TV will stay on. Our spa has been closed now for 2 years but you should have been informed of this by your tour operator. We do now have a no ' entry sign' at the entrance to the stairs leading to the new spa. Sorry to hear your dad was ill but luckily it didnt interfere with your birthday celebrations and you managed to have a good time. It was very unfortunate that you got so much rain during your stay and your bathroom was flooded and we do apologise for that but some things are beyond our control. I'm glad you managed to keep your room on, sometimes it is very difficult for us especially when the hotel is fully booked but we try to do our best for all our guests. Hopefully you will change your mind and come back to see us again another day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sousse hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a great holiday hotel. We stayed with our family for a week.

Rooms: good size, plenty of space to move around, clean and adequate facilities for the money. We had a balcony out to the front of the hotel over looking the main street, which was quite lively at night time.

Food: we were staying on a half board basis and the selection was tremendous! The restaurant itself is huge and all the food was tasty. The juices at breakfast were the only let down.

Service: the staff at the check in desk weren't as attentive as they could have been. It's always annoying when they're having a conversation amongst themselves when they know there's a customer waiting. The porter's however were hard working - a small tip goes a long way.

Location: great location in the middle of a bustling and busy street, with a great night scene. A few minutes walk from the beach. The beach is actually quite nice, cleaner than I thought it would be. Saw a couple of ladies sun bathing nude though, which was not welcome when you have your children with you. There are loads of shops and restaurants about and the city centre is just a few minutes away in a taxi with even more to see and do.

Facilities: a large out door pool and a relaxing in door one too. There's a gym on site but I think you had to pay extra to use it (I could be wrong, I didn't enquire). The lobby area is relaxing and spacious and there is entertainment on on most nights.

Our First Choice rep was extremely helpful, and even drove me to an opticians when I couldn't find my contact lenses.

Overall: excellent value for money, good food and location, let down only by some occasional poor service by the check in desk staff. Highly recommended for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cowy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your very detailed review. Glad you always enjoy your holidays with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I read the reviews on trip advisor and was a lttle haprehensive to say the least, when we arrived we should have had evening meal only to be told dining room shuts at 9pm, it was only 9.15 go eat somewhere else, no dinars so asked to change some money only to be told that was shut as well. The room was ok but after 2 days we were asked to move because of building work. The food was ok, the pools ok, but Sousse what a dump and the beach STAY AWAY. WE will not be back

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
In any hotel there are opening and closing times for the restaurant and these must be strictly adhered to. We cannot make exceptions, otherwise the staff would never get home and they do have to be back early the next morning. Sorry you didnt like Sousse, but everyone to their own taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for half term week with my two teenage daughters. Hotel was clean and tidy. Our room was kept clean. Food was very good, with a large selection to suit all tastes. Staff were attentive and helpful. We had a wonderful week and would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6onholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Visited the tej merhaba hotel in sousse, tunisia with thomas cook on the 6th november 2013 to the 13th november 2013. Having never ventured onto african soil tunisia was a new experience for us and this trip was myself my wife and 17 year old daughter. Flights with thomas cook from east midlands and our return were trouble free and upon arrival at enfidha airport the weather was pleasant. The trip from the airport to the hotel around an hour or so was our first experience of tunisia and honestly i can say that tunisia is a barren wasteland and not impressive at all. Rubbish strewn around everywhere is not a good first impression of a country when visiting and i suppose this is the ugly part of a trip to tunisia. I am aware the country has had its troubles over the past few years and i suppose this is a contributing factor but i really did half expect to see lenny henry and bob geldof scouring the landscape lol. In a nutshell tunisia is a dump and its many opencast landfill sites are not nice and i doubt if i will ever return. On arrival at the airport also you are greeted by people trying to carry your case to the coaches and a firm no thank you works wonderfully well if you dont want this service. As tunisia is a closed currency country you are unlikely to have any dinars on you at this stage but on walking out of the airport there are signs that state the recommended tip is two to three dinars. This is a cheek to be honest in my view as although in the grand scale of things three dinars is nothing my view on tips is to do so for good service not as a matter of course and an expectation. I would like this practice to stop but i doubt little will change on this anytime soon. On arrival at the resort sousse is pretty much like the rest of tunisia a dump and not too pleasing on the eye but anyway we were there for a week with an open mind. Arrival at the hotel again porters offer to take your cases to your room which was at least a friendlier service than the airport. We were allocated room 329 and upon arrival at this door the pass key for the room didn't work and we had to be let into the room by the maids. Had to go back to reception about six times before this issue was finally resolved as despite the fact that the reception staff were quite friendly the service was pretty poor with what seemed liked just fobbing you off the usual practice and they didn't seem to understand english particularly well. Finally gaining access to the room we were not too displeased with our room. It didn't overlook the pool area and did look onto the busy street below however after reading various reviews before departing our room was clean and ok. A little dated yes and the tv didn't work on arrival also the sink in the bathroom was blocked but this was resolved fairly quickly after complaining. The rooms could do with updating i agree with other reviewers on this and whilst it would be better to perhaps close the entire hotel for the winter and refurbish in these tough economic times this is not always possible and that i accept. I know other people had drawn shorter straws than us an had appalling rooms in very bad condition however we didn't experience this so were happy to remain where we were. The hotel is not a four star hotel in any country i once again agree with other reviewers but then again sousse and tunisia in general is not a four star destination. Comparing with europe the hotel is perhaps a two star and a bit so do take this into account when booking. I feel thomas cook and other operators should point this out more in their brochures. We paid £523 for two adults and a 17 year old for half board and i suppose overall what we paid for was what we got but i know others paid more and at a lot more this review wouldn't be as pleasant.The hotel tries its best and generally the staff are helpful and friendly but i wouldn't personally return not just to this hotel but to tunisia in general. The food at the hotel was obviously buffet style and bearable for a week although i dont think i could bear this food for much more than a week. The waiter we had for the week makram was very friendly and attentive and we were happy with his service. He arranged a birthday cake for my wife which was a nice touch when he decorated the table on this evening. The rest of the hotel i.e. general areas and bar/reception area were ok. The pool area was acceptable and we had decent weather for the most part. The indoor pools are very warm clean and a nice change from the very cold outdoor pool. The shopping area of the hotel is ok although many are closed and items not that cheap but unlike elsewhere in sousse these areas are fairly hassle free. One eatery to try opposite the hotel is the green papaya pizza style snack bar which is good for doorstep size pizza slices and cheap. Shopping in sousse is ok if you are looking for fake goods of any description at a price accordingly. In summary the ugly is the country and general state of it the bad is the poor service and hassle received generally in the country and the good is the journey home. We met some nice people on the holiday and didn't experience too much hassle but go to the medina in sousse if you are seeking being hassled. For what we paid the overall experience was ok however we wouldn't return to this country or location again. The beaches are not as per brochure and are full of rubbish broken glass hyper dermic needles etc. The beaches generally should be regarded as an asset to a location however the tunisians seem to be happy to keep these in a poor state as with the rest of the country. If you end up here enjoy it for what it is but dont expect four star quality and service you do get what you pay for if your lucky!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEJMARHABA, Guest Relations Manager at Tej Marhaba Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
To be honest, I dont think you can call another country ' a dump ' when you have only seen a very small part of it. Tunisia is not England but has a lot to offer if you take the time and energy to look. All in all you seem to have enjoyed your holiday, including you nice birthday cake, offered to you by the hotel. So where was the bad service? I have never heard of needles being found on the beach and no one has ever mentioned it before. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,608 reviews
0.7 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#19 of 35 in Sousse
885 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
969 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tej Marhaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tej Marhaba Hotel

Property: Tej Marhaba Hotel
Address: Avenue Taieb M'hiri, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tej Marhaba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tej Marhaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tej Marhaba
Tej Marhaba Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing