We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many arrogant Russians invading the hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too many arrogant Russians invading the hotel!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had a week from hell,arrived at midnight to find no key available for our room,reception staff had rotten attitude and pretended they couldn't understand people when problems arose.having two children under 7 there wasn't a great deal as kid clubs only had an hour here+ ther for different age groups,pool was ok nothing special.food...well if u like fly infested grub then your fine,drinks were flat.found out on the way home on the bus that the meat advertised as beef was actually camel!.Alot of families we spoke to round the pool had suffered with sickness+ diarrhoea with the food.last but most importantly the Russians!! We have never met a more rude,arrogant,vile race of people.they knocked you over+ques didn't apply to them,fought everyday with locals..needless to say we won't be visiting Russia...ever!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pambelina84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    414
    146
    81
    51
See reviews for
438
322
61
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow upon soar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just returned from 10 nights at the tour khalef with our grandaughter and on the whole had a good holiday.

We arrived late in the evening and once checked in went straight to dinner which was very hectic and as we had dinner at 8 o clock we were told that we would have to eat at that time every night of our holidays, which was a little inconvenient with our grandaughter at kids club it meant that we would have to go out of the hotel to get her some dinner either before or after kids club.

The hotel overall was very clean but beware the polished floors in reception and the stairs down to the restaurant which were at times extremely slippy, The maids kept the rooms very clean, as were the grounds and the pool area but again the tiles around the pool could be very slippy.

The people on reception were not very friendly and everything seemed to be to much of an effort, but most of the other staff on the whole were very friendly.

My wife and i can not thank the thomson kids club enough, our grandaughter loved it and jenny, Emma and Hannah were great, always friendly and our grandaughter came back with loads of pictures and things she had made. Although there were sometimes only 3 or 4 children at the club this made no difference to how good it was and they should be applauded.

The animation team at the pool were very friendly and never pushy when trying to get people involved, the pool was nice, not too deep and good for kids with the snack bar at the end and the beach a short walk away.Yes the entertainment stopped at 11 o'clock in the evening but as we had a 6 year old grandaughter with us she was tired out by then and if you want a livelier holiday then maybe spain or greece are the places to go.

There are a couple of restaurants outside of the hotel which are okay but on the whole sousse, like other places in tunisia does not have a lot to do in the evenings apart from a fair in Port El Khantoui which was okay but keep you children close as the locals are a bit too toughy feely towards kids which i do not like.

Now the restaurant, this was the most hectic one i have ever been to. You had to queue at the bar for your drinks and these were practicaly thrown rather than poured into the glasses, also there was only ever one barman serving which meant there was allways a queue for drinks.The fact that you had to eat at the same time every night was inconvenient on holiday when you should eat your evening meal when you are hungry not at a set time. There was not allways a large selection of food and as with all buffets you had to queue a lot, which the russians did not like to do and would push in whenever it suited, even in front of children. They would take plates of puddings at the start of dinner and have piles of food and fruit at their tables and would often leave a lot of it untouched which was a waste. this would happen at breakfast as well. They would not say excuse me or sorry and over the 10 nights we were there they were the rudest, ignorant, ill mannered and mardy faced people i have ever had the misfortune to be on holiday with, they would push in front at the bars again in front of children. There were a few arguments between english and russians after the latter had once again pushed in and made the holiday not as good as it could be.

Pros
Nice and clean, inside and the grounds
Great kids club
Great animation team
Nice pool area

Cons
Poor bar service
Hectic restaurant
Bad mannered russians
Un friendly reception

On the whole a nice hotel spoilt by the russians.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adolf33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at Tour Khalef between the 16th-23rd September and had a fantastic week! The hotel is lovely and clean with very friendly staff who will always help you out if you need anything. The location of the hotel is great as it is right on the beach and only a 10 minute taxi ride from Sousse main centre. Make sure you try and get a good price for the taxi as they will try and over charge you (to get to Sousse we paid about 4Dinars). I would recommend trying to get out of the hotel on a few days as there isn't too much to do other than the pool (even though there are regular water areobics and water polo if you enjoy that!) and the beach. We went on a camel caravan which was very good value for money (booked through Thomson) and a tour around the ruins of Carthage which was very interesting. The food is edible and there is always plenty of it! All in all a very enjoyable trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendytheWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here in August 2012 (so paid almost 900 per person for 10 nights) and the hotel was very busy! Some staff are very nice other staff seem like they hate their job and can be very rude to you!
Hotel was clean and the maids worked hard.
Entertainment was shockingly bad. And finished at 11pm, drinks available in the lobby until midnight but then there is nothing to do! Outside the hotel is a complete dump, a few supermarkets but none selling alcohol and no bars or decent resteraunts. Don't go to sousse unless you want to be thoroughly harassed! It's another dump.
Thomson should not advertise this as a holiday resort. You could pick the hotel up and drop it in Afghanistan and it wouldn't be any different
Terrible holiday

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 86MissM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed at tour khalef and it was my first ever holiday and was awesome would deffo recommend this hotel to all... bar staff were very friendly and so was the life guard! The animation team well they were just brilliant always do a show of some sort every evening and always keep u entertained throughout the day with various sports eg darts aqua aerobics and mini golf... i would go back to this hotel but the only problem i found was the floor was very slippy and nearly broke my neck a few times not littrally but nearly fell over a few times so that was the only down fall.. but were hoping to go back next year as had the time of our lives :D massive shout out to the animation team; Sam, Carimero, Chicho, Chocho, Timo And Titto :) you guys were Brilliant (Comedy Show Was Awesome Too Funny) :D

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassiee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed @ tour khalef in august 26th-10th sep had a amazing time the animation team were brilliant worked hard everyday frm early morning till late @ night..always something to do archery mini golf aerobics darts,
Food was very repitive but a decent quality, always loads to choose from.
Bar staff were very friendly Reception staff not too helpfull...
Rooms were cleaned everyday and towels were replaced everyday
We had a room on tha 3rd floor facing the jungle park hotel nxt door also the bora bora nightclub was very loud from 12-4am but that wasn't a problem as we are young 21yrs anyway....
The floor around tha hotel was very slippery as in the recpetion they buffed it at every chance and around the pool there was always people slipping...
There are a lot of russians there but you get used to them, also a lot of tunsian families seemed to bring there kids on days out to the hotel for the pool
The lifeguards rnd the pool got us a sunbed and mattress every morning but you do need to take your own beach towels!!!!
Didn't go to the beach apart frm at night as the sand was to hot... Overall the animation team made our holiday as they looked out for us from other people and strangers
We made some really good friends @ tour khalef but won't be returning nxt year as they wnt b there...
Big shout out to Timo Tito sam carimero chicho and chocho...!
Tunisia 2012 ehhh !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty Queree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was the cheapest 1 week all inclusive we could find as my friend & I took the kids while the husbands stayed home to work! ;-) Ages 38, 38, 16, 6, 4 & 3
Positives: Lovely beach - no hassle from anyone, x2 rooms next door to each other, rooms clean, plenty of hot water & clean towels, Russians not as bad as expected, many staff friendly & not "over friendly" as expected even though I took my gorgeous teenage daughter! ;-)
On site photographer is great :-)
Food edible, was only there for 1 week so wasn't too upset by it, noone went hungry.
I wasn't bothered by the loud mustic til all hours, buy yourselves some wax ear plugs - they're great! lol
Rep Zak's welcome presentation was very professional :-)

Negatives: not pushchair friendly, we had to get in & out to pool via restuarant even though our room was other side of building! Poo in the pool on a regular basis a turn off, slippy around the pool, many kids falling over, ques for food & drinks no fun! Entertainment rubbish - we tried it twice & didn't waste any more time attending!
Thompson kids club wasn't well attended 4 kids one morning. Kids club staff friendly enough but worried about treading on Animation Team kids club toes so not recruiting to get their numbers up!
Safety deposit box is in a room next to Reception & not very big so doesn't hold a lot!
Did not venture out of complex as we were women on our own & didn't feel safe so can't comment sorry.
My 3 year old had tummy upset :(
Hand gel on entry to resuarants should be provided!
My daughter has nut allergy & carries epi pen, Thompson & Hotel were aware of this at time of booking but food were not clearly labelled so her diet for the week was limited to be on the safe side, Zak informed us that he'd spoke to head waiter after I brought it to his attention but no one explained what she could or couldn't eat!
Airport was slow but it's not like we were in a hurry to get back to work, so go with the flow! ;-)
Ps. my friend also saw a man having a 'fiddle' on a pathway when she was on her balcony one morning! if this is a regular occurence you think security would be sorting the issue out (or the Police).....
If you haven't yet booked, don't bother! if you have already booked...go with the flow, it is what it is......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicci73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,582 reviews
0.6 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa

Property: JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4051, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#7 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso And Spa
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Tour Khalef Sousse
Marhaba Tour Khalef Hotel Sousse
Tour Khalef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing