We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss”
Review of Tej Marhaba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hit and Miss”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a bit of a Jeckyl and Hyde hotel. I have just returned from 2 weeks with a friend (both 27 and both gay). Firstly we were delayed by Thomas Cook by over 3 1/2 hours, so we didn't arrive at the hotel until around 9am. The reception staff were rude and impatient with us, even though we were all tired and just wanted to check in and go to our rooms. The receptionist didn't get any friendlier, with them telling my friend that the wifi worked, even though it did not! Even when it did start up, it usually stopped about 10 minutes later.
The reception and pool area are deceivingly grand, as by the time you step out of the lift to go to your room, it gets a bit more basic. The room was clean but could do with a refresh. We had a pool view which led to noise from the nearby bars and restaurants. But thankfully it didn't bother us too much as the heat drains the energy from you.
The indoor pool and spa area weren't even finished, which we were not told about until we arrived, and these were one of the reasons we did decide on this hotel.
The main restaurant staff were really pleasant, with our waitor knowing our drinks within a day of us arriving. The food was varied, and of a better quality than i expected, having been to Bulgaria last year all inclusive and found the same dishes every day.However, we did visit the Oasis restaurant, and i had the problem that the waitor ignored me and turned to my male friend for my order!
The bar staff were completely opposite to the restaurant staff. They were rude, ignored people and stood around talking when there were people waiting. If they saw that you were all inclusive, they didn't want to know. Even when i bought drinks (the plastic cups were not enough), the staff then short changed me.
A BIG plus was the animation team. There were 4 members, and they were always wandering about talking to people every day and evening. Yes there wasn't a huge amount of evening activities, but the team were always present, and tried to get people involved with bingo, karaoke or dancing. They work very hard, and it was difficult not to smile when they walked past.
I would suggest that if you haven't been to a North African country before, be prepared. The culture of their country means that if you're a female travelling there alone, try to make friends so then you feel a bit safer going out of the hotel. I did feel insecure going to the beach, as i had someone try to steal my money, and the harrassment can get a bit much, especially if you say no and the shop keepers become agressive.
There is still a way to go in terms of equality for women and homosexuals (it's still illegal out there, and care should be taken within the hotels as well), but I would return in the future.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms on the 7th floor are the better ones. We were on the 6th and they were not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    531
    349
    204
    209
See reviews for
318
682
113
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just got back from Tej Marhaba yesterday. Myself and my boyfriend stayed there for two weeks and after reading the reviews I was rather dubious. However the hotel is quite impressive to look at from outside and inside. We had no issues with checking in and the rooms were spotlessly clean. We left the cleaner a few pounds tip and she left flowers in our room and made sure our room was always clean and tidy. The pool area is kept very clean and is a nice relaxing area. The beach was nice too, although there was less choice at the beach bar the service was for more efficient. The staff in the hotel were not friendly and basically useless. They have no organisation skills or manners. However the animation team are great and try their hardest with what they have got to work with. The entertainment in the night time would be great if you were over 60 and Sousse does lack bars and clubs for tourists who like a bit of a party. I would recommend the downstairs of the Saloon Bar and Bonaparte if you like a bit of music and a few cocktails. The food was not great but you wouldn't starve if you chose to eat there every night. However we went to a Restaurant called El Ons at the back of the hotel on the right hand side near the exit to the beach which was very cheap and served very good food. The weather was fabulous and all in all we had a lovely relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We had a pool. side view which was in the shade but after a day in the sun we were more than happy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JoannWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

me and my partner came to this hotel not really knowing what to expect from the reviews on here. this hotel is fantastic, it says exactly what it is. we arrived at 3 in the morning from EMA and the staff were friendly and asked us to fill in some forms which we did. when we arrived in our room it was very big, plenty of room to get changed, the air con is also fantastic, after a day in the very hot sun (45 + when we were there- even reaching 52!!) it was brilliant to walk into a cold room. the service is good by the bar staff, little tip is to tip them as u go along, just 2 or 3 dinar and they will do anything for you, our main man kept bringing us drinks before we had even finished the one we already had (causing my partner to get quite drunk a few nights!) basically if you are friendly to them they will do the same back. there is not much really outside the hotel other than a few shops and a few bars which were quite good, but you didnt really need to leave. the only grumble i probably have is the evening entertainment, theres not much variety but it was perfectly enjoyable. this hotel is for someone who wants to just relax and enjoy the sun. we had an amazing time and would recommend it to all our friends and family. so much so we are thinking of coming back. i am a great believer in your holiday is what you make it, so if you want to sit sulking and not let your hair down then no matter where you go you will have a rubbish time!! another little tip is when you go take a pen with you as when you get off the plane you have to fill in a few forms before they let you in the country, no one told us this and its the last thing you want at 2 in the morning to be hunting down a pen!

all in all an amazing holiday!! :)

Room Tip: try asking for a sea facing room, but if you get the road side dont worry once you shut the patio do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Having just returned from 1 week at this hotel i felt after reading the reviews i read before going to add to this forum now i have returned. My daughter and i (mum) daughter aged 23 had a totally relaxing week at this Hotel. It was a last minute choice and found a good deal for one week. We arrived at 3 in the morning( transfer time 45 minutes) and the guy on reception was very polite. We had a road view room, yes a little noisy until around midnight, but after a day in the sun we were so tiered we just fell asleep. If you get a room with a pool view your kept awake with the entertainment below..so either way there is noise till midnight. The food was plentiful and always something we liked. Fresh pizza every night, a special dish and then the buffet bar...always plenty. Your in a foreign country! your not going to get gordon ramsay prepared food...be adventurous its good fun. For children there isn't anything except the pool, which gets very busy, there is a small childrens pool but wouldnt take a lot of children to fill it. The hotel was full to capacity...not enough sunbeds, though you can always get space on the grass to lay on towel. Beach is across very bust road, so with children yes you will struggle as the cars don't always stop for you. Beach is ok, but very crowded..there is a small area roped off for residents staying at the tej mahaba and there is a bar. We stayed half half board as we don't drink...it worked out far cheaper. Food and drink to eat out is really cheap. We took English money and changed at the hotel as and when, the rate was the same everywhere so don't bother shopping around. Don't book a trip with tour operator for the medina shopping.... its 20 dina's each and you have to walk around looking at things you really dont need to see, you only get 30 minutes shopping time!! we went in taxi 5 dina's each way and did our own thing. You do get bothered to go into everyone's shop but a polite "no thank you" in a stern voice was enough and were left alone. Probably bothered us more as 2 women on there own...but having been to tunisia before we new what to expect, don't be conned by reps to go with them. You can haggle prices... what they ask for reduce by 60% and then start haggling!! we did really well. If you see a shop with items priced up, this means you can't haggle... so the main shops are set prices, but you can get EVEYTHING! in the medina . Entertainment in the Hotel average, had better had worse. I have to say though every member of staff was very polite and friendly....yes you do queue for a long time for your drinks and there are very few staff...the staff are hot, work long hours and trust me they don't stop. Give them a break, if you was working under the same conditions how would you feel?? If you ask a waiter to get your drinks and tip him one dina (less than 50p) he will look after you all week.....so you don't queue! small price to pay for service. You have to vacate room at 12 noon. Hotel was soooo full we couldnt keep room. There isn't a room to use either for shower etc...we made friends with a couple and they let us use there room for a shower and fresh up. Indoor pool not open, under renovation. There are pubs clubs and a shops all within walking distance to hotel (not alot of shops though, but enough for an hour on a night if you want to kill time. There are shops in hotel but more expensive. There is a little shop outside the hotel, opposite front door of hotel, drinks food , lollies etc... very cheap! We bought packs of water and put in fridge in room. Cheaper than buying bottles at the bar in hotel. The weather is exceptionally hot!!!! the weds it was 47 !!!! to hot to sit out so be careful. I wouldn't go back to this resort but only because i enjoy going somewhere different every holiday, but i would recommend it to couples, and friends, not for families!! not enough for children. Hope this helps and happy holiday.

Room Tip: There is noise which ever view you ask for, but sea view...sea to far away for you to see so don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 246pharmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Arrived at the hotel late about 11 p.m. as a delayed flight. The reception Staff was not helpful or welcoming. I really needed refrehment as it was a very long day so went to the bar and was greeted with a very rude barman. I noticed outside there was seating area which looked nice and waiter service so ordered a drink outside and tipped the waiter. Breakfast in the morning was very varied and good but queues and queues everywhere so by the time you got to your table the food was cold. I tried again in the afternoon at the bar but it was even worse. I had got friendly with some lovely guests who said it was better to order from the waiters as they knew they would be tipped and would be civil! So thats what I did for the rest of the holiday as iu could not face the bar again!!! I did report this to the reception staff. I also found out that a red card that you are given at reception on arrival should be handed to the Head Waiter . No one asked for the red card so i had different tables every meal time. The reception staff omitted to tell me about this. It as only when one of the guests told me that i received the allocated table four days later!"

On the whole the hotel and food is good but they really really lack good customer service with a smile which was completely missing throughout my holiday. I would return to Tunisia again as it is an amazing country but would book another Hotel.

Room Tip: I took a travel kettle which proved a life saver!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vivienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Visited this hotel in May 2012 for 1 week as this was just a quick break. Was really apprehensive following some of the adverse reviews. But really its wasnt too bad for one week! The food we both enjoyed and felt that all tastes were catered for and there was plenty especially at breakfast time. We were seated in a nice part of the dining room and so that made a difference . Our waiter cheered up when we tipped him £10 each at the end of the holiday! Reception staff could have been a lot friendlier especially one of the cashiers who was very sour!!
Our room was to the pool side but because of the design....overhead verandhas we didnt get any sun so to speak of! Plenty of birds nestling in the arches!! Apparently if your bedroom was at the back of the hotel sun was in abundance but a lot of street and building noise!! The pool area was quite attractive! And our bedroom was ok
The reception area is quite nice. Entertainment in the evening was a duo singing 50s 60s 70s music...ok for dancing...this was in reception area, but nobody much got up to dance!! You only get out of it what you put in!! However I enjoyed their music and thought they were quite good, but I am not a "chicken" as they say in Scotland!! Guests in the hotel were friendly.... chatted and gossiped....remimded me of the series "Benedorm"!! The bingo most nights was quite good fun!!
The hotel is now situated in a built up area and so it takes a long time to get to the main road!

Sousse has become so built up now that the pleasure is no longer there....having holidayed there in the 70s, 80, 90s and early 20s. Port El Kantaoui is still very pretty but not a lot to do!
Apart from the Souk in the Medina and the town centre Square there is not much unless in the summer time you frequent the discos! It is still quite pretty though with some nice cafes. The Soula Centre at the start of the Medina has lovely things but the staff follow you around as though you are going to steal...it got on my nerves! Would say that Sousse is cheaper than Morocco!! The weather was very pleasant ..about 68 degrees!! A reasonabley pleasant week as I visited old friends and met a lot in the Medina, but quite honestly would not spend longer! But pretty good value neverthe less!!

Room Tip: Room 418 quite nice to the front..nice pool view, plenty birds, not much sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sandymackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just got back from here.. would not go back .. pool ok and food bit the same every night but did find some thing ok to eat at night .. outside Hotel was really busy lot off traffic.. beach you had to go over road which was a pain with so. Much traffic.... With kids would be worse ..there is a beach bar only can get beer and soft drinks there and pizza and rolls. No tables to sit at u eat on your sun bed.... nothing. To do at. Night no show only bingo .. was bit boring after twelve days ... Not much for children only the pool really ...now bad bit.. the bar staff was so rude UN polite horrible ..! ..! They .did not want serve u drinks .lots off people said they would not come back cause off bar staff .. I never been any where has bad with wanting tips. Or they don't want know you .... . and only one bar u can use at night every one was moaning about waiting so long to get a drink and bar staff was so,slow think they were told to take there time so we did not drink much at night .. ithe English rose and crown pub. you have to pay for and the other bar to ..the piano was no one in it you pay for that too. Been tunisia three times and this was worse one ... Rooms ok we paid for sea view over pool was good room. .would not go here now I know should check review better for went... ...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sousse hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,123 reviews
0.7 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
1.3 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
969 reviews
1.5 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#15 of 35 in Sousse
895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Marabout Hotel
Le Marabout Hotel
#16 of 35 in Sousse
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tej Marhaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tej Marhaba Hotel

Property: Tej Marhaba Hotel
Address: Avenue Taieb M'hiri, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tej Marhaba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tej Marhaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tej Marhaba
Tej Marhaba Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing