We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

GENERAL INFO:
My parents and my daughter along with myself spent 2 weeks all inclusive at Hotel Tour Khalef, Tunisia last year. Very welcoming staff and a very clean hotel. Dont be put off by the surroundings- it looks almost "shanty", despite this the hotel was very welcoming, as were the staff.
ARRIVAL:
Arriving at the hotel, my parents room was ready, but my daughter and I had to wait an hour or two for our room- this wasnt a problem as we changed into something more comfortable in my parents room. When we were shown to our room it was clean, spacious and comfortable. No fridge in the room- but a balcony with a view. We were on the 6th floor and had a great view of the sea. A good start
THE RESORT:
A beautiful hotel, lovely staff, who were always friendly and courteous. Great housekeeping in the room too.
RESTAURANT:
All inclusive option was great- a huge selection of everything at each meal- HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE DONUTS AT BREAKFAST. Good selection of salads, fruit, vegetables, meat dishes, puddings, drinks, etc. Well worth paying the extra for all inclusive.
POOL:
good sized pool- literally 30 seconds from the restaurant, with a cafe style bar for drinks, and again, a good variety of food served at lunchtime to save you going back up to the restaurant during the day. Loungers provided.
ENTERTAINMENT:
Great animation team, always something on offer if you fancy it.
EXTRA POINTS:
There is a photographer around during the day and evening- he is AMAZING!!!!!! Friendly boy- fabulous photos, and when you go down to the main restaurant in the evening he is available to show you your pics and you can buy them for a small fee(7x5- I think)- We bought loads and he even took a load of photos on our last night in the hotel gardens ( absolutely stunning) and we had a DVD of them too- no pressure to buy either!! ( one of the photos of my daughter was so beautiful- I had it enlarged into a poster)
TOP HIGHLIGHTS:
The Photographer, the friendly staff, the animation team, Bilel (who works at the pool bar/restaurant), and the hotel bar man who called everyone 'Jimmy'.
VALUE FOR MONEY:
Absolutely- and I would definately return there again!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairej194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    411
    143
    80
    51
See reviews for
432
314
59
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Having not been on a package holiday for 9 years, we were a little apprehensive about going away. The majority of reviews on trip advisor sum up this hotel and resort. The staff are all ( except one grumpy batman!) very welcoming. The animation (entertainment) team of 4 young tunisisans were all brilliant - having to speak 4-5 languages . The beach is beautiful White sand but we were able to spend much time due to the cold wind. The trip to El Jem (colosseum) is worth visiting, as is a catamaran trip at port el kantoui- check all the boats there is a wide variety of prices. We paid 30 dinar for 1 hours for 4 people. We did use the spa for massages which were good and reasonably priced. There is an indoor pool at the Maharaba hotel although it's not brilliant and a needs a refurb.
The downsides are that the winter sun first choice brochure sort of implies there is a kids club, there isnt as such. The animation team - shaya, Alex,max, and Tito, are great with the children but there aren't activities all the time. They do mini golf, archery (meant for older kids and adults), theres a room with games and painting for smaller chidren. And for me the one big issue is that the reception area is mainly smoking - a bit of a shock after being in a no smoking country and spending most of our holidays in France, although the restaurant isnt smoking.
I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank fleety2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

After booking this hotel, then people saying to look on this site for reviews we were not looking forward to it :( But i have to say ignore the bad reviews this hotel was a million times better than expected!!! when we arrived we were told as we are a family of 5 we will be given 2 joining rooms(3405/3406) and the rooms were lovely really modern and very clean, the maids came in everyday and put clean towels in and made the beds my kids loved it as they made fancy shapes out of there pjs lol.we went on the 21st november expecting the weather to be really cold but it was between 21 and 24 all week which was perfect for our 2 and 6 year olds first holiday abroad, the pool was rather small would of hated to be there in the middle of the summer as you would be like sardines BUT you could use the other hotels pools, which we did on a few occasions, One thing that was dissapointing was the indoor pool had been shut for a refurb. The restaurant was great, we had the same table all week and the same waiters, the man we had for breakfast and tea was fantastic with the kids a few days in the were welcomed with our drinks all ready at the table. the food was ok, there was something for everyone but most nights it was all the same food, still nice though, Have to say the desserts were the best and the diffrent flavoured ice creams kept the kids happy. didnt drink much alchohol as we had the kids with us, and to be honest with you the vodka was like paint stripper, i just stuck with the kids cocktails lol. the entertainment was ok, There was only 12 kids and by the sunday there was only 5 left, So the entertainment was more for adults,the kids had a half hr slot before the shows started. The beach was just around the corner from the pool which was lovely,the sand was raked every morning there was no rubbish any where the sea was warm once you got in, all our kids enjoyed it. There were quite a lot of sellers but a firm no and they would walk away,my 2 year old soon got the hang of it and was telling them no thank you haha. we went to the market one day and we got 2 taxis for 10 diner, that in itself was an experience!!! we went into the goverment shop and got most items we wanted then we decided to walk through the market, it was the worst thing ever, unless you have a lot of confidance it is very daunting. I dont know if it was because we went out of season and it was quite, But the hotel was clean and the staff were nice and friendly, there was no rude russians. infact everyone was very polite and very friendly towards our children highly recommend the hotel and would 100% go back

Room Tip: we stayed on the 4th floor and you could see the sea and all the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumtoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

After reading some reviews on here we were very apprehensive about our holiday. Fear not we had nothing to worry about. We travelled on the 5th December for 1 week. There was 2 couples and 2 teenage boys. First impressions were brilliant and our room was lovely, maids came in every day and the whole hotel was spotless. Food was good, you could not go hungry here although abit bland. Animation team were fantastic went out of there way to talk to you and make you feel welcome. We went to the main market one day and believe me one day was enough, I myself didn't like it the locals were abit to pushy for my liking, but if you are buying anything make sure you haggle because you can get things a third of the price. We done a couple of trips through our Thomson rep and I highly recommend the Zulu trip very entertaining. Also be warned of smiley miley he don't like taking no for an answer. But eventually he will give up if you are stern with him.
Overall a great holiday great hotel great staff...made to feel very welcome and are booking Togo back in the summer.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor rooms 3405 and 3406 ....excellent view of the sun terrace and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a great week there at beginging of Nov. Staff very helpful, Hotel clean & fairly modern, rooms good.
Beach was lovely & very close, & even sea was pretty warm & (very clear) for November!
Pool was too small for Hotel size and very cold. Only got in once!!
Atmosphere also very good and no trouble from any russians as previous people had mentioned, although they dont hold doors open for anyone, say thanks and are always 'straight in' at mealtime, but I think its just their way?
We also felt quite safe when out and about, and only once was a raised voice ' NO THANKS' was needed!

Room Tip: Fourth floor and above facing pool area is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Went for 10 days on the 1st november and was brilliant. Hotel is only situated 35 mins from airport and is close to local amenities such as shops and cafes. The hotel was clean and the majority of the staff were always ready to help. The food was nice, lots of different things to eat from pizza to roasts and loads of salad and puddings. Drinks selection was so so, beer on tap and locally produced spirits however no matter how much we seemed to drink we never got tipsy and a few other people who we have spoke to at the hotel agreed however for the price it wasn't bad. Our room was nice and cleaned well daily with pretty shapes left on bed like shells. We did a few trips with the rep and another through the locals who work at the hotel and they were great. The ones through the hotel staff are good value for money and good fun too. Entertainment was mediocre. The animation staff were really nice however activities constantly crossed over with each other meaning someone who wanted to play darts might not be able to do archery. The evening entertainment didn't really start happening until about half way through the holiday and wasn't brilliant apart from activities like quizzes and bingo. Overall we had a great holiday and would definitely recommend the hotel however if you want a lot to do like later entertainment and more places to go at night then your best bet would be staying somewhere like port el kantaoui as although we had fun there wasn't a lot to do in the immediate area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and although we didn't have a sea view we weren't disturbed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megzj91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the second time we have visited the Tour Khalef. The friendliness of the staff at all times is second to none. The entertainment team were fantastic not only with the children but with the adults as well. Tito, Shaya, Sam, Alex & Chocho engaged everyone in a variety of activities and they should be applauded for their enthusiasm. The hotel was always clean and the restaurant served a vast variety of good quality food at whatever time you dined. Charlie the waiter was still there and as friendly as ever.

Well done everyone at the Tour Khalef

Room Tip: Sea view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank welly3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 36 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 36 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
1.2 mi away
SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 36 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Ksar
Hotel El Ksar
#15 of 36 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa

Property: Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4051, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
#7 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso And Spa
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Tour Khalef Sousse
Marhaba Tour Khalef Hotel Sousse
Tour Khalef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing